We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not so great.”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Just because the lobby is nicely updated doesn't mean that they have spent the same amount of energy on the rooms. The staff was fine but the room hasn't been maintained or updated in a while. The first room they gave me had a huge stain in the carpet. The second room was almost as bad with water damage on the bathroom ceiling. I definitely wouldn't return. The only reason I stayed was because the Marriott down the street was full.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durhamfossils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    110
    47
    23
    7
See reviews for
69
82
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Considering I was in Louisville at the same time Louisville was battling Kentucky in the NCAA Final 4, I thought the hotels downtown might be frantic and crazy. But the staff at the Courtyard by Marriott was helpful and serene throughout, providing all the services I needed in terms of storing my luggage both at check-in and check-out, offering dining advice, and in general being just what I needed. I also enjoyed the coffee bar inside (although the free breakfast was pretty sad) and got a snack at that same coffee bar late at night that was very good and only a little expensive. The self-serve shop off the front desk was also a big help. And it's so nice to be able to park so close, with reasonable parking fees. In terms of my room, it was fine. Nothing special, but clean and well kept-up. I did think that the in-room heater/cooler was noisy and kind of old-fashioned (most hotels have thermostats in the room these days instead of those nasty old wall units that seem left over from ancient highway motels) and should probably be replaced, but that was the only thing marring an otherwise excellent stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from 2nd St are less likely to get traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisbe401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We've stayed in many Courtyards and were disappointed with this one. The staff and service were fine. I'm not so keen about having a Starbucks ad on every flat surface while hiding the good, free coffee with nothing to note it's there, but that's the norm at Courtyard. Also, this Courtyard's parking deck can be used by the public, so there may not be covered parking for hotel guests if there is an event at the KFC Yum Center across the street.
As others have mentioned, the room was facing the street and traffic noise was noticeable. Much worse, we woke up ichy after an uncomfortable night. So much so, we went to a drug store to get something to relieve the itch.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eng311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel would have rated a 5 if the room had been a bit updated. Nothing wrong with it, to be sure, but nothing special either. Free shuttle from the airport is a great perk, and the staff at the front desk were outstanding for the entire 3 days of the trip. The location--across from the Yum Center and a couple of blocks from the river--can't be beat. Great restaurants as close as across the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyrev484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This hotel was great on all elements, but the rooms were in need of updating and a renovation. The staff could not have been more accommodating, there is a free airport shuttle, free printing and computer use in the lobby, a nice workout room, and a comfortable lobby/restaurant. The rooms were stuffy (windows don't open), furnishings are old and worn, air conditioners were old /large units by the windows, and the sheets and towels were old.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaluah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
Aloft Louisville Downtown
Aloft Louisville Downtown
#31 of 96 in Louisville
132 reviews
Central Business District
SpringHill Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fairfield Inn & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#14 of 96 in Louisville
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Louisville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Louisville Downtown

Property: Courtyard Louisville Downtown
Address: 100 S 2nd St, Louisville, KY 40202-1320
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Louisville
#19 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#32 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,380 - ₹ 17,537
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Louisville Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Louisville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott
Louisville Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing