We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
13
28
20
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
28
20
10
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Hotel rooms are not good (delux AC rooms), hotel staff response after 7 pm and before 9 am in morning is very poor, do not give water bottle have to purchase a bottle against payment of Rs. 37 for local made water bottle named as Golden Valley, WiFi you will get irritated and stop using yourself, do not provide Iron box facility in room you have to pay Rs. 30 per shirt for Ironing. Front desk manager good in words but poor in services.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABHINANDANK36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This Hotel on the MG Road is a MIddle class Budget hotel with very good facilities.....Morning Buffet Breakfast and the rooms are also very good....... The Food Taste with the local flavors is very good..... The rooms are best for a couple stay......

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PradeepP845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Checked in here after a 24 hour Boat trip in the backwaters of Kerala. Staff was helpful, though slow with the check in, and from here, it went downhill fast. Rooms were spacious, but terribly worn down (see attached pictures from the bathroom), power stopped working in the the entire floor, internet were charged by the hour (though it did not work) and they forgot to book our taxi the next morning.

When asking about the internet, which was crucial for planning/booking our onward journey, they said that it was chargeable and that we could buy a password in the reception (even though it said on our booking that this was included). The manager said we could have two hours complimentary free WiFi which did not work in our rooms. We went down to the lobby to try it there, but still no luck. After a fair bit of arguing, they got us some passwords that worked, but even though we managed to connect to the WiFi, the internet was not working. We asked them once more to fix it, but they never managed.
As we could not wait any longer with our bookings, we went out looking for an internet cafe, and luckily found a small hotel on the other side of the road, who lent us their WiFi for free (we thanked them by having dinner in their restaurant, which was really good and cheap).

When coming back to "The Manor", the internet was still not working, but at least they should manage to book us a taxi the next morning at 6 am sharp.

When going down to check out early next morning about 5:50 (after a sleepless night with lots of noise and arguing from the hallway), we found the night manager sleeping on the couch in the Lobby. and of course no taxi was booked. He got on the phone, and the taxi arrived about a quarter past six, so we made our flight with time to spare. Of course, they did not apologize for either the missing taxi, or the faulty network. We actually felt they were blaming us for it.

Just to end with a disclaimer: Of the 40+ hotels I have reviewed on TripAdvisor in Europe and Asia, this is the first I give a "Terrible" rating. This is mostly because of the staff's total lack of interest to solve a problem. I have had bigger problems than shabby bathrooms, missing WiFi and a forgotten taxi before, but I expect to have some form of humbleness from the employees of the hotel when addressing a problem.

When going through the reviews on TA for this hotel, I see one reply from management (6 months after the original complaint 30/12-2012) where they say that they have "Shuffled the Top officials and deployed experienced professionals in all areas", and staff have received training. I think it's about time to reshuffle and revisit this training program.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are probably better...
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Last month i stayed in Woods Manor. Its a very good hotel. Nice hospitality. Spacious rooms and the food is also good .The location is good .The hotel is in heart of the city.The staff is also very cooperative

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dhanya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

A group of friends and I stayed here for one night after a few weeks of being in India. We booked it online because it looked like a nicer hotel and we wanted an evening to relax before leaving India.

While the rooms were a decent size, the photos on the internet have definitely been made to look much nicer than they were in reality. There were numerous stains on the walls and the bathroom wasn't clean. Website stipulated a 'bath' in the room but really it was hardly big enough to fit a person in.

The pool hadn't been cleaned but was warm.

The staff were good on check in, although an additional bed hadn't been setup in one of the rooms we'd booked (which we'd requested on booking) and we had to ask 3 times for this to be done. on Agoda, it says that there is free wi-fi which isn't true and its outrageously expensive which is a bit ridiculous considering we had received free wi-fi even at the cheapest places throughout our stay in India.

The staff at the front desk were ok, one was particularly nice the other staff we encountered in the hotel seemed very offish and unfriendly.

The location was ok, being on MG road, not too far from the ferry or shops. Handy that check out is 24 hours after you check in, regardless of the time. Beds were softer than most in India, and had actual inner-spring mattresses which were nice. The fans in our rooms didn't work, neither did the air con temperature control.

Overall, it wasn't that expensive but still could've been better than it was for the price. Mostly disappointing to see that it was not like it looked on the website.

Breakfast was ok. Nothing fantastic.

Room Tip: Probably ask for a better room when you arrive - we should have.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megant14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews