We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
max736
Brisbane, Australia

Overall good experience

Review of Sy's Homestay
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Jan 2024
We had an enjoyable stay though there were a few problems along the way. Good points - the room was comfortable, A/C and wifi were strong, dinner is available on site, the location was near to town and had a nice view of the rice fields and mountains. Also the laundry service was very reasonably priced and very quick. Bad points - breakfast was tiny, bathroom wasn't totally clean, our taxi pickup was not waiting when we arrived at the train station, and the scooters we were rented were of low quality (gas tank on empty, speedometer doesn't work, suspension broken etc). I would suggest the homestay fix up their scooters and give larger breakfasts!
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: You can get a grab car from Dong Hoi for cheaper than a regular taxi
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹9,945
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹10,299
  • Agoda.com
    ₹8,356
  • Priceline
    ₹10,308
2.6 km from Sy's Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹1,487
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    ₹1,486
  • Vio.com
    ₹1,487
  • Expedia.com
4.1 km from Sy's Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹2,147
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    ₹1,340
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Sy's Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹1,843
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₹1,844
  • Expedia.com
    ₹1,604
  • Hotels.com
    ₹1,605
1.6 km from Sy's Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹1,619
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₹1,618
  • Agoda.com
    ₹1,120
  • Expedia.com
    ₹1,320
1.5 km from Sy's Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹1,488
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    ₹1,448
1.6 km from Sy's Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹1,982
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₹1,982
  • Agoda.com
    ₹1,982
4.6 km from Sy's Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹4,100
No booking fees
  • eDreams
6.7 km from Sy's Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹2,147
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₹789
  • Expedia.com
    ₹1,188
4.2 km from Sy's Homestay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    ₹1,177
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
6.6 km from Sy's Homestay
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Phong Nha-Ke Bang National Park
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
112
16
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
112
16
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews min bike ride dong hoi queen bed excellent hosts rice limestone mountains the bus home stay air conditioning field tours pickup background hire hue cave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2023 via mobile

We knew we had a good stay from the moment we were on the phone with him and he offered to pick us up from the bus station at 4 am in the morning.

the room was very clean bed was very nice with air conditioning and a clean bathroom.

The area is very nice with a lovely view of a rice field with limestone mountains in the background and very close to the city. Very affordable and very accommodating.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 674lukeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2023 via mobile

The hosts Sy and Huyen were fantastic and so helpful. They organised a car pick up from Dong Hoi and a transfer to Hue, advised about cave tours and booked one for us at 9pm for a 8am pickup the next day. There were free bikes to use (basic, but fine) and mopeds for hire. The food was delicious and the location was wonderful - in the middle of rice paddies with a view of the mountains. Just a 10 min bike ride into the main part of town. Our family room (queen bed and two bunk beds) was very big and comfortable. The shower facilities were basic and the hot water ran out quickly, but it wasn’t a big deal. This is a great place with excellent hosts and just far enough away from the town to make it peaceful and relaxing.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anntimg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2021 via mobile

Excellent stay, highly recommend. The rooms are homey and spacious and the views breathtaking! The location is also perfect for sightseeing and getting into town. Sy and his family were generous and incredibly accommodating during my stay in Phong Nha. They came to pick me up at 4 in the morning when there were no other busses running and saw me off to my next destination when the bus was an hour and a half late. I felt welcome and taken care of my entire stay and the hosts were always happy to assist when we had questions or needed help. I will definitely stay at Sy's Homestay again.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Lindsayjc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 January 2021

We just had 6 terrific nights at Sy’s Homestay. We are a family with 3 kids and the room was perfect for us. Comfortable beds, aircon, fan, large shower and great views! They packed our breakfast when we asked, arranged a super friendly driver and more.

We had dinner almost every night and we are grateful for it - large portions made with heart and so tasty! Owned by a very nice family, they accommodate everything we needed. We rode their bicycles daily and got tips from them.

The place resides in the middle of rice fields and evenings are splendid. Lots of walks around and the town is just 2km away. They have a pool but it was too cold for us to swim (kids tried).

A place to come back to.

Room tip: All rooms have great views and are pretty much identical.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy_CACC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

Wonderful and peacefull place.
Near by the center of Phong Nha.
You can borrow a bicycle for free and explore the center.
Room was very cozy and value for money.
Owner's was so friendly and they can help you to book a tour at the national park.
I suggest this place to stay!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank EiriniTakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews