We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
36
26
13
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
36
26
13
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2019

I was just looking a place to stay for the night, while traveling, so a 2-star rated place with low rates was on my radar. After checking out an absolute dump just a half mile up the road, I was fortunate to have driven down the road to find the Gull Motel.

It's an older property, but well maintained, the Gull throws off a retro vibe, which I found charming and relaxing.

My room was small, and the bathroom tiny. But it was all I needed. Everything was clean and tidy, and there was a small table with chairs outside, in front of the room.

The room has a large fridge, and a microwave. No coffeemaker, though. As an early riser, I couldn't wait until the lobby opened at 7 am.

The Gull is located on busy Route 1, and you can catch a view of the water across the highway. It's located just minutes from the downtown district of Belfast, which is a perfectly lovely place to walk around. I spent some time in town that night and the next morning.

The proprietor told me there is a foot bridge within walking distance that leads across the river to the shipyard area, but I didn't have a chance to check that out. Nice fellow, by the way.

I can certainly recommend the Gull Motel to travelers.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheWesternRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2019

Conveniently just outside of Belfast, the price was reasonable. The office is open only 'til 9:00 pm, so plan accordingly. The motel is old but well maintained. The owners are pleasant and accommodating. I would stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Curt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2019

It is an old, small motel, but it is clean and well maintained. Convienient parking just outside your door. The hotel is dog friendly. There is a quick grab and go breakfast. the room has a fridge and a microwave oven.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 122helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2019

The property is older but well kept. The location was Ok, on a main road just ten minutes away from town. The room was comfy; the AC pumped out the cold all through our stay which was one of the hottest in recent Belfast history, There were directions, a nice touch, on how to get the TV on and log into wifi. The bed was a bit hard, but if you're out in the heat at a festival all day, you can sleep on anything. We stayed in one of only two upstairs rooms which may have to our negative review.
The shower was terrible!! No matter how much time you took to balance out the flow between the hot and cold knobs, it continued to oscillate, without warning, to a scalding hot shower which you couldn't stand, to thirty seconds or so of a pleasant temp and then down to the coldest water I've ever felt. Showers took much longer than usual because you were in for a few seconds, then out for a minute until it worked through the temperature cycle between too hot to stand it and then it went to too cold. All of the temp changes happened without touching either of the knobs!
I'm considering trying to find out what government agency in Maine handles lodging regulations and complaining that it is a scalding hazard and should be shutdown to prevent serious burns to a future guest!

Room tip: Book early to get a downstairs room!
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2019 via mobile

This a nice little drive up motel. Reception was very pleasant
and the rate was reasonable. The rooms are clean and have amenities, fridge microwave. It is on highway 1 so access is easy. You will have to drive to restaurants or grocery stores.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Relic6241
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews