We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A complete indulgence for the dedicated foodie"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Ranked #4 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

A complete lodging and culinary event in a chef owned and run inn. Our room was charming "Toscana" with a comfortable antique four poster bed. The only element lacking is a tub. When you stay at Hartstone Inn & Hideaway it is essential to indulge in Michael Salmon's five course prix fixe dinner. The menu changes daily and is excellent value for a perfect balance of dishes and a comprehensive wine list. The taste sensation does not stop here, breakfast is yet another delectable treat. There is a "tablet" on each table displaying photos of Michael & Mary Jo's recent culinary tours of Tuscany and Loire Valley. For a price you can join them on future foodie adventures, stay in a chateau and assist Michael in preparing the evening meals with local fresh produce. But no need for disappointment if this is not possible as you can join a cooking class during your stay at Hartstone Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 543 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

Another fun filled 4 nights at Hartstone. Enjoying Michael's fantastic dinners and breakfasts. Forget the diet and enjoy 5 star dining. The Inn is so elegant yet cozy and inviting. Michael and Mary Jo are great hosts and help with anything you should need. It is located just steps from the wonderful downtown and harbor so just park and enjoy strolling among the wonderful shops and pier areas. Would highly recommend to anyone travelling in that area. Lots to see and do and than relax over a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerrie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

If you were a character on "the office" who would be a member of the finer things club - you will be in heaven at this B&B. It is more like a foodie-mecca boutique hotel, but that title might be less marketable in small towns in Maine.
My husband and I might be a little younger than the typical BB crowd but we've come to appreciate their good value and location in many small towns we travel to, (even though we risk occasional exposure to teddy bear decor motifs) but the Hartstone is easily the most posh, tasteful and well though out in every tiny detail.

A few of our favorite details-
The linens are the nicest we've slept on, ever.
Evening cocktail hour with Hors dourves
The staff are perfectly attentive and professional but never schmaltzy or intrusive
Chef Michael- you can read about the incredible food in the other 500 reviews, but it's all true. Julia child apparently came here for her birthday dinner if that gives you an idea.

Hopefully well be back in beautiful little Camden, maybe another mini-moon in the future?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for a place to get away for Memorial Day Weekend. Our friends had recommended the Hartstone Inn in Camden, ME. From the moment we stepped off the plane in Portland, we fell in love with ME! The food was amazing - each meal better than the last, the people were friendly and helpful, and the views were breathtaking!

The Hartstone Inn in Camden is about a 1.5 hour leisurely drive from Portland. The rooms are inviting, extremely well kept, and felt like home! The staff was very professional and made us feel like
family. We travel often and have had many good meals, but the food at the Hartstone was in a league of its own. We had some of the best meals ever in the three days we visited. There was plenty to do and see in town from shopping to sailing, drinks on the waterfront, hiking, biking, and live music at every corner cafe!
We highly recommend visiting ME and certainly hope you have a chance to stay at the Hartstone Inn.
We can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We chose to stay at the Hartstone Inn because of its great location and the good reviews on trip advisor. While my husband might have a different opinion, I was disappointed. Much of that resulted because the breakfast that is part of each night's stay was very structured. Seatings are at 8:30 or 9 am, with no apparent flexibility on when you can be served. All of the guests have to mill around the common rooms waiting to be let in. Then, breakfast is served without any choices. The first course was a fruit/yogurt/granola/breakfast pudding option and the second course is a hot dish. Unfortunately, on both days of our stay, the hot dish was not to my liking. Unfortunately, there aren't any substitutions. The owner is a renowned chef who even offers cooking lessons in some package deals so the meals were well done, but not having choices made it much less enjoyable.
Another concern was that though the bed was fabulously comfortable, the room was tiny. We didn't have room to open both of our suitcases. We had chosen a room with a private bath, but the sink was in the room not in the bathroom. Obviously, choosing one of the less expensive rooms was a mistake.
The staff seemed very busy. They came when we rang, and after breakfast one morning the hostess did offer some advice about sightseeing in the area. The evening cocktails is a fun idea and allows some socializing amongst guests.
A computer with internet connection is available for guests and off-street parking seemed plentiful behind the inn.
The location in "downtown" Camden is perfect. The fact it is on Main Street wasn't much of a problem. The Inn even provided earplugs in case noise is a concern.

Room Tip: If a room with a private in-suite bath is important, be sure to reserve one of those rooms. Also, co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.2 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
625 reviews
0.2 km away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.2 km away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
385 reviews
10.2 km away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.5 km away
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartstone Inn & Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartstone Inn & Hideaway

Address: 41 Elm St, Camden, ME 04843-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: ₹ 9,318 - ₹ 23,197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartstone Inn & Hideaway 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine dining B&B Fodor's considers "An elegant and sophisticated retreat and culinary destination offering a unique experience in pampered luxury." Recipient of AAA's 4 Diamond Award of excellence for lodging and dining. Luxurious amenities include: memorable multi-course breakfast, fine linens & robes, down comforters and pillows, gas fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs, MP3 players, TV/DVD, complementary WiFi and guest computers. Enhance your stay w/a gourmet picnic, massage or become Chef for the Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hartstone Inn & Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartstone Inn And Hideaway
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway Hotel Camden
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing