We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Good Prices”
Review of Dunton's Doghouse

Dunton's Doghouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 July 2018

I had researched resturants on TA prior to our trip to Boothbay. This one seemed like a great alternative if we were going to want something besides seafood. When we went here for lunch we were still interested in lobster and seafood. My husband had his first lobster roll here. It was good, he ordered it without mayo and as it turned out he liked the mayo based lobster rolls better. You never know until you try it different ways, especially when your an inexperienced mid-westerner. There was outside seating and the service was great. We thought the prices were reasonable. They were doing a good business, lots of locals.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank MoMema93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

When searching for specialty food, locals can and often do give the best advice. We stopped and asked where the best lobster rolls could be found and they recommended Dunton's Doghouse. Strange name for a place serving lobster rolls but we decided to give it a try. After driving by it once, we circled back around and finally found and and parked---not always easy to do here.The food was good but some of the staff were a bit salty but hell, I was here for the food and not a personality contest. Enjoyable food and worth coming back to next time in the area.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Sometimes you just don’t want the hassle of waiting to be seated and waiting for your food and waiting for your check...at traditional sit-down restaraunts. Dunton’s fits the bill! Simple and delicious. Quick service, standard fare....burgers, dogs, fries etc. It’s tucked out of the way just outside of town and well worth the visit. Outside seating- picnic tables- not fancy but gets the job done! Been going to Boothbay Harbor for 30+ years and always make a stop a Duntons Dog House!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Have always loved the food, but the kid taking our order had an attitude problem. Not a great experience.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

good for a quick bite. Right near the water . Hamburgers are good, fish sandwiches are great. Neighborhood atmosphere

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunton's Doghouse also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Dunton's Doghouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing