We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Wedding!”
Review of Hawthorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorn Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

When I began my search for the location of our wedding, I didn't really know where to begin. So, being new to the area I did what I had so many times before when I didn't know something--I "googled" it. I knew I wanted to have my wedding ceremony and reception somewhere small and intimate where my closest family and friends could enjoy a memorable evening together, but all of the bed and breakfasts I came across required a certain number of guests, or charged an arm and a leg to stay. That was until I found the Hawthorne Inn.

From the minute I opened the Hawthorne Inn homepage, to the day my family and I arrived at the inn, I felt nothing but generosity and warmth. Maryanne graciously worked with me to plan every detail of the evening so that my wedding went off without a hitch. She gave me overall suggestions about the timeline of the evening, created a fantastic dinner menu, and even got me in contact with a photographer and officiant!

Whether you're looking for a romantic place to spend a weekend, a cozy place to just get away, or an intimate location for a wedding, the Hawthorne Inn is worth the trip! We experienced great service, food, and company in the charming little town of Camden at the Hawthorne Inn, and quite honestly had the perfect wedding. We cannot wait to visit again!

Room Tip: All the rooms were great, but my husband and I stayed in the Queen Anne. Comfy bed and GREAT bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rendall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

When I lived in Boston, I often traveled up the coast of Maine to Camden for weekend getaways. I always stayed at the Hawthorn Inn because I thought the location and the rooms were perfect. Every time I stay here, I never want to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Hawthorn Inn is the most beautiful inn my husband and I have stayed in. The epitome of romance! Had it not been for the unbelievably delicious breakfast divinely prepared by Maryanne, we may never have left our suite. Each offering was of the highest quality and beaitifully presented. The room was lovely, with excellent attention to detail, luxurios comfort and modern decor. From the intimate ambience created by the fireplace to the spacious jacuzzi tub, The Hawthorn Inn exudes romance. I will recommend this slice of heaven to all our friends and family. My husband and I look forward to many returns.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighAnnaLavoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Loved it here! My boyfriend & I traveled up the coast of Maine & Camden was our second stop. We were just winging it so we found places to stay in random little towns hoping that there'd be availability... We had initially looked into staying at this "castle" but we drove by it because it didn't look like an actual castle & didn't seem like it'd be worth the extra cash. We headed back toward town and drove by the Hawthorn Inn... so nice :) I still think back & miss this place. I first walked in and spoke with the woman who owns & runs it (I'm so sorry, it's been a few months & I completely forgot her name) She was so warm, friendly & welcoming and offered me a few rooms that were available. She gave a personal tour of the entire inn and showed us each of the rooms - all SO CLEAN, so cute & so cozy. Great rates, couldn't pass this place up. We took the availability immediately. The room rates included breakfast which was insanely amazing. Holy goodness gracious. She & her husband are the most gracious and perfect hosts of all time. Their breakfast presentation had 3 different courses. It should have been in a freakin' magazine. A lot of their ingredients came straight from their garden (we had a great view from our room) We didn't want to leave. I could keep writing but I'm going to stop here. Please, don't pass up the Hawthorn Inn. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My husband and I have stayed with Maryanne and Bill on four occasions in the past 3 years. They consistently provide us with a relaxing unhurried lovely time as well as delightful three course breakfasts which are carefully prepared and always delicious. The beds in this inn are all equipped with mattress toppers, which turns them into featherbeds of incomparable comfort.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SilverySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
623 reviews
0.3 km away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.4 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
384 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
392 reviews
0.2 km away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Inn

Address: 9 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: ₹ 11,131 - ₹ 20,709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian mansion with spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, just 180 steps from the Harbor and a short walk to the picturesque sailing village of Camden, Maine. Warm, inviting, comfortable, serene, plenty of seating in the garden; an oasis in Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Inn Hotel Camden
Hawthorn Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing