We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant for a bite along the highway”
Review of Seaport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seaport Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Port Union B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

I recently ate dinner at this hotel which was pretty good. While their restaurant caters primarily to guests at the hotel, the food was very good and the service friendly. Pan fried cod was good and menu had a decent selection of Newfoundland dishes. I understand that there is a new owner of the property who is upgrading the rooms and restaurant - which was evident from my experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Striker709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights. We were told they are in the middle of renovations. Room was clean, large with two double beds. Liked the windows and door with small patio outback (needed some chairs so we could sit out). No air condition to use so we opened the windows. No hot water in the morning so we made sure to get up early the next to days before others got up & it was ok. Only one day when given small shampoo so bring your own. Only one towel each. Ate breakfast in the attached restaurant. The first two days were fine but the last morning there was actually terrible. We were on a tour so had no choice what we were served (cold cereal or pancakes). Big mistake to go with pancakes. Two hard pancakes with two small slices of an orange - that was it! People were very nice but skip the breakfast unless you can order what you'd like.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back with an outside door & large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank floridaforever09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Thank You for your review. We are under new renovations and appreciate all feed back. We are striving to do better with the groups and all individuals, we will try and suggest better breakfast alternatives in the future.
With so many people in for breakfast all at the one time and with a tight schedule, the pancakes had to be made a little ahead of time and kept in our warmers. The pancakes do unfortunately dry out and become stiffer.
I apologise for the one towel each and the only one shampoo. I have spoken to my Housekeeping staff and from now on will make sure there is adequate towels and shampoo on a daily bases in every room.
I also apologise for the lack of hot water.We are installing a better hot water system in the near future to remedy that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We had been driving all day checking the coves for icebergs. Around 9:30 PM we were tired and needed to find a place for the night. We knocked on a few doors of B&B's but no one answered so we continued to drive up the Peninsula and found this place at Port Union. We were greeted by a nice Gentleman who must of saw how tired we looked and he had us situated within minutes. We spent a nice quiet night and moved quickly the next morning. We will be checking in this place again when visiting and looking to shoot iceberg pics next spring.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Thank You for the review. I remember you guys and yes you looked really tired. I am glad I was able to provide you with a comfortable warm bed and will look forward to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

The place has new Owners!
Rooms have all New Comfy Beds and rooms have been renovated!! Clean as a Whistle,
Loved the 2 beds rooms, they have 2 bathrooms....Big plus!!
Great Job! Located in the heart of Trinity Bay, only 15kms from Bonavista!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank ChantalnShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Thank You for your review and I am glad you had a good stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Surprisingly good food and wonderful friendly service to be had here. We drove by and with the 'for sale' sign, the place looked forlorn and closed. However, our B&B suggested it as a nearby-place to eat since we were running late for dinner (what can we say - we spent too much time enjoying the nearby Skerwink hiking trail!) so we drove back. It's a very simple resto - but clean and with great staff. They were exhausted after a bus tour group and ready to close - but served us right at closing time and we ate as they began to set up for their breakfast crowd.

They are known for their great cod - with light crisp batter. The food was fresh, good and filling. Great food at good prices and wonderful friendly service - what's not to love?

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Seaport Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaport Inn

Address: 127 Discovery Trail, Port Union, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Port Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Union
Price Range: ₹ 6,409 - ₹ 7,434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seaport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaport Inn is centrally located on Route 230 Discovery Trail, in the middle of two of the peninsula's biggest Tourism hubs, Bonavista and Trinity. We provide a relaxed atmosphere where you can come as you are and leave with a smile. We do this by preparing home cooked meals from scratch with fair pricing for both rooms and food. Our goal in the next 5 years is to be known as a uniquely-unrefined but memorable experience while offering our guests a historical atmosphere. We will do this by treating our tourists, group tours and business travelers as guests in our home, where you come in as strangers and leave as friends. We are here to serve you to the best of our capabilities, assist you in your travels and help make memories you will remember forever. ​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Seaport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing