We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$171
Priceline$170
Hotels.com$170
Travelocity$170
HIExpress.com$171
Hurb$177
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
216
63
11
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
216
63
11
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the children's hospital great hotel short drive fitness center the river great view riverfront clerk hallway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2021

If you can accept the huge plastic shields at the desk, and if you can accept the big tables in front of the counter, and if you can accept the poor reception from what seemed like a non--caring staff, and if you can accept a breakfast in a small white bag that contained a bottle of water, a muffin, an apple, a box of dry cereal, and if you can accept that this hotel only has a coffee pot behind the counter, and if you can accept that your room has two little Kuerig nasty coffee cups, and if you can accept the terrible views from your room, and if you can accept the poor neighborhood that is home to this hotel, and if you can accept a van always blocking the hotel entrance, then this is the hotel for you. Enjoy.

Room tip: If you can get a room with a view of the river, hooray for you.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GreenfielldDonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly Fruin, Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Wow, it's sounds like you were very unhappy with the required and necessary safety protocols in place to protect guests and staff due to the pandemic Covid 19 virus. We are all tired of Covid too but these measures are in place because this is what is required by the state, our brand, our ownership, and the CDC. Social distancing is required at this time and physical barriers at the Front Desk helped keep our team safe. Our breakfast service has been impacted as well and while we wish we could serve a buffet like we did prior to Covid, we are not permitted to do so at the present time. Our Grab and Go is one of the better ones you will find at a hotel during Covid. We are a riverfront hotel and the wall you are referring to is a levee to protect against flooding. We do have rooms with outstanding views above the flood wall available. I am concerned that you found our staff to be non-caring as we typically receive very high marks for our staff's friendliness. Milk is available in our refrigerator upon request as well. Our neighborhood is urban but is very safe. The Covington community is a wonderful one and one of its unique characteristics is a liquor store or gas station on every corner. If you dive in a bit deeper you'll find a beautiful gem of a city with lots of character and friendly folks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2021

Clean. Very Clean and friendly yet respectful staff that did not bother us much unless needed something. The pool was a bit cold and it could only hold 12 people at a time however still a very lovely hotel I would absolutely return here.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ZandyV1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly Fruin, Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Thank you Freedom for the wonderful review! We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and are delighted to hear you enjoyed our value, our staff, and our comfy beds! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2020

This is a great hotel near the Children's Hospital. Every time we have stayed it has been clean and staff friendly. We received great service for the price we paid. I would recommend it to everyone! Don't hesitate to use this facility for your hotel needs.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Thank you for the wonderful review! We love our relationship with Children's Hospital and all the wonderful families we get to meet! Merry Christmas to you and your family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020

We only stayed overnight while visiting family, so we did not use any of the amenities. But we were very happy with our stay. Everything was very clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bernadette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2020

Thank you for the wonderful review and kind comments! Hope to see you again and stay safe and healthy! Sincerely, Beth Wuestefeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2020

The hotel is described as river view. Not over a 30 foot concrete wall from the second floor. The hotel grounds had litter strewn around. One desk clerk was super friendly the other was quite the opposite.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 410dond
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth Wuestefeld, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cincinnati Riverfront, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Hello,

I am very sorry you were disappointed with our location on the riverfront, you are correct only a certain number of rooms can view the river above the 4th floor. I will also make sure we are doing regular runs in the parking lot to pick up litter. Thank you and stay safe! Beth Wuestefeld, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews