We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Convention Hotel”
Review of Galt House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galt House Hotel
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Louisville
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Convention Hotel”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed at the Galt House to attend a convention. You can walk to the convention center and several restaurants. Front desk staff was a little abrupt but all other staff was friendly and helpful. Food in hotel restaurants and lounges was great. The rooms are showing some wear but comfortable and clean. The bell staff and valet parking staff was the very best. I will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    1,202
    701
    346
    217
See reviews for
742
838
140
1,426
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (964)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

With two connected towers of rooms, the Galt House has great curb appeal. The room had a few flaws, however. For starters, decor is old-school, and in spots, just plain old. The ceiling in my bedroom was slightly cracked and the carpet looked worn in places. My room was nice enough with TONS of space, but there was an almost overpowering chemical/cleaning supply smell when I walked in the door. There was no bathtub, no view to speak of, and no toilet paper in my bathroom when I arrived. !?!?! I called the front desk to let them know right after I checked in around 2 p.m. and left for some sightseeing and dinner. It still had not been replenished when I got back later that night.

On the upside, the suite I stayed in was very big and roomy. The bed was comfortable and the big walk-in shower offered steamy hot water and great water pressure. I also attended an event in the Rivue during my stay - wonderful view and good food.

All in all, it was fine for a business trip, but not sure I'd pick this place for a romantic getaway or a family vacation when there are other historic hotel options and the funky 21c right down the street.

Room Tip: Request a room at the northern end of the hotel for the better views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommyamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
291 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at the Galt House in the Rivue tower for a convention from a Friday to Monday. With several conventions and a major concert on Saturday night everything was very busy. The room was very clean and spacious. Our room had a bathroom and a sink outside the bathroom, a nice room amenity. The sheets felt like paper and were very stiff and loud and the wifi was terrible in our room. We were at the end of the corridor, though, so if you need a good connection perhaps you should request a room more toward the middle of the building. The room was quiet as there was a baby next door and we hardly heard it (we had a baby too so we know what it's like to have a crying baby in a hotel... we tried to keep ours quiet anyway.)

The elevators were slow and we needed to allow 10 extra minutes in the morning in order to make it to the conference on time. Also, the connector bridge was on the 3rd floor of the hotel and the conference was mostly on the 2nd floor of the other tower. No big deal if you are walking, but we had a stroller and it took a bunch of extra time. It's not a detriment as there is nothing they can do, just keep it in mind if you are traveling with kids or a wheelchair. You have to take trips on two sets of elevators if you are in the Rivue Tower.

We visited the restaurant on the second floor several times and had great breakfast and lunch. We did not try dinner there, however. On our last morning we saw that there was water leaking from the ceiling. When I asked an employee they said that the pool was leaking into the restaurant!

The counter service restaurant on the 3rd floor bridge was decently quick but became swamped at times due to the huge amount of people at the conferences. We went to this same conference at another hotel last year and they set up temporary food lines with sandwiches. Perhaps Galt House should consider that in the future in order to alleviate the lines.

Overall this was a nice hotel with above average rooms and good features for the price. I would stay again if I returned to Louisville.

Room Tip: Near the Elevator core in order to get decent wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete7919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

If you're coming in from SDF, take a cab (fare is between $19 & $20; shuttle is $25). Check-in was quick & the room was ready. A little hesitant at first because the room was in close proximity to the elevator, but didn't hear a thing. I had to order some additional linens for a fold out bed, & housekeeping was lightening fast. The venue is perfect for a conference & adequately suited for such. The skyway is amazing, especially if it's snowing outside. Thelma's (24 hour) & the Magnolia were awesome. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I was in the 15th floor near the elevator & didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firefighter70288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a great hotel! My husband and I always stay at the Galt House and book the Romance by the River package for our annivsary.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are the way to go. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louisville hotels
Central Business District
The Brown Hotel
The Brown Hotel
#2 of 95 in Louisville
1,853 reviews
Hyatt Regency Louisville
#10 of 95 in Louisville
1,318 reviews
Seelbach Hilton
#19 of 95 in Louisville
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Louisville Downtown
Central Business District
Louisville Marriott Downtown
Louisville Marriott Downtown
#13 of 95 in Louisville
867 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Louisville Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galt House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galt House Hotel

Property: Galt House Hotel
Address: 140 N 4th St, Louisville, KY 40202-2910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Louisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Louisville
#22 Business Hotel in Louisville
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,421 - ₹ 23,100
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galt House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galt House Hotel, the Heart of Louisville, boasts 1,290 guest rooms and suites, 128,000 square-feet of convention space and more than 50 meeting rooms. Galt House Hotel features six full-service restaurants and lounges, including RIVUE, a 25th floor revolving restaurant with amazing cuisine, as well as the Rooftop Garden and Terrace, Club 360° Fitness Center and the three-story Conservatory that connects the two towers over 4th Street. It is connected to the KFC Yum! Center and the Kentucky International Convention Center, and within walking distance of Fourth Street Live! entertainment district, the Muhammad Ali Center, Kentucky Science Center, Kentucky Center for the Arts, Louisville Slugger Factory and Museum and Frazier History Museum. It is also within walking distance of unique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galt House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galt House Hotel Louisville
Galt Hotel Louisville
Galt House Hotel And Suites
The Galt House Hotel
Galt House Louisville Ky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing