We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
136
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
136
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests local train central courtyard home stay jeep safari stunning swimming pool real home wonderful hosts stunning countryside train ride home away from home off road bird watching three nights for pre dinner drinks an oasis of peace unique experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2020

Devshree is an oasis of peace and tranquillity coupled with warm and genuine hospitality from the hosts, making it feel very much as a home from home. We have just returned from our second visit, the first being 3 years ago. We wanted to do a different trail and visit new places, but could not leave this gem off our itinerary, confident that it would offer us the opportunity to simply unwind in beautiful surroundings in the middle of a hectic tour.
Every aspect was as we remembered it, oozing personal service and attention by the owners. We had not long checked into a spacious and comfortable room and enjoyed a delicious lunch (made to family recipes), when we got news of a leopard visiting the area. The owner soon had us and other guests in their jeep and drove us out to the area it had been sighted. With some patience and binoculars to hand, we were lucky to see the big cat, unusually basking in the afternoon sun in the middle of a quarry.
We loved the early evening drive out with the hosts, through the local villages and bird spotting in the countryside, culminating with sundowners on the top of a hill, overlooking a beautiful lake. Next it was back to the house for drinks and canapes around a warm and relaxing campfire, followed by dinner, accompanied by interesting and entertaining stories by the hosts and guests. A memorable visit once again and it is no accident that Devshree is so special. All credit to the owners and their well trained staff. Hospitality at its best!

Date of stay: February 2020
1  Thank Goodwini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

As we drove into Deogarh from the hustle of Udaipur, a few turns, some narrow streets, we suddenly open into grandeur. Dev Shree - is not just a boutique luxury hotel, it's a home in a time machine. Built and run by the scion of the royal family, Shatrunjai and his wife Bhavna, we step into a bygone era as we step out of our car.

There is class and taste all around. From the steps to the hall, the Mosaic to the art; from the corridors to the rooms and from the colours to the sounds; the lawns, the flowers, the lakes and pelicans, just about everything is perfect.

We were pampered with drinks and divine cuisines through our stay - lunch in the middle of their family farmlands, drinks by a bonfire, dinner in the dining hall reminiscent of the raj and breakfast by the lake!

Throw in leopard and bird watching safari in the dusty terrains of stone mines, endless stories of a period gone by, helpful and courteous home staff, the stay was an incredible experience.

But the best part of this experience is that you will leave not just with memories of a grand holiday but with a lifelong friendship with the hosts and their own little paradise.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debustravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

We arrived here after several days touring city sites. The contrast could not have been more striking! Immediately greeted with a cooling drink we were urged to relax, take the weight off our feet while the charming hostess introduced us to her home (hotel just doesn't seem the right word - and it is a home). The rooms are spacious and placed around a central courtyard. This becomes a meeting place in the evenings around a fire for pre-dinner drinks and nibbles. The grounds are beautiful - the house is surrounded by lawns and garden - the trees well visited by birds - the whole looking out onto a lake with storks and pelicans. Meals are served either on the terrace or in the large dining room and you are encouraged to join other guests at the table. The host and hostess join you for dinner. It's a little like stepping back in time to a more sophisticated period. The staff are wonderful - doubling up during the day to either take yoga or guide then dressing in traditional costume for dinner. The host is rightly proud of his home and is happy to entertain you with the history of his notable family. He will also take you out on safari - a tour of his land where you might see a leopard, other wildlife and birds before watching the sunset over a lake with a gin and sandwich. The food is delightful and much of it is produced on their land. I must persuade the hostess to produce a recipe book - I think she found this idea interesting!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank raggedapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2020

The hosts are already famous for their unsurpassed hospitality, but it's the dogs you fall in love with immediately. They share this beautiful space with you, one that you've only read of in storybooks, and immediately make you feel at home.

The sun bounces off the stunning swimming pool, edged with ancient palms swaying in the balmy breeze. Sit there with your G&T, watching the painted storks and pelicans circle overhead before they make a graceful landing on the lake in front of you.

You are sated, replete with a fabulous breakfast: the sinful Devshree-special omlette has created a sensation on your Instagram page.

The day wafts by in an unhurried haze of endless pampering by the attentive staff. It's as if all those guilty Raj-era fantasies have come to life!

You set out for a sunset date with a leopard, and what a cat she was! She stood there - no ramp would see such grace! - then played a leisurely game of peek-a-boo, glancing down at us, then looking haughtily away, while the setting sun backlit her, as if directed by some legendary auteur.

The day winds down. A royal Rajasthani feast, whose highlight is the slow-simmered Lal Maas and flaky batties, prepares you perfectly for sleep. You melt into the lap of luxurious beds, and in minutes it's lights out. I could live this life every day!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ShaliniMinochaBeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020 via mobile

We spent just a night and I didn’t want to leave. The hosts are wonderful, warm, hospitable and know their area and history so well, making for great fireside stories.
The property is beautifully put together, royal comfort in pristine surroundings.
My welcome started while I was driving out of Baroda on the road to Deogarh - I received a call from the owner, giving me directions. Then the manager called saying he would send a man to the roundabout to guide us. I expected a lovely royal lodge, but driving in the unprepossive gate I got a glimpse of the glistening water, the lawns sweep up from the lake to the house. A wide terrace with comfortable chairs and tables for afternoon teas and morning breakfasts faces the lake. An inner courtyard with a warm fire is perfect for pre dinner drinks and stories.

This is a place to spend days - bird watching, reading, lounging by the pool, sitting and staring at early morning and evening activity on the lake. Going to spot the leopard, bicycling around the area.

A perfect getaway spot hiding in pretty much no where. It begs to be discovered by lucky people.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank PavaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews