We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$190
Hotels.com$189
Priceline$188
HIExpress.com$190
Travelocity$189
Hurb$197
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
216
64
11
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
216
64
11
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast was delicious clean hotel short drive fitness center the river newport aquarium great view lobby riverfront hallway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2022 via mobile

Short drive over the river from Cincinnati in Covington. Immediate neighbourhood not exciting, but half a mile, easy walk to Covington with good bars and restaurants.

Hotel as expected of this chain. Clean, comfortable. Very helpful and welcoming staff. Would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2022

Thank you for awesome review and kind comments! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2021

I stayed at this hotel for one night just before Halloween weekend. Got in late, phone died and went to sleep. My wife called the property at 3 am after waking up sick and was concerned that I had not called her. That part is on me, it happens. However, my wife asked the clerk to do a health check of the room. Night Auditor who worked the night of October 28th, 2021 treated her very poorly and could care less that she was worried. Would not call my room, go to my room, nothing. My wife called IHG and they called the hotel and he still would not help her. We all understand privacy (he already verified that I was registered in the room.. so that privacy part was OK to divulge?) but when someone is begging for help, and they say "what if he's dead?"; and the night auditor replies, "if he is dead, you can sue us"... pretty poor customer service. You have to question if this is the type of hotel where you want to visit safely and spend your money. My wife called the police who did a health check, I answered after one knock on the door and called her from the hotel phone in my room.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rooster4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Alisha Mardis, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2021

Thank you for your response. I believe that we have addressed your concerns before but just to clarify the desk agent that was at night was here by himself. He had called the room that you were staying in multiple times, with no response however because he was here alone, he was not able to leave the desk, which is why he informed your wife to call the police to do a well-check.
I'm very sorry that you had a poor experience as our entire staff is trained on how to handle safety issues within the hotel and it's guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed for three nights. The staff were all extremely nice and professional - all of them. I really appreciate them.

The hotel is a bit older and it’s not as fresh as some other HIE’s but it’s perfectly fine, clean, and safe.

It’s within walking distance of a Skyline Chil - so that alone is a major plus. We found it located perfectly to get into Cincinnati.

We really did have a brilliant stay and will stay on future visits.

The only downside is a smaller parking area - but again, the staff will help and find a solution… the customer service here is extremely helpful to this being a solid HIE property

Stay with confidence

Room tip: Stay on an upper floor pay attention to Reds home games
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JeffBreedlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2021

Thank you for the awesome review and very kind comments on our team members! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2021

This hotel does not have a riverfront but a huge wall view. This is not a new hotel it is a best western converted. The signs in the parking lot reflect this. Our room was not cleaned or restocked during our 3 day stay. On weekends the room price goes up and the service down. They supply a grab and go breakfast. The elevator is scary it shakes and vibrates when in use.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2021kmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2021

Thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry we did not provide the great experience we strive for all our guests. Kentucky has now opened self-serve breakfast and housekeeping services are provided upon request as some guests are not comfortable having others in their room. The elevator has been serviced and working fine now. Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2021

If you can accept the huge plastic shields at the desk, and if you can accept the big tables in front of the counter, and if you can accept the poor reception from what seemed like a non--caring staff, and if you can accept a breakfast in a small white bag that contained a bottle of water, a muffin, an apple, a box of dry cereal, and if you can accept that this hotel only has a coffee pot behind the counter, and if you can accept that your room has two little Kuerig nasty coffee cups, and if you can accept the terrible views from your room, and if you can accept the poor neighborhood that is home to this hotel, and if you can accept a van always blocking the hotel entrance, then this is the hotel for you. Enjoy.

Room tip: If you can get a room with a view of the river, hooray for you.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GreenfielldDonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Molly Fruin, Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Wow, it's sounds like you were very unhappy with the required and necessary safety protocols in place to protect guests and staff due to the pandemic Covid 19 virus. We are all tired of Covid too but these measures are in place because this is what is required by the state, our brand, our ownership, and the CDC. Social distancing is required at this time and physical barriers at the Front Desk helped keep our team safe. Our breakfast service has been impacted as well and while we wish we could serve a buffet like we did prior to Covid, we are not permitted to do so at the present time. Our Grab and Go is one of the better ones you will find at a hotel during Covid. We are a riverfront hotel and the wall you are referring to is a levee to protect against flooding. We do have rooms with outstanding views above the flood wall available. I am concerned that you found our staff to be non-caring as we typically receive very high marks for our staff's friendliness. Milk is available in our refrigerator upon request as well. Our neighborhood is urban but is very safe. The Covington community is a wonderful one and one of its unique characteristics is a liquor store or gas station on every corner. If you dive in a bit deeper you'll find a beautiful gem of a city with lots of character and friendly folks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews