We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely accomdation but something missing.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abigail's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abigail's Inn
Ranked #14 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely accomdation but something missing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Our room was lovely, bed very comfortable and everything spotlessly clean, but noisy from the traffic. It was very conveniently located within 5 minutes walk of the main town, but on a very busy road. The breakfasts are excellent - but the timing is very restrictive and it wold have been nice to be able to get a cup of tea/coffee before 8.30am. There was always cake and tea/coffee in the afternoon but there was never any milk. Beth and Kipp are very pleasant (and the boys) but we didn't feel they were pleased to receive us. We spoke to them more in the last five minutes when paying the bill, than we had done in the previous 4 days. I think may be if you are only staying one/two nights this is fine - but for longer I would have reservations. Somehow, the house did not have a welcoming feel - and the over powering smell of cooking in the evening from their personal accomodation was off-putting.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the property are noisy due to the very busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
59
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Our room was immaculate and spacious. Perfect for our honeymoon! The owners were very nice and made a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We just returned From a weekend in Maine for a wedding which we extended to have a not in Camden. Abigail's was a perfect spot for a getaway. We stayed in the rose garden room. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. Beth and Kipp were great hosts, we didn't have time to do much research before hand, so Beth suggested a great restaurant and made us reservations at atlantica. We would recommend Abigails to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Beth and Libby were very friendly and helpful. The room was a treat in the carriage house. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beauboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC area
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed in the Rose Garden room – which is quite spacious, clean, and nicely decorated. The breakfast was delicious – truly gourmet. The B&B is close to town with a so we could walk to everything. The parking lot is spacious, so we were even able to leave our car there after checking out. Beth was very helpful with recommending a great place for dinner and making a reservation for us. She also recommended a 2-hour sail on the Surprise which was a great way to see Camden from the water. We really enjoyed the Adirondack chairs in the large backyard. It’s hard to decide where to relax at this place – the backyard, large front porch, beautiful sitting room inside, or in our lovely room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.3 km away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.7 km away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hawthorn Inn
Hawthorn Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 km away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.0 km away
Camden Windward House
Camden Windward House
#6 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Inn

Property: Abigail's Inn
Address: 8 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at one of Camden, Maine's most intimate Bed & Breakfasts with private off-street parking in a great location - just steps from the center of town and the harbor. Choose from one of our 4 well appointed guest rooms, enjoy a delicious breakfast and then start off on your daily adventure - sailing, hiking, kayaking, shopping, dining, or just kicking back on our large front porch. Come rest, relax, and leave the car behind. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abigail's Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing