We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and Delicious”
Review of The Drouthy Bear

The Drouthy Bear
Ranked #6 of 55 Restaurants in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 15
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 September 2017

weird little house of a place with great food and quirky cocktails. Great little spot, pub atmosphere.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank kbronie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

My wife and I just ordered beers here but they were fantastic. Normally I wouldn't get so excited about a pub with 6-7 beers on tap but they were all outstanding. A great scotch ale, Spanish lager, and Fin du Monde on tap?! Sign us up.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank steely_greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We had high hope for this place, which looked fun & charming on the outside. On the inside...not so much. LOL.
We Stopped in for dinner midweek. Greeted with " you can sit anywhere at a table made for 2 people". Which meant sitting by the kitchen service window (that's where all the two tops are) or outside in the humid damp air. Disinterested waitress with an attitude, kitchen staff banging around and yelling " SERVICE!" for every order that was ready for pick up. At one point we could all hear someone grumbling in the kitchen loudly " I THOUGHT THIS WAS GOING TO BE A SLOW NIGHT" . It was only 6 pm at that point and this tiny pub was not even half full, so...WTH? The Hamburger with fries was ordinary and just okay, the makers mark Manhattan was not okay- it was small and weak. Caesar salad with grilled chicken was a soggy, shredded mess service with two cement -like grilled left over toast points. Honestly, it's a pub, so go there to drink from their massive beer and whiskey lists. And then leave. Quickly. Not impressed with the service, cocktail, or food. Won't be back. Y'all need to step up your game across all front or you'll be out of business sooner rather than later.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank lynnz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Service was excellent. Food tasty. I had a great cheeseburger. Others had good fish and chips. Two had casseroles. Everyone liked their food. Great beer selection.

Families are welcome although the building is small.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank C3665QBmaryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

We had dinner here after a long day of hiking in the Camden area. The place has an intimate atmosphere. The food menu and drinks menu are amazing. I had the Sheppard's pie and it was excellent. My wife had a burger and it too was excellent. The service was perfect - friendly and attentative in the right amount.
I would definitely go back here next time I am in the area.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank ljktk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Drouthy Bear also viewed

Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
Camden, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Drouthy Bear? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing