We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveller rating
445
200
47
29
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
445
200
47
29
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews malvern hills cream tea country hotel train station bar menu travelzoo deal a la carte menu lovely hotel fantastic food two night stay smoked salmon public rooms both nights lamb superior room main road evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 735 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We recently had a two night stay at the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, the only negative being a wardrobe door that seemed to have a mind of its own! We did get some noise from guests departing a function on the Saturday night, but it wasn't unacceptable and we did have all the windows open (we live in the north!). Our bar lunch and dinner and two cooked breakfasts were all of a very good standard (I was particularly impressed with the fresh fruit selection at breakfast) and the staff unfailingly helpful and polite - definitely a strength of this hotel. The hotel is not cheap, based on our experience in other parts of the UK, but overall reasonable value. I do think the hotel might find it worth copying a 4 star hotel near us - they have very good deals for a Sunday DBB as that is the day the hotel is under used. It would also be good to attract more locals through the day - the bar was like the Marie Celeste at lunchtime on the Saturday.
As previous reviewers have noted, the hotel is no distance at all from Colwall train station, and Colwall itself is a very attractive village - an ideal area to stay whether walking on the Malvern Hills, or visiting the cathedral towns of Hereford and Worcester.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColwallPark, General Manager at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Dear Barbara,

Thank you for your recent feedback. It was great to hear overall you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the food was a highlight for you.

We appreciate your suggestions on various offers. We have previously had a Sunday night offer that we may introduce again in the future. We do also promote other package offers and dining offers. If you would like to receive this be sure to sign up to our newsletter on our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Having visited last summer we returned again but, unfortunately, could only be accommodated for two nights. Never mind. We once again the same friendly welcome greeted us and we were given the same room as previously with its own sitting room. The reception area and ground floor had been refurbished to a high standard and further work is planned elsewhere in the hotel over coming months. Having already enjoyed the meals in their restaurant we were pleased to find the same high standard being maintained - well presented and tasty. There is a good choice on an interesting menu. While dining the restaurant manager and his new waitress gave us excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarketMunchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColwallPark, General Manager at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

It was a great pleasure to welcome you both back for your break with us, it is wonderful to see familiar faces. I am glad to hear that our food and service was still to its high standard.

Thank you again for leaving us your feedback and we hope to see you again int the near future to experience some more of our exciting changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

My last visit to this hotel was many years ago as a child, so to see the improvements and the attention to bringing the decor into this era but maintaining a touch of chic and elegance helped me in deciding to choose one of their rooms to hold a family party for my grown up 16 year old daughter.
From the moment we were greeted to time we left the staff were polite, accommodating and the choice and quality of food was excellent!
They also managed to put together for us a separate menu for the younger children attending.
The hotel kindly made available a projector and screen for us to display a photo show which was a great touch.
The children also loved there game of hide and seek in the gardens at the rear of the hotel.
Will definitely be returning for any future family get togethers!
I must point out also the Manager Laura was especially helpful and nothing was to much to ask.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank StuLav78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColwallPark, General Manager at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your celebration with us. It was a delight to host the lunch party and we hope that your daughter thoroughly enjoyed it too.

We have more refurbishment planned for next year so do pop by again to see the exciting planned changes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Visiting friends locally, we were delighted to find this very well run hotel which has every comfort, a high standard of service ( both friendly and efficient), happy bar and really lovely dinner menu. We had the small attic suite - good value, immaculate housekeeping ( but beware of sloping ceilings if you are very tall!). On Saturday the hotel was very busy with private parties but we were looked after as if we were the only guests - and our room was completely quiet. Sunday evening our friends came for dinner and we ALL had super meals! Added bonus - the railway station is just around the corner so Hereford, Worcester and all points between are in easy reach. Will be happy to return!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Normad800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColwallPark, General Manager at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments following your stay with us. The team were thrilled with your feedback, it is always a great pleasure to read how we have made your experience extra special.

Hopefully we will see you again in the near future for another break away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

My last review of this hotel (January of this year) prompted the manager to ask me to ring her. She listened carefully to my comments and invited me to return (one night's B&B at their expense). I took up her offer last week and found many things improved. I have not yet given up on this, for me, much loved hotel. The food remains delicious, the draught beer is very well kept, the lounges and bar are comfortable, the setting is perfect for walking, and the (mostly new) staff are pleasant and clearly trying their best. This said, the standard of service still leaves room for improvement (often very slow, orders forgotten...) and I did not feel any sense of a working team that really knows how to work as a team. The manager, Laura, took the opportunity to ask my family and I to speak about our experiences of this visit, which we were happy to do... but less happy that we could not be entirely positive. Full marks to her for her listening approach and success to everyone at The Park; I shall return

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank dianmarieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColwallPark, General Manager at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review us again and it was a pleasure meeting you and your family in person.

We appreciate your feedback, this helps us with our ongoing improvement and training of our team. We look forward to seeing you all again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews