We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Diane T
Watertown, Massachusetts

Wonderful place for a respite from your hectic life!

Review of Hartstone Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jul 2023via mobile
I had a fantastic experience at the Hartstone Inn and Hideaway over the July 4th holiday. The en suite I stayed in was the perfect size! Very cozy and comfortable. Laurie was great!
When we first arrived, the room I was staying in had malfunctioning AC. Lucas and the staff accommodated me and move me to another room. So easy!

When we arrived, our luggage was taken to our rooms immediately.

Parking is in the back of the building and the location is walkable to the center of Camden in about 5 minutes. Great restaurants, coffee shops and shopping all within a short distance to the Hartstone. Make a reservation; you won’t regret it.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Plenty of parking!
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹18,128
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹18,127
  • Tripadvisor
    ₹18,127
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Hartstone Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹42,551
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    ₹42,549
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    ₹42,549
0.3 km from Hartstone Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹25,515
₹23,307
  • Hotels.com
    ₹25,515
  • Expedia.com
    ₹25,515
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹23,274
0.2 km from Hartstone Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹21,407
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    ₹21,406
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹21,377
0.5 km from Hartstone Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹15,286
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹15,285
  • Hotels.com
    ₹15,285
4.5 km from Hartstone Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹32,612
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    ₹32,611
0.7 km from Hartstone Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
20' x 30' outdoor pool
₹18,128
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₹18,127
  • Expedia.com
    ₹18,127
  • Tripadvisor
    ₹18,127
1.0 km from Hartstone Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹46,650
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₹46,648
  • Expedia.com
    ₹46,648
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹46,585
0.2 km from Hartstone Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
₹51,469
  • Tripadvisor
    ₹51,467
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    ₹51,467
0.5 km from Hartstone Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Official Site
    ₹20,414
  • Expedia.com
0.5 km from Hartstone Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Camden
Reviews (1,350)
Filter reviews
1,350 results
Traveller rating
1,106
133
60
32
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,106
133
60
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking class cottage suite my husband and i souffle manor house the main house attention to detail cookies new england michael hearthstone maine hors normandy gourmet accommodations bathrobes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,350 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2023

Even though staff was very nice, Not a place for senior citizens.
It’s a place for accidents waiting to happen. Showers are dangerous to life and limb. Stairs are treacherous. Lighting terrible in rooms. Total lack of amenities such as shampoo and other things one expect to a supposedly a better class hotel. .

Room tip: If you’re a senior citizen, this not the place for you!
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Tour64472781889
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2023

After a long drive from Montreal, upon arrival no one checked us in or could even tell us where our room was. Two different people in the Inn restaurant had us go a block away from the main house to a location where rooms are situated. Eventually we figured out on our own that the Normandy suite was around the corner from the main house.

Having made it to our room we were hopeful things would improve. It didn’t. For over $400 usd night we expected way better. The attention is in the details and the details were very lacking.

The carpet was worn and there was a stain on the bed sheet. There was no dresser, so we basically lived out of our suitcases for a week. Also lacking was a wet bar or fridge. We couldn’t even keep water cold or have juice or any sort of snack food that needed refrigeration. Likewise, there was no coffee or tea maker in the room. Although there were sundry tables throughout the space, there was no desk/chair to set up our laptops and plug in devices. We asked for a track outlet to make sure our devices stayed charged and not scattered throughout the space. Room service is non-existent and having the room cleaned is solely upon request. Even that was not sufficient. Towels were taken, but not replaced. The same occurred with having a robe taken, but not replaced or brought back. Carpet was never vacuumed.

To make matters worse the wifi signal was so weak (14 megabytes…at our home it’s 150) we couldn’t stream/comcast shows. There was a very cheap larger tv downstairs with ridiculously limited channels and a low-end small smart tv (VIZIO) in the upstairs bedroom. The picture and selection were so poor we simply gave up on watching anything we’d enjoy. Occasionally an episode of Maude or The Beverly Hillbillies was entertaining. Other than that the selection consisted of tele-evangelists, crime docudramas and panned sitcoms from the 80’s.

Minor concerns with challenging heat controls and no slippers seemed trivial given how dismayed we were by the overall experience.

Everything I referenced here are basic amenities, indicative of a 4 star property. Unfortunately, although we clearly paid four star rates, we did not receive a comparable 4 star experience. It wasn’t even close.

On the ‘upside’ the king size bed was very attractive and comfortable, albeit I found it too soft for my taste. The toiletries were good. The hotel bathrobes were nice and the restaurant fabulous, albeit the gourmet breakfast we anticipated was also non-existent. Instead it was a standard serve yourself buffet. Not bad, but not what we hoped for given that the restaurant (and the Camden location) were the only positives to the Inn.

Although we had a wonderful time exploring Maine and enjoying fabulous restaurants, our experience at Hartstone was a huge disappointment. We will certainly return to Maine, but definitely not to the Hartstone Inn.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank sheritherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2023

We’ve been coming to Hartstone for over 10 years. Food was the primary reason why we visited – it was always excellent, an exquisite dining experience. Even though there was a change in ownership, we thought we would still give it try. To our disappointment, the dinner experience was nowhere near where it was in previous years. The food quality and quantity, especially for the price, did not come close to our expectations. This makes us sad because this was our favorite getaway spot for many years, and we can’t see us coming back anytime soon, if at all.

Room tip: Not worth the money
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank F3730LOjillp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2022 via mobile

The Hartstone Inn has a new owner. We’ve been coming to Hartstone for many years and returned to celebrate Thanksgiving. There are a few things to be worked on but overall we enjoyed our experience. We especially appreciated Abby’s warm personality and attention to detail which made our stay so memorable. The new chef and staff served a gourmet Thanksgiving dinner, delicious breakfasts, and flavorful afternoon cookies. The housekeeping staff gave us an immaculate room and we enjoyed the heated bathroom floor on the cold mornings. We always choose the Hideaway where we can relax with friends in the common areas and enjoy an evening beverage and snack with the new guest pantry and kitchenette. Change can be difficult but the staff worked hard to make our stay a pleasant one. We plan to return for a spring weekend.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2022 via mobile

We didn’t stay at this hotel but we’ve just had a wonderful dinner whilst we were staying in Camden. The menu was interesting with some unique dishes, the presentation was great and the flavours were fantastic, this was all topped off with great staff and a fabulous host.

Room tip: Reservation needed way in advance.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank No1Scribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews