We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!”
Review of Maison des Amis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maison des Amis
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We really enjoyed this house in Cajun country. It's not a typical B&B, in that the entire house is bedrooms and you eat at a little (fabulous) restaurant that is a 1-minute walk away. This means that you have a little more privacy than at typical B&Bs. Our rooms (we were travelling with our son and daughter-in-law) were clean and nicely appointed with private baths. I wish we could have stayed more than one night, but we waited until the last minute and there wasn't anything available for a second night. We really loved Maison Mes Amis, the breakfast at Chez Jacqueline was fabuous, and Breaux Bridge is a charming little town. If you want to explore Cajun country, this is a great base camp. Great location right in Breaux Bridge.

Room Tip: Double bed was a little tight for two people, but that was our fault--they have rooms with queen bed...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank econnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Maison des Amis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

Maison des Amis does some things really well - for example the breakfast voucher's a great bonus and enabled us to eat terrific food every morning at Chez Jacqueline's, a delightful little cafe/restaurant round the corner. Our room (Lemelle - Room 2) had a couple of really comfortable armchairs to relax in, the gazebo out on the Bayou's a lovely place to sit and we found the caretakers - Brenda and Russell - extremely helpful. And Breaux Bridge is an extraordinarily friendly, pleasant little town/big village.

But the downside is a real downer. This place could seriously do with some re-decoration and some TLC. The owner doesn't live locally - and it really shows. Our room had dirty scuffed paintwork, badly torn curtains and when we arrived, there was no drawer space in the chest-of-drawers which was full of sheets and towels (we were staying for 5 nights and really needed to unpack). 2 of the curtains started to come down during our stay and though Russell dealt with this straight away when we asked, it shouldn't really happen in a well-kept place. We didn't mind at all there not being an owner/B&B host on-site, we were expecting that and are independent, experienced travellers. But we felt the result is that the property feels uncared-for and run-down - ok for a low-cost, no-frills motel maybe but not what we'd have expected at this price and with some of the previous TA reviews.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojoDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zydecoqueen, Owner at Maison des Amis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

We are glad you were able to experience great Louisiana cuisine, found our staff to be extraordinarily friendly, were comfortable in the arm chairs in the Lemelle room and enjoyed our grounds and gazebo.

Even though the owner doesn't live in Breaux, Bridge, the house and grounds have a lot of TLC. When linens, towels and household items are damaged, these items are replaced instantly. However, when damage occurs to a room and it needs to be repainted, the room has to be taken out of the inventory for several days. Painting and other repairs have to be scheduled with our maintenance supervisor. New curtain alterations require the availability of our seamstress. Unfortunately, repairs were not able to be made before your stay. As we only have four rooms, when they are occupied we are not able to move guests to other rooms.

We are happy to report that after Mardi Gras, we were able to paint the Lemelle room and hang our new curtains. Also, our shipment of Comphy sheets arrived. We hope you will come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed here for four nights after spending a few days in New Orleans. Breaux Bridge is a lovely, friendly town in the heart of Cajun country. Maison des Amis is not really a B & B as neither the owner nor staff lives in the small single-storey house along Bayou Teche. We never even saw the caretakers, but spoke to them a couple of times. The rooms are very comfortable, and there is a stocked fridge in the common room, as well as snacks- a very thoughtful touch. The rooms also have a television.
The gazebo along the bayou is a wonderful place to relax and watch the water go by.
Rooms include a voucher for breakfast at Cafe des Amis or Chez Madeline, both of which offer wonderful meals. The Zyedco breakfast at Cafe des Amis is not to be missed; it is a real blast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGJ1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

As other reviews have said, not a B&B where you'll hang out with the owners and get travel tips. That was fine with us.

We decided to spend a Friday night in Breax Bridge specifically go to to the Cafe des Amis zydeco breakfast on Saturday. So the fact that we got breakfast there (I think it was up to $10/person value, which we went a bit over, but we ate very well and had mimosas!).

Great location for exploring Breaux Bridge. We spent the afternoon/early evening walking around town. Had dinner at Chez Jacqueline which was great. The B&B's breakfast vouchers are also good there, and I'm sure her breakfast is good too.

The B&B has a lovely backyard and a gazebo right on Bayou Teche. We enjoyed that quite a bit. Would like it even more when it wasn't so hot, I'm sure. It was July, after all.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shamalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

It's true that this is not a traditional B&B where you're interacting with and guided by a host, but my fellow guest and I still loved this place. Room was completely charming and wonderfully decorated. The house has been restored and the location is terrific, right on the bayou with a wonderful gazebo for reading or lazing by the water and in the shadow of the picturesque bridge for which the town is named. The inn is just around the corner from the town's main street which has a few restaurants (below) and antique shops. There's an enclosed porch that leads to a mini-kitchen where the fridge was stocked with snacks (yogurt, granola) and where we made complimentary microwave popcorn each night. Both the breakfast locations were fabulous for food and just around the corner: Chez Jacqueline and Cafe de Amis--I wouldn't have traded them for a 'breakfast at the inn'! We also went back to the latter for dinner, where we met some friendly locals who gave us suggestions for the music and such over the next few days. A plug for Breaux Bridge: we traveled all around the Cajun prairie and to Lafayette for Mardi Gras celebrations. Without a doubt, this was the most charming place of them all. Other towns, while musically rich, seemed a bit stark. This town held the most potential for a visitor, I felt. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank badgerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breaux Bridge
3.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Breaux Bridge
15.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
14.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
13.8 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette
11.8 km away
Bois Des Chenes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison des Amis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison des Amis

Address: 111 Washington St, Breaux Bridge, LA 70517-5141
Region: United States > Louisiana > Breaux Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Breaux Bridge
Price Range: ₹ 9,916 - ₹ 10,881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison des Amis 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Caribbean/Creole residence, Maison des Amis overlooks lush gardens, which lead to a charming white gazebo that sits over the legendary Bayou Teche. Built around 1870/1880 and known as the "Boudier" house, it is the oldest historic structure along with the "City Hotel." Completely restored in the mid 1990s and conveniently located in the downtown historic district of Breaux Bridge; one block from antique stores, gift shops, restaurants, and cafes. The inn consists of four guestrooms, each with its own private bath, antique furnishings and direct access to the porch overlooking the gardens and bayou. Famous Louisianan designers decorated the guestrooms. Each guestroom has high ceilings and old cypress long leaf pinewood floors, and is decorated with original art. Guests can relax in the glassed-in sun porch, stroll in the lush landscaped gardens or read the daily paper in the rattan rocking chairs in the gazebo. Complimentary beverages and daily maid service are provided with a personal touch. General tour information is available. Upon request, our manager can create a tailored tour to meet your personal needs.Guests receive a complimentary Cajun-style breakfast at the world famous Café des Amis restaurant or Chez Jacqueline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Maison des Amis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing