We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The waterfall was a welcome end-of-the-day sight and sound”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capital Plaza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Frankfort
Bowling Green
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The waterfall was a welcome end-of-the-day sight and sound”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Excellent internet service. Good service at the front desk. Has made improvements since it was the Holiday Inn. Pool wasn't working the night I was there, but sauna and exercise rooms were available. Windows crack a few inches, which I enjoy. The lobby looks good, and the bar area looks lively and inviting. The sofas and chairs near the waterfall feel inviting and offer a wonderful noise in contrast to cell phones or silence. Internet easy to get connected and stay connected. Restaurant is a little pricey, but offers a small discount when you show your room key. Wish the rooms had a fridge or microwave, especially when staying multiple days. Feels clean. Furniture not as outdated as I'd expect from a hotel this age. A pleasant surprise. I'd choose this over my other Frankfort options anytime. Will return on purpose.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    63
    42
    25
    19
See reviews for
32
36
5
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We were staying at the hotel with a large group of friends and family for a wedding. it apparently had been a holiday inn in a past life. we were in a king room on a high floor and the room was a good size with an easy chair and sofa so plenty of room to have people in to chat. it was clean and easy to get around. the staff was really helpful and accomodating. the pool was closed for repair which didnt bother me but some of our party were looking forward to spending Sat afternoon at the pool before the wedding.
Only downfall - We went to the dining room on SaturdaySunday for breakfast. they apparently don't get a lot of customers and it is a buffet. the scrambled eggs looked like they had been there awhile. They did bring fresh when I asked for it though. The brunch on Sunday was adequate - good variety but kind of a tired buffet. it was handy though.
I would stay here again but try to find someplace else for breakfast.
also it is good to note that it is very close to Buffalo Trace distillery. a few guests who couldn;t go to the pool made a productive trip there on Saturday afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I recently spent a very comfortable week at the Capital Plaza while attending a conference. The hotel is very clean and housekeeping did a wonderful job with my room. The bed was very comfortable. I was able to get a refrigerator for my room and it was no problem. As a female traveler, I always felt safe.

The location allowed me the opportunity to do some walking tours of Frankfort which was good exercise as the pool and gym were closed. I did not use the restaurant as I ate at some local restaurants for lunch and as I was staying a week, I brought my own breakfast items.

Room Tip: Get a walking map and walk to the Capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickygene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed here on a family trip. This is a neat conference center-style hotel with a bar and restaurant downstairs. Very clean and the staff was outstanding. I loved the message to their guests that started with, “Because this hotel is a human institution to serve people, and not solely a money-making organization, we hope that God will grant you peace and rest while you are under our roof.” True Kentucky hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPx458h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed for 2 nights over July 4th weekend. Frankfort downtown is a ghost town on weekends, and the hotel restaurant wasn't open much of the time. This was a disappointment, as was the empty pool. The rooms were very clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable. Good choice for the money if staying in Frankfort.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioChowhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
5.0 km away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#4 of 10 in Frankfort
85 reviews
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
580 reviews
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankfort
29.5 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Georgetown
29.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Plaza Hotel

Property: Capital Plaza Hotel
Address: 405 Wilkinson Blvd, Frankfort, KY 40601-1849 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfort - Capital Plaza)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Frankfort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Frankfort
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,125 - ₹ 8,538
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Capital Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frankfort
Frankfort Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing