We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
246
165
51
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
165
51
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffles great view indoor pool room was clean massage chair king suite complimentary breakfast adirondack chairs on site restaurant third floor view of the bay hard boiled eggs sitting room would stay here again off season sit outside enjoy the view
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017

This was our third or fourth stay here. We travel with our dogs, and this hotel welcomes well behaved pets. The hotel featured a long, sloping lawn that runs down to an inland cove. We walk our dogs and play frisbee with them out on the lawn which is a treat. The hotel seems a bit freshened up since our last visit. It is well kept and well managed. Our room was not large but featured two queen beds which were outfitted with fresh white sheets and pillows that felt like pure luxury. The room had a Keurig coffee machine for our use. The hotel provides a decent complimentary breakfast that included eggs, sausage, waffles, rolls, and coffee and tea, served in a spacious dining room. This is a good, reasonably priced hotel to stay in, especially during the off-season in Maine.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms allow you to walk right out onto the lawn and down to the water.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MontpelierGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed description of our hotel. Yes, we accept well-behaved pets...and humans. We have never had a dog attempt to sneak a smoke in one of our rooms (it's very bad for their little lungs). We've never had to evict a dog for bad behaviour.
Seriously, thank you for returning, We hope that you and your furry friends enjoy your visits for many years to come.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We stayed here twice this year (July and September) - in the area for weddings. The decor is not modern interior designer - its a comfortable middle America type of place. Its comfortable and clean, the view from anywhere in the hotel is spectacular, the staff are friendly and helpful, the indoor pool and hot tub are very nice and a great breakfast tops it all off.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank litraveler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry_Asalone, General Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Thank you for writing and for your repeat visits here. We hope that you don't just wait for weddings to visit us. Eventually all your friends will be married. We look forward to serving you at other times.
Thanks again for writing.
Sincerely,
Barry Asalone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Although our reception by the registration desk was not too engaging when we arrived, we were very excited when we checked in and saw the great views. However, a noisy A/C unit compressor all night had us being kept awake and finally turning it off and sleeping with an open window - with a hole in the screen. Left a note for the manager at the front desk and have never has a response. We'll spend our $150+ on another place next time.

Room Tip: Stay on the lwater side if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a Fall trip in Maine. The view of the bay is beautiful. The hotel is outdated. The rooms have Keurig coffee makers. The staff is very courteous. The breakfast is so so. It's good for a one night stay if you're passing through the area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank E_H55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed a night here for work. The room was plenty big with 2 queen beds. The bathroom was sufficient with plenty of counter space. The tv was great and had a mini fridge and microwave. However, when it came time to shower in the morning, the shower was not very hot. I don't know if that is normal or if it was just running out of hot water. The views from my room however were awesome. I was on the 1st floor. I had a door that went on a patio and had great ocean views. All the rooms are facing the ocean. This is a great set up. Breakfast area also had good views and a balcony you could walk out onto and eat outside. The free continental breakfast had a good variety with your hot waffle maker, and 2 hot items, fruit, cereals, breads and pastries, along with juice and milk. Overall, this was a good stay. They just need to fix the shower situation.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews