We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Nice Hotel in the Heart of Louisville” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Louisville Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel in the Heart of Louisville”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I had a very nice stay at the Marriott Louisville Downtown when we were in town for the Kentucky Derby. Our room was nicely appointed, clean, and comfortable. We had drinks in the BLU bar and lunch in Champion's Sports Bar. Service and food was very good in both cases. Our group also had a catered dinner in one of the hotel's private rooms after the Derby. Again, food and service were very good. The hotel staff was very friendly, and there always seemed to be someone offering a greeting or a complimentary Mimosa when we walked through the lobby. Although I'm sure the hotel was booked for Derby weekend, it never seemed overly crowded, and the check-in and check-out process was fast and easy. I would certainly choose the Marriott Louisville Downtown the next time I am in Louisville.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LvilleDTMarriott, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Derby Guest,

Thank you for sharing comments from your recent Derby Experience. We are excited that you enjoyed the energy of this special weekend and will share your comments with our team at the hotel. We hope you had some luck at the track and look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Paul Kiley
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    285
    66
    29
    18
See reviews for
96
134
33
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. My room was large with a fab comfortable bed. I was on the 12th Floor with a view of the river. The sports bar was a good place for a drink and breakfast was good too. The room was clean and everything was in working order. Check in was quick and easy as was checkout. If I was in the area I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LvilleDTMarriott, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for the compliments to the hotel regarding your recent stay and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future and appreciate your testimonial.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
426 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Convenient down location, contemporary design, rooms are nicely appointed, nice sports bar and restaurant(Blu) in lobby. Get a high floor room with a river view.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel has very friendly staff, it's clean, the beds are comfortable and it has a great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LvilleDTMarriott, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay and glad that you enjoyed yourself, the friendly staff and the comfortable bed. We look forward to your next visit to Louisville.

Best Regards,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed at the Louisville Marriott Downtown over the weekend for Thunder. I was very disappointed in my room, which cost me almost $300 a night. The floors were dirty, the bed was uncomfortable, and I had a beautiful view of an abandoned white building. The real kicker was being charged $63 to self park in their parking garage for a two night stay!! I was told at check-in that parking would be $21. Not $21 a day!!! Then I was charged for a three day stay. I arrived after 5:00 on Friday and was checked out by 9:00 on Sunday morning. The only decent customer service I received the entire weekend was from Jacob at Valet parking. I was told that I had to wear a bright orange wristband all weekend to gain access into the hotel. When asked why... I was informed that it was to keep out the "riff-raff". I will be returning to Louisville next year, but next time I will be booking at the Hyatt across the street!! We all work very hard for our money, and I expected ALOT more than I got for the amount of money I spent. As of the writing of this review I still have not been reimbursed for the $21 that I was overcharged!! Spend your money wisely.....don't stay at the Marriott Louisville Downtown!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Estebon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LvilleDTMarriott, Director of Sales at Louisville Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us during the recent Thunder weekend. Due to the amount of visitors over that particular weekend and a large convention in the hotel, we had limited rooms available and none of our standard weekend discounts. If you can contact me directly at paul.kiley@marriottlouisville.com and provide me with your contact information I will follow up to see that the incorrect charges to your account are rectified.

Thank you again for your time,

Paul Kiley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#3 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#13 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galt House Hotel
#27 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,560 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#20 of 95 in Louisville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
21c Museum Hotel Louisville
#5 of 95 in Louisville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louisville Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louisville Marriott Downtown

Property: Louisville Marriott Downtown
Address: 280 W Jefferson St, Louisville, KY 40202-1432
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Louisville
#7 Business Hotel in Louisville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Louisville
#17 Family Hotel in Louisville
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,296 - ₹ 26,660
Hotel Class:4 star — Louisville Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 617
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Louisville Marriott Downtown is ideally located in the heart of Louisville, connected to the Kentucky International Conference Center via a skywalk, and is nearby many of Louisville's premier business and leisure destinations including the KFC YUM! Center, the 4th Street Live entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, the Louisville Slugger Museum, and Churchill Downs. Guests staying at this 4-star hotel enjoy the luxurious amenities including an onsite Health Club, Indoor Pool, and Concierge Lounge with VIP service. Champions Sports Bar and Blu Italian Grille are onsite for delicious dining options for dinner, or start your day off with a signature Starbucks Coffee. Choose the Louisville Marriott Downtown for your next trip to Bourbon Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Louisville Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Louisville Downtown Hotel Louisville
Louisville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing