We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in the Bayou!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breaux Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Isabelle Inn Bed & Breakfast
Huntington Beach
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bliss in the Bayou!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

There cannot be a more delightful spot on earth than this Garden-of-Eden style Inn, where one can sip wine and sample delightful appetizers with friends on the balcony, overviewing the vast estate, from the verdant green lawns and flowerbeds to the sparkling pond (complete with alligator) to the salt-water pool and jacuzzi and beyond to the Bayou Teche. Giant moss-draped trees complete the picture of paradise!

I met up with 2 friends from outlying areas for a girls' getaway, and our stay began with the most gracious southern-style greeting, setting us immediately at ease. The grand rooms of this plantation-style home are decorated to the period of the old south, and high ceilings and wooden floors stretch throughout. The dining room is set for a king, with fine china and crystal, where we delighted on the most delectible breakfast I've experienced at an inn in the USA. The place attracted a mix of interesting guests, from Switzerland to California beach towns to Arizona forest to New Orleans, allowing for interesting chat over breakfast. At the same time, the spaciousness of the inn and the front and back balconies and porch and tree swings afforded so many opportunities to escape and feel as though you are the only guests present.

The beds were beyond comfy, with the highest thread-count sheets I've experienced. This lovely estate, was spotless to 5 star standards, thanks to Allison's constant attention. Coffee and juice were set in the sun-room for early risers. Every little detail that one might imagine (or some you might not even think of) was provided or attended to. One could enjoy an hour just strolling around the inn and grounds, taking in all the special appointments. We were allowed to arrive early, and directed to Cafe Des Amis and other attractions and restaurants that were fine choices. The best tip was a swamp tour at Lake Martin by Champagne Swamp Tours, and for more, you may read my separate review.

Susan, the innkeeper/mother and her daughter, Allison, were such congenial hostesses, which greatly added to the stay. They are the embodiment of southern hospitality. I will definitely return, with my significant other, for a romantic getaway at this lovely spot, off in the wilds, yet near enough to Breaux Bridge to find food and entertainment. All of my friends are now clamoring to go, having heard of our enchanted get-away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tropicalsplendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
107
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
maastricht
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

What a joy!! If you need to be in the neighbourhood of Lafayette, this is the place to stay; on c est fait le detour. The location, the plantation house, rooms and hospitality are one out of a million. In room service and breakfast an experience on itself. All that in the hart of Cajun country.

From Breaux Brigde ideal location to visit the swamps (Champagne Tours), Avery Island (Tabasco) and Vermillionville(Historic Village).

Go and see for yourself.


Isabelle(whats in a name) & Lucas
The Netherlands

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenaa, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2012

All of us - six Danes plus 60 - enjoyed two wonderfull days and nights at Isabelle Inn.

We asked for help to find good, local Cajun music and were helped in a very nice manner. We had a very funny and interesting afternoon listening and dancing at the "Poussiere"!

The old house is a pearl and is well kept.

The Inn-keeper and the staff is charming and nice to to talk to.

The breakfast at Isabelle Inn is excellent. The best wee had in our entire stay in the US.

Go there and find out for yourselves!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ole Fjord N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Isabelle Inn for 2 nights in March and absolutely loved it. When we arrived, we were greeted by the dogs Jack and Stanley, who were adorable and very friendly. We were impressed by the beautiful house and gardens, especially with the Azaleas in full bloom. The inside of the house was absolutely gorgeous too. We stayed in the Karen room, which was spacious and clean with a comfortable queen size bed. There is a large, lockable, walk in wardrobe, as well as private access to the balcony through French doors and beautiful views across the back garden. There was a pool and hot tub that we didn't use but looked great. The first morning, everyone from the B&B went to Cafe Des Amis (within walking distance) for their Zydeco breakfast which was certainly an experience! We received a voucher from the B&B for this, which more than covered the cost of our breakfast. The second morning, we had a beautiful home-made breakfast. Allison and her mum and daughter were all really lovely and made us feel very welcome. I would definitely recommend this B&B, especially to couples.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here over Thanksgiving and had the whole place to ourselves. It was awesome! As soon as we arrived they made us instantly feel comfortable and welcome. They even brought up complimentary wine, fruit and cheese. The beds are extremely comfortable and the sheets smelled like flowers! Bathroom linens were also nice and plush.

I think our favorite part of our stay was breakfast. Definitely the best breakfast I've ever had a hotel or B&B. The bacon was so crisp and delicious, lemon and blueberry pancakes were WOW kind of good. Just thinking back about it now makes my mouth water!

A first class experience, super friendly, and amazing food. What more could you ask for ??

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breaux Bridge
2.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
14.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
14.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
10.9 km away
Bois Des Chenes Bed and Breakfast
1.4 km away
Maison des Amis
Maison des Amis
#7 of 7 in Breaux Bridge
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isabelle Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isabelle Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Isabelle Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1130 Berard St, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517-4813
Region: United States > Louisiana > Breaux Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Breaux Bridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,120 - ₹ 12,569
Hotel Class:3 star — Isabelle Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A showcase of architectural splendor! Isabelle Inn is a magnificent Bed & Breakfast located in Breaux Bridge, Louisiana. The Inn embraces the look and feel of a beautiful southern plantation, yet it was built as a family home in the early 1970's & offers all the amenities of a modern-day residence. It is our mission at Isabelle Inn to provide guests with a unique & wonderful experience worth remembering a lifetime, a memory that encapsulates charm, southern hospitality & a carefree, slow-paced moment in time. Come enjoy our lovely home on seven lush, tropical acres along Bayou Teche & we will treat you like family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing