We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Nice hotel, however the staff who checked us in were kinda rude and very short with us. Maybe just a bad day. The hotal was sold out, therefore very busy. The breakfest area is way too small for this size hotal. We went down and left three times before a small stand-up table opened up. By this time, it was close to 10 am and almost lunch time. And, just when you would like to sleep in a little bit, the cleaning staff is vacuuming outside my door at 8:45 am on this Saturday morning. No pool or spa.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 308 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

My fiancée and I spent a 3 day weekend at the Comfort Suites.......

Pros:

*Location without a doubt is top on my list of Pro’s. The hotel is a 10-minute walk to Newport on the Levee. You can catch a trolley outside the back door of the hotel. This is a great location for anyone going to a Red’s or Bangles game

*We arrived early in the morning (1:30am) and a friendly and upbeat front desk clerk met us. She checked us in quickly and answered all our question with a smile.

*The room was large and clean. The bed was firm which is good with me.

*The complementary breakfast is served on the 2nd floor and the room is well maintained. The food was good. It includes fresh waffles, cold cereal, eggs, sausage, biscuits/gravy and an assortment of breads.

*The business center is large with 2 computers connected to a printer/copy/fax machine. The room also has a couch and a TV for your entertainment if you have to wait for a computer.

Cons:

*Parking. First of all the parking spaces are very small. Second, the hotel has fewer parking spaces than they have rooms. A guest was told he had to park a block away because the lot was full.

*No pool

Overall, an excellent hotel and I would recommend to anyone staying in the Cincinnati area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank born2bowl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants and a very short drive from Newport on the Levee. Shuttles available to several area attractions using the SouthBank Shuttle. The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Typical hotel breakfast. Great view of Cincinnati.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank charrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel on July 7 and found it to be very nice. We checked in around 4:30 pm with the intent of freshening up and going on to the Newport Bike Rally behind the levy. The room was spotless and large. The bed had 5 pillow although not standard or king size which would have been nice. The mini kitchen had a coffee maker, microwave and small fridge. My only complaint was that we paid more for a river view but we were only on the 3rd floor and our view was the roof of the Chart House Restaurant and the smoking staffers. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor river view room to see the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUX4FUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I really wanted to like this hotel, given the generally positive reviews and interesting views of Cincinnati and the river. However, the rude front desk staff more than made up for any nice views or comfortable beds this property may offer.

We had flown in on a red eye so we were tired and would have like to checked into our room a bit early. Even though check in was not for a few hours, it was indeed afternoon, and many hotels have a room or two ready at this point. Tesa was the front desk clerk present when we asked if there was any chance our room was ready yet. She flippantly responded, "No, check isn't until 4:00 anyway, maybe we'll have a room ready by 2." Excuse me? The problem I had at this point wasn't that the room wasn't ready. The problem was Tesa's attitude. If her response had been something more along the lines of, "I'm sorry we don't have a room ready for you yet, let me contact housekeeping and see how much longer it will be," I would have had no real matter of contention with this hotel.

When we walked back into the hotel to try again to check into our room, Tesa greeted my husband and I by looking in my general direction (not actually at me, mind you), and asked "Last name again?" No hello, now how are you, no sorry your room wasn't ready earlier.....wow. Unbelievable.

Thankfully, we were able to check in and get into our room. The rooms are roomy and the beds are comfortable; however, be sure to stay on a lower level floor or else you are liable to be waiting a long time for the elevator. I stood their waiting for 10 minutes the next morning with my luggage cart. Ridiculous.

I'm not heartless. As a frequent traveler, and someone with over 20 years of customer service experience, I more than understand that inconveniences happen. What I cannot forgive is snotty, rude service, particularly in this day and age where jobs can be hard to come by. There are many other options for lodging in the Cincinnati area. If I am in the area again, I will most certainly stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertgirlmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Millennium Cincinnati
Millennium Cincinnati
#41 of 51 in Cincinnati
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 420 Riverboat Row, Newport, KY 41071-4556
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 6,122 - ₹ 13,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Newport
Comfort Suites Newport
Newport Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing