We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and pretty”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful and pretty”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Brian and Ed have created rooms that are restful, homey, and spotless. They have thought of everything you could possibly need and have made it available. Corkscrews and wineglasses, hot water for assorted teas, cocoa, and coffee during the day, and a cookie jar with treats! The breakfasts are delicious! You can look out at the harbor from your room, rocking chairs on the porch, or adirondack chairs on the lawn. You can take a windjammer cruise, shop, tour Maine's botanic gardens, or just read on the porch and watch the lobster boats go out. This is THE quietest place where we have ever stayed. Would recommend it to our pickiest friends!

Room Tip: You can view each room on their website to choose what you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    64
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
116
703
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights last week at the end of our trip around New England and this was easily our favourite of all the places we stayed. The rooms are decorated in a modern style and are very modern. Breakfast was excellent and perfectly cooked and presented (specials included french toast with sausages and toasted muffins with ham and eggs).

The inn is at the top of a hill, with views over the town and out to sea. It was only a couple of minutes walk to all the shops and restaurants and the sea front.

What really made this special was the helpfulness of our hosts and all the little extras they provided - tea and coffee always available, snacks, umbrellas etc. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyflyer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Ga.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Brian and Ed do a great job of running the Topside Inn Bed and Breakfast. The breakfast is delicious and is a full breakfast. The inn is imaculate. We would recommend the inn to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We couldn't have been happier with our choice for our Boothbay Harbor visit. The Inn was located close to the shops and restaurants in the village and was only a couple of blocks from the footbridge. There was plenty of room to park our car.

The room was clean and attractive. We had a view from the balcony as well as through a large window.

The food was delicious. The innkeepers, Ed and Brian, made sure our stay was pleasant.

I highly recommend the Topside Inn.

Room Tip: Room 14 had an amazing view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texcobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The Topside Inn was everything one could want in a b&b. The room was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious---freshly prepared and served to you. The view was lovely. The owners have thought of everything you could need or want---snacks when you need one, umbrellas when it is raining, sunscreen if you forgot it, books and good magazines in the main house, etc., etc. On their web site you can look at the individual rooms and pick the room you want.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
447 reviews
0.2 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
471 reviews
1.3 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
670 reviews
2.4 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
875 reviews
0.1 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Property: Topside Inn
Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,986 - ₹ 17,718
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing