We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I've ever stayed!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swan House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I've been traveling to Maine for many years. My experience at the Swan House couldn't be improved. The Kohl's immediately made me feel like family. The rooms are charming and clean, each one different from the others. Every need is graciously taken care of in a timely manner whether it's scheduling a sail or locating a nail salon, restaurant, or hiking trail.

Breakfast is so delicious and filling that you can skip lunch. Besides coffee, tea and juices, today I was served blueberry muffins, almond squares, baked grapefruit, spinach quiche, bacon, and toast. Homemade granola and other cereals were also available.

The inn has a great location, close enough to walk to town but far enough away so that you can't hear the downtown noises.

A snack of tea and cookies is available in the afternoon.

Lyn and Ken are keenly interested in their guests. I am so comfortable at the Swan House that I have chosen to return year after year.

Room Tip: The loft has two queen beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terriadickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers-1993, Owner at Swan House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2011

It's hard to believe that you've been visiting with us for the past thirteen consecutive years. Time flies when you're having fun, and we always have fun when you're with us. You bring so much positive energy to the other guests at breakfast by sharing your enthusiasm about your travels in Maine. We're very fortunate to have you as a loyal return guest at The Swan House. Thank you so much for the lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

My husband and I had a much needed night away from our kiddo and The Swan House was just perfect. Lyn and Ken are the kindest hosts, and the breakfast and treats they offer were delicious! The peaceful locale has beautiful landscaping and woods surrounding the property, making it feel very private. It is only a very short walk from town with excellent restaurants, shopping, and walks along the waterfront. Lyn and Ken were eager to help us make our short getaway as relaxing as possible, with suggestions for restaurants and local hikes. It was the best deal around. So glad we found it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aurarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers-1993, Owner at Swan House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2011

Thank you for the great review. It was so nice to meet you and we were happy to be able to accommodate you with a peaceful setting. We hope that your mini getaway proved to be exactly what you needed. Sometimes all it takes is a day away with a change of scenery and some quality time alone, to refresh and relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We LOVE staying at the Swan Inn. This was our fourth visit! The breakfasts are wonderful. Lots of food and different breakfast items everyday. Blueberry pancakes one morning, eggs another. Fresh baked breads and pastries and wonderful homemade granola! The rooms are fresh and clean. Each one a little different theme. We stayed in the Trumpeter this time. It has its own deck to view the wild turkeys out back and skylights to let in the light. The Trumpeter is in the Carriage House in the back - very quiet and private. Great hosts, too!

Room Tip: Easy to book online and to see each room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We have just spent 2 weeks in Maine and Massachusetts staying at 8 different B&Bs, inns and hotels from $168 to $615 a night and this was far and away the best in terms of value, comfort, cleanliness, location and friendliness of the hosts. The Swan House is like a cosy Swiss chalet in a lovely quiet spot among the trees at the foot of Mt Battie (we climbed it from the B&B before breakfast) yet just minutes away from the centre of Camden (10 mins on foot, 2 by car) but without the traffic noise of other B&Bs. We had a huge beautiful room with 2 queen beds (we had our 21yr old daughter with us), private bathroom, sofa, tables, chairs and fridge, patchwork quilts, fantastically comfortable and space to spread all the stuff from our six heavy bags! Lyn and Ken were absolutely delightful, charming and informative hosts and the breakfasts were the biggest and the best we've ever had. Lyn is a true star in the kitchen - heavenly homemade granola, hot muffins, pancakes, baked eggs, crispy bacon, french toast and luscious fresh fruit salads. And then she packed up extra muffins , biscuits and granola for us to eat on our onward journey. We had only booked for one night but it was so good here that we decided to book again for a night on our way down from Northern Maine a week later and when I went to pay after the first night Ken said "oh, don't worry, you can settle up when you come back next week" so that's what we did - but what trust! Lyn and Ken are a lovely gentle, softly spoken, delightful couple and I have to say that I think the ridiculous comments in some other reviews say much more about the writers' own personality problems than they do about the Swan House - and one in particular suggests he has spent more time in institutions other than B&Bs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessandavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

My wife and I just finished another very pleasant stay at Swan House. We have vacationed there for a number of years. Lyn and Ken have always been friendly and gracious hosts and now we feel like we are visiting old friends. The Inn is always clean, well-kept and comfortable. We love the location...at the foot of Mt. Battie, sheltered by fine old trees and on Mountain Street, which is not all that busy but puts you very near the heart of Camden. If you feel like walking, it's a 10 or 15 minute stroll to Main Street; if you don't, just roll down Mountain Street and park (all day for free) at the end of Mountain Street near Route1, where it's just a minute's walk to the shops and the public landing. And, pause to take in the view of the harbor across the public library's lawn as you turn from Mountain Street on to Route 1. We also love the fact that there are no TVs in the rooms. There's a TV in the parlor for weather, news, etc.; otherwise who needs it on vacation? There is free wi-fi. I use it rarely, but I have to carry a laptop for my work and the few times I've had to use it, it works fine. The breakfasts are a delight; the sunroom where breakfast is served at 8:30, is lovely. Lyn is a wonderful cook and baker and makes each breakfast special. And before breakfast is served, there's always coffee available early, which I really appreciate. To sum up, a great friendly place in a great location, to just come and relax and feel like you are visiting friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.7 km away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
665 reviews
0.7 km away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#4 of 19 in Camden
358 reviews
1 km away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Relais & Chateaux Camden Harbour Inn
0.6 km away
Camden Windward House
Camden Windward House
#3 of 19 in Camden
418 reviews
0.8 km away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 49 Mountain St, Camden, ME 04843-1635
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range: ₹ 7,051 - ₹ 11,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Swan House Bed & Breakfast Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing