We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon!”
Review of Shadetree Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Francisville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shadetree Inn
Ponchatoula, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Honeymoon!”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Date of stay: 1/18/2012

This property is incredible. It is exceptionally peaceful, quiet, and beautiful. My husband and I stayed in the Gardeners Cottage. It has a bedroom suite, changing closet and storage area, separate living/seating area, large bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub for two with a detachable shower head for bathing.

K.W. was a terrific host. He provided everything we needed for a quiet, relaxing honeymoon. When we arrived there was champagne chilled on ice, candles, snacks and foods for breakfast. The mini fridge is under the cabinet, hidden out of view as not to spoil the look of the room. Our foods included home made cookies, banana nut muffins, blueberry muffins, English muffins, fresh bananas, cereal, and amazing cheese dip appetizer ready for heating in the fridge ( with butter crackers for serving ) In the fridge there was yogurt, fresh orange juice, milk, butter, jam, cold water, and three blends of Community Coffee ( Dark, Medium, and Decaf) There is a coffee maker, and toaster for your goods. Also there are plates, dishes, silverware, assortment of cocktail glasses, bottle opener, can opener, ect.

There is a selection of books and music in the seating area. Windows surround the entire room, so yo can watch the wildlife from the warmth of the sofa, or outside on the porch on the rocking chairs. There are several stained glass windows throughout the cottage. The large stained glass window in the bedroom has a light behind it, and it shines beautifully at night. The stained glass window over the sink in the bathroom has a shutter, and when you close it, the shutter faces convert into a mirror. I loved that. Then when you are done with the mirror, you can open the shutters again to reveal the beautiful stained glass behind it.

In the bathroom the Jacuzzi for two is VERY spacious, and just as relaxing. K.W. provides bath salts for a long, peaceful soak. There is also an overhead heater for your Jacuzzi soak, it kept us very warm while soaking in the tub. Also in the bath area, there is a storage closet with extra towels, facecloths, iron, clothing hangers, and a hairdryer. K.W. also provides soaps, shampoo/conditioner, matches for candles as well. The toilet is in it's own room within the bathroom.

The cottage was very clean, and well kept all the way around.

K.W. built us a fire outside in the fire pit. We went off for dinner, and when we returned, we enjoyed our fire. He left a lighter, and ample lighter fluid to get our fire roaring. Also, at night he turns on the lights that decorate the cottage, and the lantern on the picnic table near the swing and fire pit.

There were a number of deer along the hillside that we were watching, not 15 feet from us.There were at least 10 of them. My husband asked K.W. for a flashlight so we could get a better look at them. Their eyes reflected back a bright blue, so they were easy to count. You could hear them walking through the brush. It was amazing. The night was crystal clear, so the stars were out in their full glory. It was so quiet, and peaceful... it was quite romantic.
That night we heard an owl calling, and other wildlife communicating too. We loved it.

The next day we walked down the hill side. There is a swamp area down there that was awesome to explore. Wild strawberries are growing out there, and the deer tracks were well visible in the daylight in the soft ground. There is a set of stone steps near the hammock that you can walk down, and a moderately steep hill to walk down to get to that area. If you can't walk down there, there is actually an entrance to the area, from the street that you can drive down to get to.

Let's put it this way... we didn't want to leave. It was incredible. K.W. thought of everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. He is such a nice person, and when you talk to him, it feels like you've know him forever. I would highly recommend this place for romantic getaways, reconnecting with your partner, rest and relaxation from the city, an anniversary, honeymoons, or just plan ANYTHING.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

How to describe the Shade Tree Inn..think of an adult version of summer camp with all of the modern amenities! The proprietor and unofficial camp counselor, KW, is a very approachable and knowledgeable guy. There are many activities available on the property to occupy your time, such as bike riding, hiking, animal watching (deer, birds, etc) or the huge rope swing. Conversely, if you want to relax on your own, the various porches and sitting stoops are available too. While staying in this sleepy little spot, it conjures up feelings of contentment and nostalgia that remind you what it was like to "relax" when you were a child. It was the Angola rodeo that brought us from various parts of the US to St.Francisville, but the Shade Tree Inn will bring us back once more! Thanks KW!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travel3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We had a wonderful weekend at the Sun Porch Cottage at the Shadetree. The Shadetree is located very close to the main areas of town but sits on a little hilltop on the corner of a quiet street in the historic district. It was a relaxing, peaceful and romantic getaway. There was no check-in or check-out - the key was left in the door for us. We were so pleased with all of the extra touches that made our visit so special. The suite of rooms were comfortable, clean, well maintained, and spacious. There is a table in the kitchen where you can enjoy delicious treats that are left for you (and restocked the next day) - yummy cookies, a cheese dip appetizer, and our favorite – lemon poppyseed and banana nut muffins. The fridge was stocked with a bottle of wine and cocktails, as well as other beverages and yogurt to enjoy with breakfast. There is also a small tv in the kitchen. The bedroom has a king-sized bed with comfortable linens, candles and chocolate on the side tables – very cozy and romantic. There is a short hallway that leads to the bathroom, which has a large Jacuzzi tub and wonderful bath products. The porch in the back has a nice-sized sitting area with an overhead fan. The views from the porch were so beautiful – it was such a quiet and tranquil setting. We loved everything about our stay at the Shadetree - it was the perfect romantic retreat!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank dawnNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This place wins hands down for one of the most romantic and private getaways my wife and I have ever been to. We've been going at least once a year for many years now and the place is always gorgeous and well-kept with many amenities and a great service staff. The price still remains the same as it was the first time we went almost 10 years ago, so in today's market, it's quite the bargain!

Room Tip: For weekends, reserve a couple months in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelinman021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This is a great place to stay if you like some privacy with wonderful indoor and outdoor spaces. My husband and I stayed at the Shadetree Inn while on a trip to St. Francisville & Natchez. It is on a bluff right at the edge of the historic district. We stayed in the Gardeners Cottage which has 2 rooms, jacuzzi tub, king bed, mini-kitchen, a porch with rocking chairs and plenty of charm. It was during the Mississippi River flood stage - we were high and dry but the flooded areas were only a short distance away. The host, K.W., was very friendly and was at the property during the morning and evening. We have been to many B&B's and would rate this one of the best.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DustyBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francisville
2.6 km away
Best Western St. Francisville Hotel
Best Western St. Francisville Ho...
#1 of 3 in Saint Francisville
224 reviews
26.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Baton Rouge North
22.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Zachary
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 km away
Best Western Zachary Inn
35.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Baton Rouge Airport
38.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baton Rouge/Port Allen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadetree Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadetree Inn

Property: Shadetree Inn
Address: 9704 Royal St, corner of Ferdinand Street, Saint Francisville, LA 70775-4325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Saint Francisville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francisville
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,136 - ₹ 12,595
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Shadetree Hotel Saint Francisville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing