We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out, and not very helpful staff”
Review of The Woods Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Woods Manor
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Ernakulam
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Checked in here after a 24 hour Boat trip in the backwaters of Kerala. Staff was helpful, though slow with the check in, and from here, it went downhill fast. Rooms were spacious, but terribly worn down (see attached pictures from the bathroom), power stopped working in the the entire floor, internet were charged by the hour (though it did not work) and they forgot to book our taxi the next morning.

When asking about the internet, which was crucial for planning/booking our onward journey, they said that it was chargeable and that we could buy a password in the reception (even though it said on our booking that this was included). The manager said we could have two hours complimentary free WiFi which did not work in our rooms. We went down to the lobby to try it there, but still no luck. After a fair bit of arguing, they got us some passwords that worked, but even though we managed to connect to the WiFi, the internet was not working. We asked them once more to fix it, but they never managed.
As we could not wait any longer with our bookings, we went out looking for an internet cafe, and luckily found a small hotel on the other side of the road, who lent us their WiFi for free (we thanked them by having dinner in their restaurant, which was really good and cheap).

When coming back to "The Manor", the internet was still not working, but at least they should manage to book us a taxi the next morning at 6 am sharp.

When going down to check out early next morning about 5:50 (after a sleepless night with lots of noise and arguing from the hallway), we found the night manager sleeping on the couch in the Lobby. and of course no taxi was booked. He got on the phone, and the taxi arrived about a quarter past six, so we made our flight with time to spare. Of course, they did not apologize for either the missing taxi, or the faulty network. We actually felt they were blaming us for it.


Just to end with a disclaimer: Of the 40+ hotels I have reviewed on TripAdvisor in Europe and Asia, this is the first I give a "Terrible" rating. This is mostly because of the staff's total lack of interest to solve a problem. I have had bigger problems than shabby bathrooms, missing WiFi and a forgotten taxi before, but I expect to have some form of humbleness from the employees of the hotel when addressing a problem.

When going through the reviews on TA for this hotel, I see one reply from management (6 months after the original complaint 30/12-2012) where they say that they have "Shuffled the Top officials and deployed experienced professionals in all areas", and staff have received training. I think it's about time to reshuffle and revisit this training program.

Room Tip: Rooms in other hotels are probably better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2016

Last month i stayed in Woods Manor. Its a very good hotel. Nice hospitality. Spacious rooms and the food is also good .The location is good .The hotel is in heart of the city.The staff is also very cooperative

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dhanya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

A group of friends and I stayed here for one night after a few weeks of being in India. We booked it online because it looked like a nicer hotel and we wanted an evening to relax before leaving India.

While the rooms were a decent size, the photos on the internet have definitely been made to look much nicer than they were in reality. There were numerous stains on the walls and the bathroom wasn't clean. Website stipulated a 'bath' in the room but really it was hardly big enough to fit a person in.

The pool hadn't been cleaned but was warm.

The staff were good on check in, although an additional bed hadn't been setup in one of the rooms we'd booked (which we'd requested on booking) and we had to ask 3 times for this to be done. on Agoda, it says that there is free wi-fi which isn't true and its outrageously expensive which is a bit ridiculous considering we had received free wi-fi even at the cheapest places throughout our stay in India.

The staff at the front desk were ok, one was particularly nice the other staff we encountered in the hotel seemed very offish and unfriendly.

The location was ok, being on MG road, not too far from the ferry or shops. Handy that check out is 24 hours after you check in, regardless of the time. Beds were softer than most in India, and had actual inner-spring mattresses which were nice. The fans in our rooms didn't work, neither did the air con temperature control.

Overall, it wasn't that expensive but still could've been better than it was for the price. Mostly disappointing to see that it was not like it looked on the website.

Breakfast was ok. Nothing fantastic.

Room Tip: Probably ask for a better room when you arrive - we should have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megant14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

spacious,well planned,cosy,comfortable,spacious,well furnished,clean and nice rooms.good dining,very efficient 24 hour room service with good,varities,freshly cooked tasty food. style and comfort are in perfect harmonyd served in restaurant with all inhouse facilities for visitors

Room Tip: good hotel for comfortable stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank asthatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

It was at dawn i checked in. Hospitality was shown a new meaning: Warmth with Love! I checked out a little after dusk. I knew why it was called Gods Own Country. I felt lost amidst the love of Mr. Shaji and crew. All the best team and god bless everyone.

Vipin,Anju, Joshitha, Sibi and Rajesh : Front office
Mr.James : Massage center
Ms. Suria, Ms. Lipti, Ms. Maria the smiling angels at the restaurant
Everyone of the housekeeping and Room service department
Mr Shivan the security.

If I had missed anyones name,please bear with me.

Room Tip: Elegant Rooms, Exclusive service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 603AVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
0.4 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#33 of 36 in Ernakulam
96 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Cochin
Grand Hotel Cochin
#8 of 36 in Ernakulam
418 reviews
1.6 km away
The Mercy
The Mercy
#15 of 36 in Ernakulam
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hotel Presidency
Hotel Presidency
#12 of 36 in Ernakulam
250 reviews
2.2 km away
Cochin Palace
Cochin Palace
#54 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
144 reviews
0.6 km away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#9 of 36 in Ernakulam
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woods Manor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woods Manor

Address: Mahatma Gandhi Rd, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range: ₹ 1,944 - ₹ 3,240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Woods Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TravelGuru so you can book your The Woods Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woods Manor Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Woods Manor Ernakulam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing