We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Colony Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brewer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colony Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Reviewed 21 September 2014

The owner Lynn was very friendly and responsive to our requests. She really cares about her guests enjoying their stay. Based on previous reviews, I mentioned to her that I am a light sleeper and would prefer a room away from the road noise. She was very accommodating. She was also happy to provide a hairdryer upon request. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The fridge was quiet and in good working order. Lynn kept it stocked with bottles of water. It was very nice to come back to cold water after a day of hiking. We didn't try the microwave. The AC was a little loud, but I found it didn't effect my sleeping at all. The water pressure and temperature in the shower were good. Personally, I would like another shelf in the bathroom for personal items as the pedestal sink doesn't have any counter space, but this is not a real problem since the desk is just outside the bathroom door and has plenty of room. The day that we were leaving, our rental car wouldn't start. Lynn's husband was very understanding, provided directions to a Walmart where we could get the battery replaced, and allowed us a late checkout while we dealt with it. I would not hesitate to stay here again or to recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Lynn gave me room 6, which had two beds. Its toward the middle of the hotel and quieter. Room 1 wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xgca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2014

Our stay at the Colony Motel was Excellent. Very clean, welcoming atmosphere. Owners were very kind and went out of their way to make out stay enjoyable. Great location, only 5 minutes away from the Bangor Mall. Highly recommend this motel

Room Tip: Room 11 was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islanders20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My daughter and I were looking for a place to stay in Bangor. We saw how fantastic the reviews were for the Colony Motel so decided to try it. We were not disappointed. If you want a place that is family run, immaculate, homey, family friendly, conveniently located, and quiet.... this is the place for you. We will be back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We had been down-east to Lubec and Campobello Island and had been driving all day. Unfortunately we hadn't made any motel reservations so were looking to stop at the first place we found which happened to be the Colony in Brewer on Rte 9, the "Airline" as they call it.
The place was immaculate. The paint appeared new, the room was bright.
My only criticism was the absence of lighting at the mirror, only an overhead in the bathroom which meant you were in your own shadow while shaving or applying make-up. Also, the bath/shower control was a little funky, hard to get the temp just right.
The inn keeper is way friendly, it's a long time family operation.
Price was competitive as far as we could tell.
There was even a "Welcome" basket of chocolates, instant coffee and tea.
Stay here if you get the chance.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank mpgrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This wonderful, family-owned hotel is a gem. Our room was spotlessly clean and huge! The decor is lovely and the grounds are beautiful. We were very impressed. Rates are extremely reasonable. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank December1472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewer
2.9 km away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
724 reviews
3.4 km away
Bangor Inn & Suites
Bangor Inn & Suites
#5 of 26 in Bangor
530 reviews
10.5 km away
Best Western White House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Quality Inn Bangor Airport
2.7 km away
Brewer and Village Green Motor Inn
6.1 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#18 of 26 in Bangor
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Motel

Address: 649 N Main St, Rt 9, Brewer, ME 04412-1296
Region: United States > Maine > Brewer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Brewer
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family owned and operated for over 37 years. Exceptionally clean and comfortable rooms with various sizes to meet your needs. Efficiencies available with full kitchens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Brewer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing