We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN White House Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Bangor
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, Maine
1 review
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was the best place I have stayed ! The staff on the front desk was really great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol6215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehouse3737, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate hearing that you did. Please come back and stay with us again. Our outdoor heated pool is now open and temperature is about 84 degrees currently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    212
    86
    30
    18
See reviews for
265
282
37
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, NB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Best Western White House; April 6 – 7.

The way to describe the location in kind of contradictory; What’s nice is the fact that it’s very easy access from and to the I-95 and it’s located next to a Dysart’s truck stop (well known for their home cooked meals). On the down side the area seems a bit industrial-farming and isolated. That being said, Bangor is not very big and you can get to anywhere within 10 minutes. So, I wouldn’t not recommend this hotel based on location, as these were very minor gripes.

The building itself plays the theme (a bit cheesy in my mind) of the President’s home in Washington. In some spots it does show some age, but in others it has been remodelled very nicely (very nice finishing work). Example: bar = very outdated, rooms = nicely updated. The Best Western White House is a hotel/motel style with a lobby to check-in and halls connected to your room, but we could also access through the parking direct outside.

Our room seemed to have been recently renovated and was very clean. We had two queen beds that were quite comfortable, a choice of soft or harder pillows and the linens were of pretty good quality – great nights rest! Being three guests in our room; it was nice that the sink/vanity was outside the shower/toilet area. The only negative about the room was the water temperature control in the shower – first, the knob is extremely sensitive and two, the temperature would easily fluctuate which could make for some uncomfortable moments…

We were excited to see that they had a nicely equipped gym: Treadmill, elliptical, stationary bike, weights and an all-in-one weight machine. We had a great workout on the cardio machines only to find out that the all-in-one was broken down. I must apologize for not alerting the front desk, I totally forgot. I would say it’s a great little gym when all things are working properly.

We did not get a chance to use the spa (large hot tub), but visited quickly and I must say it was quite large and did look very clean and relaxing.

The complimentary hot continental breakfast was great. There was definitely enough selection for all to fill their bellies – yogurt, three kinds of cereal (skim or regular milk), oatmeal, eggs, toast, fruit (apple, orange strawberry), waffles, etc. Staff also offered a special touch on Easter day. If nothing fancies your appetite check out Dysart’s next door…

Overall, the hotel easily deserves its 2½ star rating it had when we booked through Hotwire.com. We have no problem giving this location a 3 star out 5. We have no problem staying here again on our next stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank degrace26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehouse3737, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back. Our outdoor heated pool will be opening mid May and is a great way to unwind after a long day of travel. I am glad that you enjoyed the renovations to the rooms. We will be upgrading more items as the year progresses.

We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooks, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I had the best experience at the White House Inn again, I wouldnt even consider staying anywhere else in the Bangor area for the hospitality I get when going to this Hotel. Im recognized by the name of the reservation and greeted with helpful and kind words. The staff is always wiling to help with whatever the need may be. My room again was very clean with an extra blanket in the closet for those cold Maine nights. Dysarts, which is just in front of the Hotel delivers a great, healthy proportion of a close to home cooked meal. I have say that for the rate of the room and the great breakfast in the morning, you just cant beat it!

Room Tip: I understand they have suites for the special occasion, and the smoker can still smoke here, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehouse3737, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Inn, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are so glad to hear that you will be back. Our staff works hard to provide clean rooms and superior customer service and love to hear when we have succeeded. Hope you have a great spring and we look forward to welcoming you home on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We recently spent a night at this hotel because if you are from Halifax, it is where you are told to stay. I will not do it again. The online booking system oversold me a room with 3 beds when I was a parent travelling with 3 teenagers - 2 doubles was all I needed. When we arrived at 9 pm, the clerk was on the verge of openly hostile. The rooms are old and while clean, there is a smell which one teenager (accurately) described as "hospital". The breakfast in the morning was not great - cold eggs, scary looking hash, no fruit, no yogourt. This may seem overly negative, and I will say that the morning staff seemed much more pleasant, but the experience the night before really just put me off. I wont be back. There are places closer to the Bangor mall I can try.

Room Tip: Call dont try the online booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatima1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehouse3737, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize that you were not happy with the room you chose online. As we were full on the date of your stay, this may have been the only room with two or more beds available the night of your stay to accomodate your party. This is a very popular room with families such as yours as it is a large room with the three queen size beds.

The rooms were all recently updated in April 2011. The hospital smell was probably the smell of the Mr. Clean pine cleaner that is used to clean the rooms. It does give the rooms that freshly cleaned smell. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast we serve in the morning. It is a rotating breakfast so that we have different items each day for our guests who stay more than one day. Yogurt is offered every day along with apples, oranges and strawberries for the make your own waffles. You must of been here on the day we offer corned beef hash which is very popular with our guests. I am not sure if you tried it or not but it is very good if you enjoy corned beef hash.

I hope you had the chance to enjoy the large indoor hot tub and the 24 hour exercise room. Our outdoor heated pool will be opening up in a couple of months and I hope you can come back and enjoy it on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Every time we come to Maine, we always stay at the Best Western White House. The hotel is very clean, quiet and the staff is super friendly. They always go above and beyond to make sure that our stay is enjoyable. They have an extensive breakfast selection in the mornings, fresh brewed coffee available 24/7 & the daily fresh baked cookies located at the front desk are delicious! The hotel is conveniently located off 95 and even better....they are located next to Dysarts, who has the best homemade food. They will even deliver right to your room. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehouse3737, Manager at BEST WESTERN White House Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for being a frequent guest of ours. We are so glad that you always enjoy your stay with us. The cookies are wonderful at check in and they are made by the restaurant you mentioned. I am glad that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
11.9 km away
The Country Inn at the Mall
12.2 km away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
974 reviews
12.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Bangor
11.5 km away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
572 reviews
6.8 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Bangor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN White House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN White House Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN White House Inn
Address: 155 Littlefield Avenue, Bangor, ME 04401-7206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bangor
#6 Family Hotel in Bangor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bangor
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,765 - ₹ 12,566
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN White House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial-style 3-story Motor Inn located at I-95 exit 44, 3 miles south of city center & 6 miles from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN White House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western White House Hotel Bangor
Best Western White Hotel
Best Western Bangor
Bangor Best Western
BEST WESTERN White House Inn Bangor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing