We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
9
11
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
11
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspan fried codattached restaurantone nightskerwink trailpuffinsmotelpeninsulaellistonsinknewfoundlandtv
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights. We were told they are in the middle of renovations. Room was clean, large with two double beds. Liked the windows and door with small patio outback (needed some chairs so we could sit out). No air condition to use so we opened the windows. No hot water in the morning so we made sure to get up early the next to days before others got up & it was ok. Only one day when given small shampoo so bring your own. Only one towel each. Ate breakfast in the attached restaurant. The first two days were fine but the last morning there was actually terrible. We were on a tour so had no choice what we were served (cold cereal or pancakes). Big mistake to go with pancakes. Two hard pancakes with two small slices of an orange - that was it! People were very nice but skip the breakfast unless you can order what you'd like.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back with an outside door & large windows.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank floridaforever09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Thank You for your review. We are under new renovations and appreciate all feed back. We are striving to do better with the groups and all individuals, we will try and suggest better breakfast alternatives in the future.
With so many people in for breakfast all at the one time and with a tight schedule, the pancakes had to be made a little ahead of time and kept in our warmers. The pancakes do unfortunately dry out and become stiffer.
I apologise for the one towel each and the only one shampoo. I have spoken to my Housekeeping staff and from now on will make sure there is adequate towels and shampoo on a daily bases in every room.
I also apologise for the lack of hot water.We are installing a better hot water system in the near future to remedy that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We had been driving all day checking the coves for icebergs. Around 9:30 PM we were tired and needed to find a place for the night. We knocked on a few doors of B&B's but no one answered so we continued to drive up the Peninsula and found this place at Port Union. We were greeted by a nice Gentleman who must of saw how tired we looked and he had us situated within minutes. We spent a nice quiet night and moved quickly the next morning. We will be checking in this place again when visiting and looking to shoot iceberg pics next spring.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Thank You for the review. I remember you guys and yes you looked really tired. I am glad I was able to provide you with a comfortable warm bed and will look forward to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

The place has new Owners!
Rooms have all New Comfy Beds and rooms have been renovated!! Clean as a Whistle,
Loved the 2 beds rooms, they have 2 bathrooms....Big plus!!
Great Job! Located in the heart of Trinity Bay, only 15kms from Bonavista!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank ChantalnShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 August 2017

Thank You for your review and I am glad you had a good stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Surprisingly good food and wonderful friendly service to be had here. We drove by and with the 'for sale' sign, the place looked forlorn and closed. However, our B&B suggested it as a nearby-place to eat since we were running late for dinner (what can we say - we spent too much time enjoying the nearby Skerwink hiking trail!) so we drove back. It's a very simple resto - but clean and with great staff. They were exhausted after a bus tour group and ready to close - but served us right at closing time and we ate as they began to set up for their breakfast crowd.

They are known for their great cod - with light crisp batter. The food was fresh, good and filling. Great food at good prices and wonderful friendly service - what's not to love?

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 2-4-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

This property is for sale and has NO updating. I found it kind of "creepy". It is in a rural area and is a good location for exploring the Bonavista Peninsula. The shower is good, the beds are marginally acceptable, the carpeting old and dingy. WiFi reception depends on which room you're in. During my stay the tap water was not potable! Needs a remake.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank toujoursenroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber W, Manager at Seaport Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

The hotel is under new ownership and updating has already begun. We are updating all the beds to queen size and the wifi in the rooms have been updated so it reaches all corners of the hotel. We also plan to do flooring overtime as the winter goes on. As for the water we apologize but we offer bottled water free of charge to guests throughout their stay. The town water is something we can not control and we do our best with what we have in that situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews