We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Magical Spot!”

Review of Beach Apartment

Foyer to Beach apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Foyer to Beach apartment
Library Front of Property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Foyer to Beach apartment
Library
Front of Property
Living
Dining
Bedroom 1
Bathroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bathroom 3
Kitchen
Terrace
Terrace Garden
Night view of Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin), Ernakulam District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Woodhead5
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Magical Spot!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Many thanks Varghase for a wonderful few days at Seaview Apartments! Our family flew in from various parts of the world for a fantastic four days together before exploring other parts of Kerala. The flat was ideal for walking to all historic sites, restaurants, shops and the beach and it was so much nicer than staying in Kochi itself. The flat was clean and spacious and Varghase went out of his way to make us welcome. Looking at previous reviews, we had an inkling that he is also a wonderful cook. Yes, this was true also! Seaview Apartments is truly a gem and we would thoroughly recommend it to any travelers. Many, many thanks, Varghase

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our outstanding host and the location
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2013
Thank you Rose and family,
You were lovely people to be with.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick N
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will always sart our future trips from Seaview Apartments.”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

To say the least our stay was absolutley magnificant, The Manager (John) treated us like Kings, and he cooked his beautuful Kerala food for us every meal, at very reasonable prices.
The apartment was spotlessly clean and maintained each day. if we wanted to find something or get somewhere John would go out of his way to arrange it for us if we needed a cocktail after a wonderful dinner John would be there to make it for us .

We did a motorcycle tour through Kerala and Tamail Nadu, using the Apartment as a base point.
John our sincere thanks for a wonderful stayover.
Rick, Ian, Damien and Jacob.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and Hospitality
Liked least: Should have stayed longer.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2013
Thank you Rick, Ian, Damien and Jacob.
You were wonderful people to be with.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raksha P
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MUST STAY”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

I happend to come accross Seaview Apartments when I was searching for a hotel in Fort Cochin. Initially we were a bit reluctant on a homestay but the reviews made me book this place.

The location is excellent and the apartment is comfortable with all the facilities.

Most importantly I must mention Varghese who owns the place and who made our stay even better with his warm welcome. He was available anytime that we needed him and his food was very tasty (helped us avoid the hotel food).

My family and I thank Varghese for making our stay so wonderful. Your hospitality is beyond excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: hospitality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2012
Thank you Raksha.Ypu and family were wonderful people to be with.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patricia...
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great appartment made even better by the owners care and helpfulness”
Reviewed 1 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a wonderfull week in Cochin. The appartment was comfortable and clean and the roof terrace was beautiful, the perfect spot for a little early morning Yoga an d great breakfasts, prepared for us by the owner. Vargehse, the owner was always on call to help us and he went out of his way to pick us up when we were stranded when it rained so much that the Tuk Tuk's couldn't get through. W,e cannot reccommend this appartment and its owners enough as both were really great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners-lovely people
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2012
Allen and pat ..Thank you..You were one of my wonderful guest i ever had.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnonTrave...
Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Filty, cockroaches & mosquitos, no AC, no nice roof terrace, completely misadvertised!”
Reviewed 4 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012
7
people found this review helpful

This apartment is far from what is advertised and I would not recommend anyone stay there, see below the reasons why. I stayed there a few weeks ago with my husband, baby and my parents..

1. Cleanliness

Anyone would presume that when renting an apartment that it would be absolutely clean, especially if when advertised it claims to have "housekeeping included". The apartment was in reality far from clean, there was no surface in the kitchen that was clean, every shelf was dirty, every cup, plate, knife and fork was dirty, the windowsills were dirty etc. etc. Both bathrooms were filty, the window sills had not been cleaned down for some time. I saw remnants of old shower gel and pubic hairs of previous guests on the tiles in the bathroom in the master bedroom. The mats on the floor in the master bedroom and master bedroom bathroom were absolutely filty with the dirty footprints of previous guests. The bed clothes had stains on them and the walls were filty with stains and marks. We were also disappointed to find old bottles of beer and water left in the alcove in the kitchen, it would be the simplest thing to have these removed for new guests and not have them there attracting pests. I actually asked to have these removed but they were not.

2. Mis-advertised

On this listing (and elsewhere online) there were 2 photos of the terrace upstairs, with its gleaming white painted flooring and old wooden furniture, it looked the ideal place to have a drink at sunset and do yoga etc. The reality was far from this, the white paint was gone, the flooring was dirty and the furniture had been replaced by 3 black plastic chairs. We were so disappointed with this, and it was not the place we could spend any time as hoped. The pictures on the listings online of the bedrooms and kitchen were also misleading, and seem to have been taken some time ago. The nice bed covers, mats and bookcase were not there in reality and the kitchen was not equipped as it looked on the online listing. It was also misleading to state there was "housekeeping included" with the apartment, as from the issues mentioned this person was not even able / willing to keep the dishes clean in the kitchen. And we were charged for the little bit of laundry she did for us, so this obviously was not included as the listing stated. Another example of the mis-advertisement was the statement that the kitchen had "new crockery, pots and pans", all the crockery in the kitchen was dirty, the first night we tried and failed to find one clean cup. There was one small pot, I can't remember seeing any other cooking utensils.

3. Air Conditioning / Electrics

I think it was completely misleading to state on the listing that the apartment is Air Conditioned, this is a false and misleading statement, as only one bedroom had air conditioning. And at that the AC unit there only worked half the time. We were travelling with a young baby (as the owner knew) and were forced to keep her in this bedroom for most of the stay in the apartment as the other rooms were far too hot for her. We were also very distressed when the AC unit stopped working on the 2nd night, we informed the owner of this and his response was that 'we were using it too much', which I think is an insulting response. Of course when in the house we were going to be using it. The AC unit was exactly the same, switching on and off, after an AC engineer came to look at it. The electrics in general in the apartment were very shoddy and downright dangerous, most of the light switches did not work, all of the fans would stop working at some stage, turning on and off by themselves. Due to the heat this meant us waking up in the night everytime the fan / AC unit stopped working. The main switch in the kitchen did not work, half of the plugs in the apartment just simply did not work.

4. Pests

I have been to Kerala before so I know mosquitos are a problem but I didn't think we would have to contend with them in the apartment. All the windows were left wide open in the apartment (and due to the mesh you couldn’t close any of them, meaning you had all the noise from the road and surrounding houses). There were holes in the mesh on the windows meaning that mosquitos were getting in. Again this was a major concern for us, especially with a young baby. I asked the owner to fix the holes in the mesh, but most were left as they were. The mosquito plug-ins provided seemed to have been there for some time and were only in some of the rooms, and didn't seem to have any effect whatsoever. We also had bugs / mites on the couch in the living room (meaning we couldn't sit down there!), a huge amount of ants in the master bedroom (on the bed, which I told the owner about but nothing was done) and very disturbingly huge cockroaches in the master bedroom. Cockroaches are a result of poor cleanliness and we were shocked to find them in the master bedroom. It was an especially horrible sight to see them on the floor next to our sleeping baby in her basket. Cockroach treatment is quite inexpensive so we were very disappointed that the owner hadn't bothered to invest in it.

Please don't think that this review has been left by a Western lady who is looking for Western standards, that's not correct, I have lived in India a year now and have travelled extensively throughout the country. It was especially disappointing to be faced with the issues above as we had a young baby with us and my elderly parents who had not been to India before. I pointed out most of the issues above to the owner but little or no effort was made to fix them for us. We spent alot of money and effort going down to Kochi and it was v. distressing for us to have to deal with these issues, when we thought we would be staying in a lovely apartment, as the one advertised online. This is such a shame as the apartment is in a great location and has the potential to be fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing