We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Review of Hawthorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawthorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We chose the Hawthorn Inn to host our wedding ceremony and reception, and could not have picked a better venue. Our closest family and friends all stayed at the inn with us for the weekend, and we were all welcomed and attended to with personal care throughout the weekend. The service was exceptional, and included a delicious homemade breakfast each morning. The rooms were charming and comfortable, and we loved being able to walk down to the harbor and into town each day.

The wedding ceremony and reception were perfect. Every detail was taken care of, and as the bride, I did not have to worry about one thing the entire weekend. Maryanne and staff took care of everything behind the scenes, making for the happiest and most relaxing wedding I could have hoped for. The venue itself was beautiful, the catering phenomenal and the wedding details - flowers, place settings, etc. - were attended to personally and with much care. The event was both intimate and elegant.

The Hawthorn Inn was a perfect choice for the small intimate wedding we wanted, and we could not have asked for a better experience. Many of our guests have already expressed a desire to return to the inn, and we are hoping to return on our anniversary.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewBrideTSC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 257 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

I actually stayed here a year ago but was too lazy to write a review. I've been feeling guilty since then because the inn is really a gem.

The owners are very caring and helpful. They'll make your stay everything you want it to be and also give you great recommendations for other things to see and do.

I can't remember the name of the room I stayed in, but it's right at the first landing. Still quiet though. Huge room and bathroom. Well-lit. Excellent water pressure. Wifi works fine. Lots of towels, pillows, blankets.

The breakfasts were superb. Multi-courses. Local ingredients. A real treat! And the afternoon tea was a lovely touch.

The location is great--if you want to go to dinner in Camden, no need to move the car. You can easily walk to any restaurant, and Camden's not that big but very picturesque.

I'm actually planning to return and deeply regret the horribly late review.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKAZengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We called in advance to get a reservation - first thing the owner asked for was my credit card number to be sure to be able to get money from me (never happened when calling other B&B in advance). When we arrived we saw that the Inn is directly located at the through main road - with the consequence that the rooms viewing the street are very noisy. The bathrooms are tiny! The breakfast was a joke (kiwi + banana = fruit salad) and scrambled eggs - that's it! No bread and so on! NO VIEW to the sea (but stated differently in a advertisement brochure!). Bottom line: Do not go!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Travelrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The Hawthorn Inn and the village of Camden were absolutely charming! The Inn was immaculately clean, the staff efficient and the location perfect. It was only a very short walk out the back lawn to the main part of town so we never had to use our car once we arrived! The breakfasts each morning were fabulous. The Innkeeper is an amazing cook and we enjoyed her fresh and delightful creations each day. The presentation was beautiful, delicious and filling! She also put out snacks each afternoon! If In Camden, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms were all lovely and except for the Rose Room were spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatiedooWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Being a Maine "summer person" I am very familiar with Camden, but never actually spent time in a hotel there as we had our own cabin. For my honeymoon I couldn't think of anywhere I'd rather go, so my husband and I decided to go fancy and stay at a B & B or hotel. We arrived very late on a Sunday night and the owners were nice enough to make sure there was a key waiting for us to get in. The breakfasts were incredible and it was nice to sit around and talk to the other guests. We stayed in the Turret room, which was beautiful and looks just like the pictures on the website. The bed was comfortable and they had even ingeniously been able to fit a small bathroom in a former closet. Though the weather didn't always cooperate, we had a lovely stay and are planning on spending our anniversary there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daisy1034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
643 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
395 reviews
0.4 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
397 reviews
0.5 km away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
0.2 km away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Inn

Address: 9 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: ₹ 8,807 - ₹ 20,357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Camden bed and breakfast set in a Victorian mansion with spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, just 180 steps from the Harbor and a short walk to the picturesque sailing village of Camden, Maine. Warm, inviting, comfortable, serene, plenty of seating in the garden; an oasis in Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Inn Hotel Camden
Hawthorn Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing