We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proof on Main - Louisville”
Review of Proof on Main

Proof on Main
Reserve with OpenTable
Proof on Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,885 Restaurants in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Cross street: 7th
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Great experience. Truly a unique combination - hotel, restaurant, modern art museum. Food was very good and enjoyed strolling the halls / lobbies viewing the art. Waitress took extra time to describe the overall concept / operation of the venue.

Thank johncavs1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael U, Manager at Proof on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hello John,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the positive review!

It is our pleasure, and our goal to make sure each guests enjoys a unique experience at Proof on Main / 21c

I'll be sure to pass along the notes on service in our next team meeting.

Thank you and please visit us again soon,

Michael Unclebach, Restaurant Manager
munclebach@proofonmain.com
T 502.217.6365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2018

We dined here as a couple for the first time before the ballet and enjoyed a cheese plate, salmon and bison burger as well as some mixed drinks. All of the food was of excellent quality and well prepared. Proof is a very interesting dining experience because of the attached art gallery and the restaurant itself has a great deal of original art work. It is fun to visit the attached modern art gallery. The mixed drinks were both unusual and tasty, although the portions were small. The restaurant prices are high, in line with a fine dining experience. However, the servers are dressed very casually and I would have preferred a little dressier attire from the wait staff. Some of the other diners were dressed up and some were wearing baseball caps, sort of an "anything goes" ambiance. We were pleasantly surprised by a bowl filled with cherry flavored cotton candy at the end of our meal, which a fun and unique treat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jasonandlaura26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael U, Manager at Proof on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hello Jason & Laura,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback on your recent experience with us at 21C / Proof on Main.

We do want this to be a very special and extraordinary place for ALL our guests, so we are delighted you were pleased with every nuanced attention to detail that we love to provide for your pleasure.

The cotton candy never fails.

Michael Unclebach, Restaurant Manager
munclebach@proofonmain.com
T 502.217.6365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Came for an 8:00 reservation on a Friday night. We were greeted and seated right away. My first impression is that the decor is amazing. So eclectic and interesting. The atmosphere is hip and relaxed.

It was a great meal. The standout dish was the Apple Pop Tarts with the chicken liver pâté. The smoked fish appetizer was also delicious. Bill is delivered with a large serving on cotton candy.

Service is attentive and friendly. You don’t ever see employees just standing around.

If you have time, the art gallery in the attached hotel is worth walking through.

Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael U, Manager at Proof on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hello Amy,

Thank you for taking the time to write out such a kind review! All of the installments on exhibit are on track to change over the next month so maybe next time you come in to visit us, there should be a whole new first impression waiting :)

Your comments on the staff and menu offerings will be pass along in our next team meeting, we truly aim to please.

Michael Unclebach, Restaurant Manager
munclebach@proofonmain.com
T 502.217.6365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We came for dinner with another couple. We had the bison burger, pork chop and pulled pork. The food was excellent. Cooked to perfection and the jezebel sauce for the burger was over the top. Wow.

The wine was good and the gelato sampler we had for dessert was good except for the blackberry ginger sample. The ginger was so overpowering we did not eat this after tasting it.

At the very end of the meal your table is served cotton candy. Not sure why, but we enjoyed it!

The service is top notch.

Very enjoyable evening. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Thank BudNLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael U, Manager at Proof on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hello Bud & Lily,

Thank you for the FANTASTIC review & feedback

Your comments on our blackberry/ginger gelato has been passed along our chef team and we are tweaky the recipe in order to bring down some of the heavy gingers notes you described.

Also the service team was pleased to hear we left another group satisfied, please join us again soon!

Michael Unclebach, Restaurant Manager
munclebach@proofonmain.com
T 502.217.6365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Dinner with family to celebrate a birthday. Amazing food, wine and bourbon specials. Love that they source products locally.

1  Thank campwikiwiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael U, Manager at Proof on Main, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Hello Camp Wiki Wiki (i love that name),

Thank you for taking the time to write out the positive review!

Our bourbon list is changing, growing constantly to keep up with the growing trends of the great brown drink that this city offers.

Please come celebrate your birthday with us again, however we hope that you'll visit us again before next year!

Best Regards,

Michael Unclebach, Restaurant Manager
munclebach@proofonmain.com
T 502.217.6365

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Proof on Main also viewed

 

Been to Proof on Main? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing