We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Horrible!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Richmond for one night on October 7th. It was a horrible experience. The air system in the room pulled in cigarette smoke from another room (staff at the front desk guessed it was from the room upstairs when we complained) and the smell was unbearable by morning. My husband woke up in the middle of the night trying to get his breath.

As always, Holiday Inn staff members smiled and said they were sorry but did not have the desire or skills to resolve the issue. A simple room change would have been appreciated.

The Holiday Inn chain just can't seem to move with the times. This is the second time in a month that a stay at a Holiday Inn has been miserable. Hyatt Place and Hilton Garden Inn seem to be much more customer oriented, cleaner, and more comfortable.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wombat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sima M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I apologize for the unsatisfactory service you received at our hotel. Unfortunately we had a full house and were unable to do a room move to alleviate the discomfort you encountered. We have since corrected the ventilation issue that you encountered during your stay. We value your business and sincerely appreciate your feedback. Honest feedback from our valued guests is what helps us to become a better hotel and serve our guests with complete satisfaction. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly should you call the hotel.

Sincerely,
Sima Maggan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    56
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
88
47
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mableton, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here after a UK football game. The drive to Lexington was quick and easy. This exit had a good number of hotels, shops, and restaurants. Hotel had a nice bathroom and clean room. We didn't try the continental breakfast but it looked decent. We would stay here again. Also appreciated that we could check in early.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

I needed a hotel at Richmond for six nights as i attended a conference at neary Eastern Kentucky University. There were several good choices close to each other, but I chose the Holiday Inn Express since it is my default choice when traveling. This hotel lived up to my expectations, as they generally do.

My checkin was good, the staff friendly. Indeed as I went through the week, I met many of the front desk staff at all hours, they were all friendly and courteous. The room was a queen double, large and spacious. The hotel was quiet, close to the interstate, but not too close. I never had a problem with highway noise.
Breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn Express selection, great sweet rolls, eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits w/gravy, several choices of cereal, bread slices.
With this room I had a choice of free wifi or cable for my computer. I found the highspeed excellent.
I am glad of my choice, happy to do it again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, OH
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Me, my husband and son stayed at this Holiday Inn Express during a college visit back in the spring. There are several hotels in the area, just off I-75. I don't think I've stayed at a Holiday Inn in years. I picked it because of the location, amenities and price. I really wanted to stay at the near by Hampton Inn, but there were no rooms available. I'm glad now because this Holiday was very nice and I couldn't imagine the Hampton being any better. They were going through some major remodeling so the hotel looked great. I signed up for the Priority Club, which the hotel clerk knew this and gave me a little bag of goodies during check-in. Also, I was quoted a price of $109 online, but the woman said "You want the AARP discount, right?" and winked. So I got $10 off even though I didn't really qualify. I appreciated that. The room was comfortable and the morning free breakfast was great. Loved the cinnamon rolls! The area they served the breakfast was very nice and cozy with a flatscreen TV & fireplace. We did use the workout room so we could get our daily walk. I was extremely happy with my choice and would stay there again. I probably will try Holiday Inn Express whenever a need a place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizElady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed here for one night while travelling south on the I-75. Excellent service at the front desk on check-in. Got a very competitive rate and great value for the money. Hotel is very clean, room was large and well-appointed. Bathroom was very clean, good lighting. Complimentary breakfast was decent, good choices. I will definitely stay in this hotel again on my next trip through.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Richmond Hotel
0.2 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 14 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 14 in Richmond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
4.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Richmond
La Quinta Inn Richmond
#4 of 14 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
3.9 km away
Red Roof Inn Lexington - Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond
Address: 1990 Colby Taylor Dr, Richmond, KY 40475-8844
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Richmond
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,813 - ₹ 14,859
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Richmond, KY. If you're looking for a place where friendly people and smiling faces are the hallmark of a city, where the blend of historic places, modern conveniences and Southern hospitality are vibrant, we welcome you to look no further and stay with us. Located off I-75 at exit 87, with 81 spacious rooms, a free 'hot' deluxe breakfat bar, wireless Internet and an indoor pool. With just a short drive to downtown enjoy the scenery of historic buildings, shopping, and dining. At Lake Reba Recreational Complex, you will find, a beautiful fishing lake, walking and running trails, playgrounds, Gibson Bay Gold Course, Adventure Falls Miniature Golf and Paradise Cove Pool. Visit Hummel Planetarium on EKU's campus for a trip to outer space! If you decide to drive around you will see places such as Ft. Boonesborough State Park, White Hall Historic Site, Valley View Ferry, and the American and Civil War Battlefield sites. At Bybee Pottery, located on HWY 52E, among the southern hills of Madison County, you can still watch pottery being made, this tradition has been going on there for 200 years. Our new Richmond Center, located across the street has stores such as, Belk, JC Penny, Hastings Entertainment, Logan's Steakhouse, Culvers, Cinemark Movies. Acres of Land Winery has delicious dining and remarkable home grown wine. Galaxy Bowling and Champions Sports bar is fun for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing