We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Clay Hill Farm

Clay Hill Farm
Reserve with OpenTable
Clay Hill Farm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Cape Neddick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 17 - US$ 36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Clay Hill Farm is the first restaurant in the country to be certified as a wildlife habitat and bird sanctuary. Nature trails, colorful garden paths, waterfalls and a picture-perfect pond accentuate the eleven private acres just two miles from Ogunquit Village. Voted #1 for weddings and romantic dining. With a passion for backyard growing and locally-sourced fare, Clay Hill Farm is committed to offering the true Maine experience, yer 'round. Clay Hill Farm is also a proud corporate sponsor of the Ogunquit Playhouse, and offers it's own blend of experiential, theatrical dining in the off-season- rounding out a commitment to arts in the community. Theatrical Dining performances include; POE: Tales of Fear & Suspense (Oct/Nov), Dinner with Dickens: A Christmas Carol-A New Musical Tale (Dec) and Robert Frost: Fire & Ice (Jan).
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The staff was wonderful but we were not impressed with the food for the price. Nice location and the piano player was fun

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JAEK922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    86
    55
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eliot, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic 50th Birthday Party..GREAT food, service and ambience!”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Yesterday, we attended a surprise 50th Birthday Party at the Clay Hill Farm in Cape
Neddick, Maine. We were greeted by a pleasant valet , who whisked our car away , that was the beginning of a magical afternoon.
The atmosphere was so warm and cozy, the fireplace was going, the Christmas decorations, were up, and the sun was shining brightly through the large windows that overlook the beautifully landscaped property.
The food, was wonderful! We had endless appetizers that were passed and they were all outstanding , my favorite being the tenderloin beef on toast with a cream cheese spread and finished with crunchy petite onion rings! They melted in your mouth.
The staff was so gracious, what a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon.
We can't wait to go back for dinner!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmcnerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had a nice meal with great service and pleasant atmosphere. We were not rushed at all. Two of us had the roasted chicken and it was a bit overcooked and dry. Had a lovely evening and others thoroughly enjoyed their meal.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mangabraintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned New England fine dining on Thanksgiving”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

As you drive up the wooded road you stop at the entrance where a valet takes your car. I read on TrIp Advisor about the nature trails & bird sanctuary & walked a few minutes to see the various bird houses. I then walked into the restaurant to hear a pianist play standards and people waiting to be seated. I gave my name & headed to the bar. A few specialty drinks and some nice wine by the glass. The bartender asked if I'd like to dine at the bar & I said I had a reservation in the dining room but would let her know. It was very formal atmosphere although the windows provided a nice view of the serene woods and gardens around the property. I decided since alone to dine at the bar. I was serve an amuse bouche of some very nice cheese w/crackers & dried fruit to start. Very nice. Since it was Thanksgiving there was a limited menu with several selections to choose from. I had a Chardonnay along with their award winning lobster bisque. Superb. Creamy with nice taste of sherry & lobster pieces. NIce touch. I then had a Pinot Noir with my entree: half of a duck w/maple & crispy skin served w/a cranberry, apple & cornbread stuffing & haricots verts with slivered almonds. Everything cooked to perfection. I was so full that I just had coffee & took home dessert: apple pie (small slice). Service at the bar was very good & it was nice to hear the piano. When I got outside I just had to tell the valet the color/model of my car & license plate & it came immediately. This is a lovely place in the woods just a short ride from oceanside in Ogunquit. Good for special occasions and for old world gracious dining in a wood setting which is nice change from the usual lobster/clam shacks that are abundant in the area. If you want a very nice dinner on the more formal side, this is the place. The food and service are very good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lobster dishes were heaven in your mouth!”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Excellent food, especially anything with grilled lobster. Loved the seasonal salad, too! Kelly was a great server, Jenn needs some lessons in 'how to smile'.... Very good atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveFunFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clay Hill Farm also viewed

 

Been to Clay Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing