We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality - highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Bethel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2018

While our room was in need of modernisation, it was perfect for our needs. Our hosts, John and Jeanette, couldn’t have been more lovely. Breakfast was a real treat and freshly baked cakes were left out for us to help ourselves every afternoon. We really appreciated Jeanette ‘fattening us up’ as the temperature dipped to a bone chilling -20 and we needed the calories!! Recommended for families with young children.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank abyhawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_and_Jeanette, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and especially Jeanette's cooking. :-) We are constantly striving to improve the rooms while still maintaining the Inn's Victorian charm, striking a balance between our must have modern conveniences (wifi of course) and the beautiful antiques. We sincerely hope you will stay with us if you are ever in Bethel again. Have a great winter!!

John & Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018

John and Jeanette the owners were born to run a B&B. They are attentive,considerate, genuinely nice people who go out of there way to help, with nothing being too much trouble for them. Its just a shame that the property is not up to there standards. We stayed in room 5. We were informed on arrival that our bathroom was being renovated which meant that we had a bathroom with no tiles or wallpaper or paint. This wasn’t a big deal only it would of been nice to have known this before arrival as we had paid for what we thought was a finished room. As there were only 2 rooms that could accommodate our party we were left with little choose but to grin and bear it. This was later compounded as we had a leaking bathroom ceiling with water pouring down from the shower in the room above ours. The other problem with the property was the heating system used. The house is heated from a central thermostat that fires the heating when the house reaches 63 degrees. This makes for random times when the heating comes on. We found that the oversized radiators would come on in the middle of the night making the rooms to hot to sleep in. It was -23 degrees during our stay and I had to open the bathroom window to cool the room down at 2am. We ended up turning the radiators off when we went to bed. Overall the hosts are excellent but they need to focus on the property not the finishing touches. We would of appreciated a climate controlled room and a finished bathroom over antique vases and decorative chairs.
Overall we wouldn’t stay here again unless the main property issues were addressed.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_and_Jeanette, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Hello Matt and thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having your family here from Wales and we are glad that you enjoyed parts of your stay and are very sorry that some aspects of it were less than you deserved. The updates to your bathroom were not completed prior to your arrival and for that we cannot apologize enough. As we mentioned, we had started the updates with ample time to complete them, and then had a very unexpectedly busy November and early December. None of that is your fault and the fact that your room updates were not finished is completely unacceptable. We are also very sorry for the water dripping from your ceiling on your next to last day. As we mentioned, this was only the second time this had happened, with the first time being only a few weeks earlier. We discovered during the first event that the problem was due to the specific construction of the bathroom floor in the room above you and only occurred if someone neglected to close the shower curtain properly during their shower. We are of course taking steps to correct the problem but, again, it happened during your stay and that is unacceptable. We do turn the thermostat down to 63 at night (higher of course during the day) and unfortunately it is a central thermostat since the Inn spent the first 80 years of its life as a single family residence. To our knowledge the radiators are standard size for the area, and with steam radiators there are unfortunately fluctuations in temperature from room to room which is why we keep portable heaters on hand in case the room temperature is not to someone's liking. We had placed one of these heaters in your room at the start of your stay and said you were welcome to shut the radiators off and just use the portable heater if you needed to. We thought that would allow you to control the heat to your liking. If we had known it was still uncomfortable for you we would have taken any steps necessary to correct the problem. We can assure you that the property and its upkeep are our primary concern next to the comfort of our guests. The finishing touches were either already in place when we purchased the Inn, or were added immediately after our arrival before the issues mentioned above had occurred. We truly enjoyed meeting and getting to know you and your wife and son. As we said above, the comfort of our guests is our primary concern and we cannot tell you how sorry we are that you did not have a better experience here with us. The updates to your room will be completed in the next week and we sincerely hope if you are ever in Maine again you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you and give you the experience you deserve. Have a wonderful New Year!

John & Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Our first visit to this lovely, welcoming B&B. Conveniently located on the quiet Main Street close to the Maine Mineral and Gem Museum and several restaurants. Our hosts John and Jeanette helped up feel right at home, our upstairs room was quiet and comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious. Late afternoon/evening snacks were a surprise treat. We also enjoyed evening time in the pleasant living room reading and relaxing. We stayed two nights--one as a stopover on our way to Vermont, and the second on our return.
Bethel is a nice small town and a pleasant place to walk. We plan to return to Holidae House and explore more of the surrounding area.
Eleanor & Clint, Downeast Maine

Room Tip: Our upstairs front corner room was very quiet, but I think all would be equally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ebjohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John_and_Jeanette, Owner at Holidae House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you so much Eleanor Clint! It was a pleasure having you both here and we are so glad you enjoyed your stays with us. We hope to see you again on your next excursion to Vermont. Thanks again and have a Happy New Year!

John & Jeanette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

This is long overdue. Instead of flying to Europe, we decided to drive from our home in North Carolina, up to Maine to visit relatives and had several "bucket list" places to see, including Mt. Washington. While driving west from Augusta, we happened to stop for the evening in Bethel, and when I saw the Holidae House, I walked right in, and called John as instructed on the counter. He came from the back, welcomed me and my wife inside, gave us the tour, and we couldn't wait to check-in. We had never stayed at a B&B, and this was the greatest intro to a B&B stay we could ever imagine. John and Jeanette were like family and made us feel like we were at home with everything we needed. John even helped me carry our luggage from the car up to room #1, got us settled in, and the next morning, the breakfast was made from scratch and the atmosphere with the other guests was warm and friendly. We announced having to check out after our morning stroll, and upon our final departure, Jeanette prepared us a small snack for the road. Couldn't have had a more pleasant stay at a moment's notice. Thank you so much. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PeteRuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Holidae House is well located on Main Street and the hosts provide a high level of hospitality.

We were in room #5 at the front of the house. Had some initial concerns about having a noisy room, but it was very quiet. The bed was a bit firm for our tastes, but that a good quality mattress.

The breakfast was fine, although not the gourmet meal we were expecting. It was french toast with baked apples on top with a sausage patty. There were several evening snacks including cherry brownies that were delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelTalk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
0.5 km away
The Bethel Inn Resort
1.6 km away
The Jolly Drayman at The Briar Lea Inn
0.2 km away
The Victoria Inn
The Victoria Inn
#9 of 16 in Bethel
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
The Inn at the Rostay
The Inn at the Rostay
#4 of 16 in Bethel
173 reviews
0.4 km away
Chapman Inn
Chapman Inn
#8 of 16 in Bethel
190 reviews
31.9 km away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidae House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidae House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 85 Main St, PO Box 475, Bethel, ME 04217-4016 (Formerly Holidae House B&B)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bethel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bethel
Price Range: ₹ 9,462 - ₹ 11,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holidae House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your soft landing awaits with a restorative stay at the Holidae House Bed & Breakfast located in the center of quaint downtown Bethel, Maine. Fluffy and oh-so-comfortable, the white towels, comforters, sheets and draperies are of posh hotel quality and the embodiment of luxury in contemporary bath, body and bedding amenities. Sublime sleep is achieved complements of comfortable temperature controlled rooms for healthy, happy slumbers. For the ultimate in at-home coziness, the Holidae House B&B is sure to bring you many sweet dreams, timeless memories and a yearning desire to return for more. Comfy mattresses, elegant bed-dressings, beautiful silver tea trays, oriental rugs and carpets invite guests to relax in the well-appointed rooms. Each room has its own private bath, some with showers only and others with full bath tub and shower. Enjoy a delicious, home cooked gourmet breakfast during your stay with us. Start your day off with Jeanette's creations including Cream Cheese Stuffed French Toast with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries, Made From Scratch Blueberry Pancakes, Apple Cinnamon French Toast and others. We use free range organic eggs and maple syrup, both sourced locally. We also pick our own blueberries and apples and use them as long as the supply lasts. Jeanette's fresh baked breads are used in many of our breakfasts. For coffee lovers we grind beans each morning to provide you with the freshest coffee possible, and we even have decaf beans! For tea lovers we offer over 20 Twinings Teas, including black, herbal and green teas. We also have hot chocolate and spiced apple cider packets. A selection of juices is offered including orange, grapefruit and grape. Fresh fruit is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holidae House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holidae House Bed & Breakfast Bethel, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing