We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property--exceptional staff--even a storm shelter!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Wichita
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful property--exceptional staff--even a storm shelter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Drury Plaza Broadview on two different occasions. Here are the short and long reviews. Short review: lovely renovation with luxurious details and spotless rooms, exceptional staff from the housekeepers to the GM and everyone in between, and many safety features like elevators that only work with room keys and a large storm shelter--something I have never read about in a review but think every hotel should include! Add on the 5:30 Kickback and complimentary breakfast, and why would you choose any place else downtown?

Long review: If you go to druryhotels.com and click on the esaver rate, you can stay at this beautiful property on the weekend for a bargain price. Choose an oversized room with a view if available; some top floor rooms have huge windows that overlook the river. You can specifically request these if you call the hotel directly; ask the reservation number to transfer you to the hotel to be sure you get the top floor with a river view. Very relaxing! Also relaxing is the beautifully landscaped river walk outside the hotel. The hotel has a large indoor pool area and both indoor and outdoor hot tubs. Also included are a business center and laundry facility for the business traveler. This is a prime location for weddings, reunions, etc. with large ballrooms. You will see why. We saw couples going to prom come here just to have their pictures taken.

Were there any drawbacks? We found a city room view to have some traffic noise; I am sure that guests from urban areas would not be bothered, but we wanted absolute quiet, which we found in a river view room. Like another reviewer, the large dispensers of shampoo, shower gel, and conditioner were not my favorites. When we treated my mother-in-law to a stay here, however, she loved that feature! She felt like it was much less wasteful than lots of small bottles.

I will close with perhaps the best feature: the staff. My experience with Drury Hotels has shown that service is a priority. Staff like Costello, who made me feel so appreciated, and Eric and Danielle, who made me feel so welcome, were highlights of our stay. I was also pleased to visit with the GM personally. Even one of the housekeeping staff stopped her work to say, "Good morning."

We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: River view rooms are quieter. Some top floor rooms are oversized and include huge windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    68
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
121
85
4
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Kansas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My son was running at WCU and we booked this hotel. We were very pleased with this property, very clean rooms, the free breakfast was great and I always like the 5:30 kick back. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
429 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is a great property. I can say I was very pleased with my stay with the single exception of having to have my room key reprogrammed twice during my short stay. Usually, not a big deal but this property uses the key to control access to the hotel, elevators, and guest floors. Finding out your key isn't working while trying to get on the elevator is a drag. Other than that, the hotel is great. Rooms are spacious, very clean and well appointed. HVAC worked great and was quiet. Bathrooms are nice but lack adequate ventilation and could use a fan. They also provide bulk shampoo, shower gel and conditioner through a dispenser in the shower. Not sure I am a fan of that. Three other positives are the morning free breakfast which beats all other chains. The evening reception is exceptional also. Lastly, the shuttle service from the airport is efficient and timely. Stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We offer our apologies for the difficulties with your keys during your stay. We have used your experience as an example to better inform our guests about the functionality of our state of the art KABA key system. We have had many guest compliments on the high level of security that it provides. Hopefully if you return to Wichita, you will give us another try. We appreciate your business and the opportunity to improve our guest's experience.

Scott M.Ragatz
General Manager
Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

From the most hospitable staff to the cleanest comfort, this property is the best Drury we've stayed at so far. And Drury Hotels are very nice overall. Stayed at this historic Wichita hotel years ago when it was the Broadview & it was in need of a renovation then, but in came Drury and this place really shines.

Room Tip: if you partake in their free hot breakfast, get there right when it opens on a busy weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clinton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had a great experience here. Our room was clean. The breakfast was good and the staff was excellent! Its located right along the river with plenty of places to walk or sit and relax. They offer a lot of free things to their guest and we thought that was awesome! We will be in Wichita again this month and are definitely staying here! I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wichita hotels
11.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton @ The Waterfront
1.3 km away
Hotel at Old Town
Hotel at Old Town
#3 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Wichita
Hyatt Regency Wichita
#4 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ambassador Hotel Wichita, Autograph Collection
0.9 km away
Hotel At WaterWalk
Hotel At WaterWalk
#8 of 87 in Wichita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.1 km away
Wyndham Garden Wichita Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita
Address: 400 West Douglas Avenue, Wichita, KS 67202-2902 (Formerly Radisson)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Wichita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wichita
#2 Business Hotel in Wichita
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wichita
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,851 - ₹ 14,755
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Broadview Hotel opened in 1922 on the Arkansas River banks in Wichita. Our 2011 renovation preserved the large chandeliers, ornate ornamental features in the grand lobby, and the original mosaic mural in the Crystal Ballroom, which was installed by Native American artist Blackbear Bosin. The hotel is LEED(R) Certified by the U.S. Green Building Council for energy-efficiency in the design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel Broadview Wichita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadview Hotel Wichita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing