We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$132
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com$109
Agoda.com$110
Travelocity$109
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
31
64
43
19
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
31
64
43
19
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini golf beautiful lodge main complaint clean pool bed was comfortable cabin frustration
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

Nice place, I will be back. Not a five star place but nice pool. Main complaint was a small one. I went to restaurant and this employee rudely told us they are closed on Mondays and Tuesdays as if everyone in the world knew that. When I went to buy a pop, I asked the lady working about it and she said they had to close because they didn’t have enough help. Well that is completely understandable and I wish the 1st lady would have just said that. I will be back, nice place.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank brandy9916
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GeneralButler State Resort Park, Owner at General Butler State Resort Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Thanks for the feedback! We will address it with the dining room team! Look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2021 via mobile

NO WiFi I’m cabin area. They advertise that they have WiFi. Will lose money and the park manager said to check out. I worked for Ky state for 28 years and we did not treat people/ customers like this.Trying to find another place. Do not stay here.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank T9803WQthomasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GeneralButler State Resort Park, Owner at General Butler State Resort Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

We advertise WiFi in lodge and campground areas. And are trying to get it in the cottage area currently. It seems there was miscommunication, but the word was you wanted a full refund. You were entitled to a full refund if you checked out. A full refund for not having WiFi and staying is not warranted. WiFi is available in lodge mezzanine for use anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2021 via mobile

We reserved three nights in a two-bedroom cottage as part of our first family vacation in two years due to COVID. We had a great first evening enjoying the cottage and the setting; so much so that we were willing to overlook the inconveniences of the restaurant, boat dock, mini golf and Butler-Turpin House being closed during our visit. However, our feelings quickly changed in early afternoon the second day when we discovered bed bugs in our cottage. We immediately reported it to the front desk and began packing our things. Park staff seemed to take the report seriously and while they did offer a refund on our first night and no charge for cancellation of our remaining two nights (which is the least I would have expected), there really was not much show of concern or extra efforts to help with a situation that ruined our family vacation. My hope now is this situation is resolved before any other unsuspecting family stays in this, or any other, cottage or lodge room.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Boilerfan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 June 2021

We went down just for a couple nights to get away. I used to go to all the KY State parks as a kid and they were always so relaxing and a joy to go to. But, like everywhere right not, people are getting paid not to work, so they are very short staffed. The unfortunate part is many people are taking it out on the employees and it isn’t their fault, they are working and wearing many hats, and doing their best to accommodate people.

Robin at the front desk was very friendly and professional, she had a couple new people and they are trying too. The housekeepers were very nice and still trying to keep a smile even being short on trying to get rooms cleans. The dining was very limited and people need to be aware of that, because no help, same as bar.

But, my room was clean, comfortable and I overlooked the clean pool with a few people in it. It still has a beautiful lodge and a great escape.

So when you go there or anywhere else that is short staffed, don’t take your frustrations out on the employees, they are working and doing their best.

Room tip: I had 208 and was satisfied, maybe better lighting
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GeneralButler State Resort Park, Owner at General Butler State Resort Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Thank you for understanding. We, all of us here, care! We want to do our best for every customer and try to exceed expectations in every way we can! We hope you enjoyed your time and hope you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2021

We used halfway.com to find this location when attending the Kentucky Derby last weekend. Good size room. No housekeeping during our three day stay. Not sure if this is because of COVID or something else. TV did not work, but we were not in our room long enough to be a problem. Breakfast was a box with a very small container of orange juice, muffin, fruit cocktail. Again because of COVID there might have been any other option.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GeneralButler State Resort Park, Owner at General Butler State Resort Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2021

Thanks for your feedback. Housekeeping was cut out for in house guests due to COVID and the breakfast bag was something we added during this time so that there would at least be an option for food. Prior to covid our restaurant was open for breakfast.

Hope you enjoyed your stay and come back to see us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews