We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood”

The Thistle Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A piece of authentic Maine history, The Thistle Inn still stands as a place to gather and celebrate what makes life all the more worth living: great food, great company, and a home away from home. Originally built in 1861 for a prominent sea captain, our restaurant and Inn embody the unique period character of Maine’s past, with updated fixtures for modern comfort. From our seaside favorites to our world-class wine list, our menu is an exploration of classic coastal cuisine prepared with nature’s freshest ingredients. Guests looking to extend their visit will find six different lodging options at their fingertips, and the best of Boothbay Harbor just a short walk from their quarters. Whether it’s a meal that brings you to us, or an escape to our quaint Inn, we invite you to relax, stay awhile, and soak up some true downeast hospitality.
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Had the crab cakes to start which were really good, accompanied by a cheffy splash of seafood mayo and a tomato compote.

Then the lobster paella which was a fine dining take on paella but with a spicy and creamy tomato and chorizo sauce.

Followed by baked cheesecake with blueberry sauce.

Ate too much but Devine!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank R10RPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

The owner of Browns suggested eating here because her place is closed on Thursday nights. We wound up eating here twice. It is a small restaurant in a B & B in downtown Booth Bay Harbor. We found the food to be excellent, the service great and the ambiance wonderful. If we make it back to Booth Bay Harbor we definitely are eating here.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank ijloewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We really enjoyed our dining experience at the Thistle. The individual dining rooms create a nice, intimate atmosphere. The menu, although not too extensive, provided a nice selection of dishes. I particularly enjoyed the Lazy Lobster, it was absolutely delicious. We would highly recommend the Thistle.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank bobbiesoxer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

There is new ownership. This has always been the spot for fine dining in Boothbay Harbor. It still has fine food but has changed the minu to attract a broader clientele. Not as many upscale dishes as before but still very good. More things like pizza and kid foods for the whole family. The outdoor deck is still a great place to dine in good weather. All in all still a favorite. Family friendly is good thing but some people may prefer the old atmosphere. Great bar like an old colonial pub with good drinks and service. The service overall was very good. The prices are still higher than others.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank travelerone_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

This was our Anniversary dinner on vacation. This was the second time we ate here. The restaurant was very accommodating in changing our table from a smaller table for 4 to a little larger table in the cozy dining room. Apps and main entree were just as good as the first time we were there. When in Boothbay next time, we'll stop in again.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thistle Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Thistle Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing