We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is an Old Wigwam!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cave City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wigwam Village Inn #2
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It is an Old Wigwam!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Yes not the Ritz but my 10 year old and I still talk about it. In this day of chain hotels it is nice to stay someplace different! Let the kids know back in the 60/70's this was the way it was

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Dsquared512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    91
    65
    39
    52
See reviews for
131
75
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bluegrass state
Level Contributor
479 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

the idea was so cute. Always wanted to stay there. We went to mammoth caves and the surrounding area on our one last trip before school started back. This place was the one thing he kept talking about and drew a picture of it when he went back to school and the teacher asked them to draw what was the most memorable about their summer.
The floors were so dirty. We did stay two nights. I wish someone would fix them up to their potential. Anyway a good memory.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phislamajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cave City hotels

Renfrew, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Don't expect the Ritz here. This is basic lodging in an old, small room shaped like a tepee. Furniture is old and the bed sags but it's clean located next farm land with a train in the distance. The owner was friendly and complained about not raising prices since 2007. The place does need some TLC. TV reception was poor as was wifi. Driving distance to restaurants. It's a must do once. Been there, done that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cleoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

After seeing a documentary about the wigwam village on KET, my husband and I thought this would be a neat experience for our family. Boy, were we WRONG!!! Evidentally this documentary was very outdated. Upon entering our wigwam we noticed that the windows on the door had been boarded over and the door hardly latched (like in a bad movie). We entered and found it to be very unclean. I wasn't expecting luxury but I was expecting it to be clean. I'm not going to complain about the size of it, after all it is a wigwam, they are not suppose to be big. The shower had one stream of water that was shooting out like a pressure washer. My husband went into the bathroom and we had to kick on the outside of the bathroom door to let him out.The bed was broken with the bottom 1/4 of it lying on the floor. My daughter who is allergic to mold began to get sick after only 10 minutes. We quickly decided to not stay. We went back to the office only to find a sign saying that they would not be back until around 10:00. We immediately decided to go find another room elsewhere. We did find a nice room at the Super 8 motel. It was nice and clean and cost less than this place. We went back to the wigwam office at 10:00. My husband told the lady owner that we would be unable to stay due to our daughter mold allergy. The lady just stared at him as if she didn't understand a word he was saying. We did not get a refund but it was worth paying double to not have to stay in this dump.

Room Tip: The Super 8 Motel is nice, clean and very reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank TabAProvidence_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Don't expect 5* luxury, but full of quirky charm. Rooms are tiny, furniture is old but serviceable and although spotless, it looks like it was last decorated in the 1950s. We loved it! It's one of the last genuine bits of Americana left and is a must do when visiting Cave City.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oneash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
2.5 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Cave City
542 reviews
2.9 km away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#1 of 12 in Cave City
470 reviews
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
13.6 km away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
62 reviews
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
#1 of 3 in Horse Cave
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigwam Village Inn #2? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Village Inn #2

Property: Wigwam Village Inn #2
Address: 601 N Dixie Hwy, Cave City, KY 42127-8419
Region: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cave City
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Wigwam Village Cave City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing