We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
SEABROOK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get away”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had a very good experience at the Tug Boat Inn in Boothbay Harbor,Me. Very clean comfortable and cozy. The Restaurant was very good also. The people cleaning were very good and efficient. We had a tiny problem turning on the cable and the clerk came right down to assist us in getting it to work.

Overall a very good take and reasonable price for April.

Room Tip: We chose a room right on the pier and at the top had an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed our "very clean comfortable and cozy" rooms. We apologize for the cable, but we are happy it was fixed quickly for you. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank You Kindly, Travel Safely and Often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    152
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
97
226
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have stayed at the Tugboat Inn several times. Always great, especially the shower - water pressure is awesome. The resteraunt at the Inn is very nice - great waterviews. Only drawback is the room over the pub/bar. There is entertainment on weekends and the music comes right through the floor. Nice location -- walk to most places.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolate55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Front Office Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us several times. We have just 4 rooms that are effected by the music of the lounge. Mention that you have a hard time sleeping because of the music next time and we will tell you about the other rooms. We have rooms on the opposite end of the pier, we book them as tiny room large view. Or maybe you would like the Wharf Pier, still out over the water but away from the lounge. We do get a lot of compliments about our shower pressure. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights over Halloween. Nice location, park the car and walk. Wished we had stayed in the rooms on the pier overlooking the harbor, but our room overlooked the fishing docks and we watched, and heard the lobstermen leaving in their boats every morning.
The room had temperpedic matresses, was clean but dated.
The people in the office were very friendly but I wished they had offered us the room over the pier.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnecticutDivegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kalamazoo, mi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed at the Tugboat inn, in one of the rooms at the end of the pier. Right on the water, great view. Moderate price, the desk mentioned "it's small, and has a shower, no tub". Perfect! Very short walk to shops and restaurants, while still quiet, at the edge of all of the activity. Parking was right on the wharf. Restaurant was good, we did not eat there except for breakfast, but was full every night. Clean, and well-maintained.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rkpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I could not find any last minute rooms in the top 5 trip advisor rated B&B's and hotels in Boothbay Harbor. So, I decided to try my luck as a walk-in. I was walking around the town and as I was nearing the end of the town I noticed a bunch of hotels with good ocean views. I just popped into the first one - Tugboat Inn to check the availability. They had some & they showed me a room - which is not a Hilton or a Marriott room - but it had an irresistible view for the same price.

Location
-----------
The Hotel is right in Boothbay Harbor town but it is also away from the crowd & noise. It is situated at the Southern tip of the town facing the ocean. Boothbay is a small town and the town center is about 2-3minute walk from the hotel. So all the restaurants, boat rides, wharf etc. are all just walkable from the hotel. The town itself quiets down after 9/10PM and so it is very quiet around the hotel.

The Property is split into 5 buildings but right next to each other with many different room options. Some of the top recommended B&B's in TA are right next to this on a small hill.

Just to give an idea, a strip mall with Hannaford supermarket(grocery), a small movie theater and other shops are at the beginning of the town on the other end of the hotel. They are probably a mile away and it will be like a 20mts walk from the hotel.

Rooms & Amenities
-------------------------
The Room and bathroom was very basic but very clean. Do not expect an impeccable branded chain hotel room but it is definitely livable. I got the 1st level queen end room (#107) in the Tugboat Pier Building jutting over the water with big bay windows on almost 2 sides of the room. It had the uninterrupted view of the ocean filled with yachts & boats. I can just sit in the bed and watch all the boats go by.

Room itself had a queen bed with a small old model TV. It had a tiny bathroom with a shower & toilet. The sink itself was outside on the other side of the room. There were some bathroom amenities (Shower gel, moisturizer etc.), coffee maker and a small hair dryer. Yes, if you are nit-picky you will notice little stains in carpet, old furniture etc.

Parking is free in the hotel and it is very convenient as you do not have to drive around looking for parking in the town. Free Wi-Fi is offered but they do not guarantee that it will have a good signal everywhere on the property. But I can say it did work in my room which is kind of away from the central office.

I do like to add that the hotel is right in the harbor/marina area. So all the boats, yachts are anchored right next to the hotel and the rooms. In my case, there was a big yacht anchored next to my left side window. People were hanging out & drinking in the yacht, so I had to close my curtains on that side for privacy. Similarly, all the people staying in the boats anchored a little away from shore use their tiny motor boats to come ashore and they land right in front of this room. The room is on a stilt, so they cannot stand on the pier and watch us through the window. I would say that I did not hear any abnormal noises nor was I disturbed by any of these boats/yachts. Check out some of my pictures to get a better idea of the room. Also check out the end room photo in Tugboat Pier building (Building #2) in the hotel website.

Food
-------
There is an onsite restaurant and a lounge in the hotel. The main restaurant is built around an original Tugboat and so it is very noticeable. The morning free breakfast was provided here. The Restaurant was kind of nice with great views of the ocean. The Breakfast itself was very ordinary with just a few breads, croissant, Danish with coffee & juices. The lounge was on the first level with not so great ocean views, but it had live music in the evenings.

All the restaurants in town are very close by, walkable from the hotel, so you do not have to be tied to the on-site food options.


Overall, it was decent hotel in a small town with clean rooms and easy access to town center and all the restaurants. Personally, I would stay in this part of town around this hotel as this has great views and easy access to shops.

Room Tip: 1st level End rooms on Tugboat pier building are right over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxByTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
458 reviews
1.3 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
345 reviews
1.4 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
261 reviews
2.2 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
823 reviews
0.3 km away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Property: Tugboat Inn
Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,293 - ₹ 18,400
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing