We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the tide”
Review of Thomas Point Beach

Thomas Point Beach
Ranked #10 of 24 things to do in Brunswick
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Brunswick beach which hosts an annual jazz festival as well as other musical events.
Reviewed 6 August 2016

While on vacation I went to check this out with my 3 year old, on a blistering day. We found it after researching and driving around for a couple hours to find a nice spot to let her play/ swim. Got there at noonish, only to find clammers up to their knees in mud. Gah. Wish I knew it was a high tide beach. No where in the research did I find that tidbit of info.
Had to stay because she wasn't going to leave and I wasn't searching for another place. High tide wasn't until 3:45. Thankfully my pregnant sister came with me because she was so stinking hot she didn't give a rats tail that the ground was so muddy you stuck to it, and the water coming in with the tide was murky, and of course my 3 year old could have cared less. She just wanted in the water. Once the tide finally started coming in, it did come fairly quickly.

The grounds of the entire campground seem very well maintained. There was a small play ground too. Thank god.
Sounds like they have a killer bluegrass festival in August. Wish I could go back up for that.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank InspectorFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

11 - 15 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

The bugs were so bad at other local beaches that we were desperate to have just one day in the water. This place does not show up on tourist sites, but is a gem. I could stay here all week! The beach is pristine and calm. They keep the area very clean. It was a very small fee for a great day, better than the state park beaches any day.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Evelene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I haven't been there in years, always took my girls there growing up. They still have a lot of things to do. Jazz festival. Nice place for a picnic.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

This beautiful spot is in my neighborhood. Always clean and very well maintained. I love checking out the osprey nest. It is an oasis to be enjoyed.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2016

It doesn't take long to reach this place and it's so serene and pretty. Once you get there , you won't want to leave.

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank Marsha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomas Point Beach also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Thomas Point Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing