We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
48
7
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
48
7
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west bengal iskcon temple impeccable hospitality look forward bygone era sprawling grounds mr home property nature estate kolkata history life hosts river comfort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

After having confined for long time in home ,owing to virus threat and related phobia of corona virus, We managed to have courage to venture out in a hidden Paradise of West Bengal , in Nadia district at Maheshganj , for tranquillity and freedom .Our decision proved to be a bliss in disguise as we took journey in a Private Car with dilemma and doubts that we went through in the last few months!

It took about 3.35 hrs to reach at Balakhana at Maheshganj ( set up in 1785 AD) via Kalyani Express way- Iswar Gupta setu - Samudragarh - Nawadwip - Mukundopur .Owing to horrible traffic jam in recent times in Krishnanagar we chose this route which was 80% good enough for smooth journey .
We had been warmly welcomed by Mrs Pal Chowdhury , the host, and she allowed us to choose a room as there was not enough guests then.They have five big rooms , almost each room is as spacious as a 1 BHK flat , enough to accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids easily. The 16 acre property is enveloped with greenery , fruit trees , flower garden , mango orchard , and spice plants--- a soothing relief from the concrete jungle of urban life !
Room was clean enough and is cleaned everyday maintaining proper hygiene.

Food / meals are provided at fixed time with fixed buffet menu .There is not much variety , though they make different menu each day. Like some reviewers I have the same opinion that the food price is little higher/ expensive as it is not not a hill station or remote place to charge so high for simple menu ! But importantly they provide delicious dishes which everyone will relish . We relished nolen gur , malbury jam and Cake , fish curry (( not fish chop which was not tasty )) , fresh vegetables , sarbhaja of Krishnanagar!... A real Jamindari touch indeed in culinary sections by Cooks and commendable service of Mr Dharamadas Goswami , a waiter of 84 years old who demands respect for all his qualities he holds at this age !
Suroj , a helper , is cooperative enough too.
My twins kids relished every moment -- playing indoor and outdoor games , hiking in farmland , watching sunset and collecting vegetables from farmland, seeing rivulets Jalangi and Alokananda and most importantly never bored without using any gadget or Watching TV ( there is not any TV at Balakhana ).
One should keep in mind it is not a 4/ 5 star hotel to provide express service by knocking a bell ; instead one has to adapt with the slow but punctual pace of time here as it is a Homestay.
Mr Ranodhir Pal Chowdhury ( pardon if any spelling mistake of name) is a superb and amiable host with googlesque knowledge of many things and love kids too .He is always ready to help the guests and their needs , but not any one's greed !!
He share a lot of experience with guests to enrich and allow all guests to interact .

Weather is very pleasant from November to February here .
Areas to improve : Need variety in food menu at this Price ; need liquid sanitizer in each room separately ; tooth paste and tooth brush separately ; odonil in bathroom ; if possible a Single TV in Common sitting Room , there is no one to help to carry heavy luggage in the room!

Last of all , choice of a place vary from person to person according to taste and financial support one has .It is undoubtedly an expensive heritage homestay .But in comparison to other heritage properties of Bengal , like Bawali Rajbari / Jhargram Rajbari/ Itachuna Rajbari etc , this Heritage property has not been highly commercialised and as such maitaining raw feel of rural Bengal in heritage property of Indigo Cultivation era in more elegant manner with blend of homely hospitality undoubtedly .........

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 921amitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 November 2020

My fourth time in Balakhana. Each time, the estate looks better & better. Every room & bedroom is spotless, the meals fabulous & the staff, discreet. What is unique about Balakhana for me is that on every stay, I learn of something new which was right in front of me the last time I stayed but never noticed it, or an historical anecdote associated with Balakhana. And the warm & inclusive nature of the hosts' who are always ready to help, complete the magic that is Balakhana!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pnt528
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 October 2020 via mobile

Spend the last week amidst rich heritage of Bengal at Balakhana Home Stay at Maheshganj.
The house is on a 16 acre property build by an Italian architect during 1760s. Impeccably maintained by the current owner, the Pal Choudhuris, the house is lovely, full of antique furniture and artifacts. Ranodhir and Kalpana are wonderful hosts and Ronodhir happily narrates the rich history of the estate and indigo plantations of Bengal.
The estate has more than 500 trees, full scale mango orchard and live indigo plantation. Another must mention is the food, wide variety and culinary skills of Kalpana is superb. Overall, it’s a wonderful weekend break ... rich history, warm hospitality and lovely nature. Look forward to coming back

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank DBanerjee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 March 2020

Maheshganj Estate is everything you would want from a homestay
Out hosts Mr Ranodhir Pal Choudhury and his wife Kalpana made us feel like family members. This feeling started even before we visited the Estate. We had originally had made reservations for Dec’18. However, due to a medical emergency in the family we had to cancel at the last moment. Mr Pal Choudhury was well within his rights to not provide us any refund, if he wanted to. However, upon hearing about our family emergency he told me that he would rather have us visit his property and very graciously offered to hold our reservation for a year. We were already a little sad on missing out visiting this property and this gesture by Mr Pal Choudhury made us all the more determined to visit the place
So we finally made it to the Estate in Dec’19. This was a family trip for us for 3 nights. The Estate is as beautiful as portrayed in their website and the food is delicious. We spent many happy hours exploring the property, roaming around in the village, fields and the river bank and not to mention long hours chatting with our delightful hosts. Mr Pal Choudhury will regale you with the history of the place. By the end of 2 days we had developed such rapport, that on our last day at the Estate Mr Pal Choudhury and I got into a bet as to who makes better scrambles eggs. So in I went into their kitchen and prepared scrambled eggs for breakfast for everyone. It was a very enjoyable stay for our entire family.
I highly recommend visiting this place whether for a short weekend trip or for experiencing Bengal countryside. You can also visit the Iscon Temple in Mayapur, which is just across the river. Or else, you can visit Murshidabad as a full day trip from the Estate like we did. For those who don’t know, Murshidabad was the capital of Bengal during Mughal rule when Bengal was the most prosperous province of the empire.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sulakshana_Dasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ranodhir P, Owner at Maheshganj Estate Balakhana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2020

I'm still eating my 'humble pie' after having your mouth watering scrambled eggs... Needless to mention I'm awaiting a repeat...

Hope all is well with you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020

Had the opportunity to stay in the HERITAGE property from Jan 30th to 31st. Stay was made comfortable by hospitality & personal care by Mrs Kalpana Palchoudhuri , who also took us through the rich history & heritage of the Estate which dates back to 1780. Had an opportunity to stay in a room having a super size king bed two centuries old. The dining experience was good were provided with simple home cooked food , being winter had the privy of eating date jaggery (nolen gur). Well maintained property , worth spending the time and money.

Room tip: Room with the super king size bed with three steps to climb.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniruddha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Ranodhir P, Owner at Maheshganj Estate Balakhana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2020

It was lovely having you over & thank you for choosing Balakhana...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews