We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but you could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap, but you could do better”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

You certainly get what you pay for at this hotel. The room was ok for the price, but the carpet was sticky as was the bathroom floor. The bathroom certainly showed age and wear with cracked caulk and a hole in the plaster. Towels were old and grey. No refrigerator and 12-15 channels on the tv, mostly local. The breakfast area is extremely small with three tables, so be prepared to eat and run or take back to your room. On checkout, the (only) front desk person had to leave to take someone to the airport - glad we weren't in a rush.

If you have a large vehicle, bus or trailer, consider another hotel. The lot is extremely small and holds 30-40 cars at most. We had to worry about returning early evening to get a parking spot.

I'll give the hotel two good marks: 1.) excellent location if you are attending the expo center for an event 2.) we called the front desk at 10:30 pm one evening to tell high schoolers to be quiet after screaming and yelling in the hallway...they did.

Last, there are few and far between places to eat around the hotel or the expo center.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopSecretTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    65
    70
    74
    70
See reviews for
83
67
28
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, IN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed one night at this Howard Johnsons prior to our flight out. For under $60.00 we had a very clean and comfortable room.Very quiet to be so close to the interstate and Louisville International Airport.

The morning of our flight we were driven the 5 minutes to the airport and dropped off right in front of the terminal. A week later when we arrived back in Louisville I made the call and within 5 minutes we were picked up and taken back directly to our car.Our driver even helped with our luggage. Simple, Safe and oh so convenient.

Room Tip: The Stay & Fly program is really a great alternative to ridiculous airport parking fees
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for a conference @ the KEC for week. It was not the poshest place; however, it closr and clean. Tje staff eas exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Great place to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fritchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kumar D, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay while traveling to the Louisville area. Thank you as well for your kind words regarding our staff. We strive to provide outstanding service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Don't know what rooms others stayed in. Our room was fine for a budget hotel. This room was smoking. Did not smell bad. Everything worked. You will have to drive to find a place to eat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirt2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2011

There are better selections of hotels right in the area. the shower kept going from cold to hot without warning...there was hair in the sink counter from the last tenant. I use a wheelchair and made me park on the grass near the road. Not enough parking. Rooms are outdated. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zepphead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Louisville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
South Side
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport & Expo
Fairgrounds
Residence Inn Louisville Airport
South Side
Courtyard Louisville Airport
Courtyard Louisville Airport
#46 of 95 in Louisville
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairgrounds
Hampton Inn Louisville Airport
Fairgrounds
SpringHill Suites Louisville Airport
Ramada Louisville Expo Center
#70 of 95 in Louisville
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport
Address: 709 Phillips Ln, I-65 Exit 13B, Louisville, KY 40209-1327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,876 - ₹ 14,599
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn/Airport Hotel Louisville
Howard Johnson Louisville
Louisville Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing