We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
187
24
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
24
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vintage room rooftop bar bar manager boutique hotel heated bathroom floors charming balcony soaking tub gas fireplace amazing bathroom signature cocktails drinks and appetizers beautiful hotel quiche granola camden harbor before dinner sister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Marcus was amazing! Love the rooftop bar! Amazing views and amazing service! Marcus knows his stuff and is top notch! We will be returning for future visits! Best place in camden, maine! Love, love, love!!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank teenawatson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

16 Bay View has a lot going for it. Primary amongst the numerous positives is the very central location in Camden, dare I say the best location in Camden. Right next to the water and restaurants, shops and bars, tour boats, and scenic views. you can't get any closer to the action in this picturesque village. The hotel also has real quality in it's design, service and comfort. This is a very well appointed property, and the rooms are spacious and well designed. The bar area is appealing, with breakfast served there in the mornings. This is a great spot to work from to see the area. The issue we encountered though brings us to one big BUT. The parking situation is awful. We pulled up on a Friday daytime, and discovered there is no assigned parking just for the hotel. We had a number of bags, as we were checking in for a wedding weekend, and we had to find whatever spots we could to park, and then wrestle our bags up a grade and eventually into the hotel. The front desk person told us if we say a parking space in the lot behind the hotel with a white cone in it, to move the cone, as those spots are reserved for hotel guests. They also told us if we found a spot, to park our car there and don't move it again if we could avoid it. Not exactly what we wanted to hear since we'd be moving around, in our car, through the weekend. We found no such easy spots, and you were fending for yourself out there with the tourists that cram that area to get on the tour boats, or to visit the waterfront shops and restaurants. The next day we were talking to one of the staff, and the situation became a bit more confusing as they said the hotel actually owns the parking lot directly behind it, but they don't have a way to reserve enough parking, so it is everyone for themselves.
16 Bay View isn't cheap, so I would have expected a better solution. if we had an overnight bag, I probably wouldn't have cared, but given how popular Camden is during summer and fall, just be prepared to deal with this.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Socalicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew L, Guest Relations Manager at 16 Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Socalicouple,

Thank you for the very thoughtful review of our hotel, 16 Bay View. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our premier location and all that our small scenic town of Camden has to offer! It is also very nice to read your comments on the quality of our hotel and staff, and I am very happy that you had a pleasurable experience in this regard. It is clear that we missed the mark on communication with respect to the parking situation, and for that I am very sorry. Being a centrally located hotel in the heart of a small town certainly presents its own set of
challenges, but we want each guest to feel comfortable and have the freedom to come and go from the parking lot without worry. The
challenges and staff encounters you came upon during your stay are not up to our standards of service and comfort and we will work to address this immediately within our operation. We are always more than happy to take the keys to your vehicle and park it ourselves should all of our self-parking locations be full. We do our absolute best to get all of our guests vehicles as close to the building as possible. Once again, I apologize for the miscommunications and do hope you will consider us as an option for any future stays in Camden. Thank you for taking the time to include all of the positives in your feedback as well. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Cameron Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Absolutely loved the room. A rainy day was the perfect excuse to enjoy the fireplace and read a book. The room’s beautiful tub and heated floor rounded it out. Breakfast, served in the lounge, was certainly bountiful including fritadata, berries, pastries and bagels. However it was a bit awkward managing breakfast from large lounge chairs and low tables. That said, the setting is lovely.

Our room had a beautiful, close-up view of the harbor and it was easily accessible to some very nice restaurants.

Also very accessible is the entire town. The shops and galleries are so fantastic, it’s easy to spend a day or two simply exploring the variety and creativity.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew L, Guest Relations Manager at 16 Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Beth J,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed all of the luxurious amenities in your room, and that you were able to take advantage of them all on a rainy day. It's hard to complain about being stuck inside when you're staying in a room here at 16 Bay View! We greatly appreciate the feedback on the breakfast operation and will forward your comments on to that department for discussion. Our downtown location is perfect with dozens of shops and galleries as you mentioned, as well as 10+ fantastic restaurants within easy walking distance. We hope you'll return to Camden soon! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and reviewing our property for future travelers.

Sincerely,
Cameron Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

This is a beautiful hotel with perfect beds, linens, shower, etc. it is very comfortable, great location, and breakfast was excellent. You can't go wrong staying here! Wish we had been able to stay here for a longer time. Our room was perfectly appointed, with a fireplace and luxurious bathroom.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jabarsema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew L, Guest Relations Manager at 16 Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Dear jabarsema,

What a perfect review! Thank you so much for sharing your fantastic experience with future travelers. You've certainly highlighted several
of the luxurious amenities to spoil you in EVERY room here at 16 Bay View including our “Presidential Suite” pillow-top mattresses, easy to operate gas fireplaces, and five-fixture bathrooms with heated floors! I'm glad you found everything to be just perfect during your stay, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Cameron Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Had a wonderful time, wish we had planned to stay more than just a night. Room was incredible with a perfect view of the sunrise over the water. Very clean and well maintained. Staff was exceptional and very friendly - Madalina and Kade made sure that we had everything we needed and definitely helped to make us feel more at home. Overall we were very pleased with the stay. We will be back for sure!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Casey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew L, Guest Relations Manager at 16 Bay View, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear Casey P,

Thank you so much for the great all-around review of our property and staff! The view overlooking the harbor is certainly picturesque almost every morning, and if you're an early riser it shouldn't be missed! Thank you so much for your kind words on our staff, I look forward to sharing your review with the team as these are the results we work hard for. We all hope you'll return in the near future to your home away from home!

Sincerely,
Cameron Butler
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews