We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
187
36
14
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
36
14
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford lake fire pit family reunion green algae large cabin lake view rv sites conference center bar and grill junction city home away from home fort riley staff was very friendly pontoon boat great place to stay coffee maker largest lake
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Excellent resort. We stayed in an 8 person log cabin. Very nice. AC worked great. Location was excellent, close to the lake and walking distance to boat slip and beach area. Staff was very nice when we checked in.
Only thing could improve on is amenities. Brought our own crock pot and had no hot pads for the oven. No ladel for dips or soup but made it work with an eating spoon. Be sure to bring your own bar soap and shampoos.
Highly recommend! Could not have had a better location. Beautiful yard. Great fire ring to sit outside at night. Very nice!!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Family T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acornsresort, Front Office Manager at Acorns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2015

Thank you for the great review. We are very glad that you were pleased with your stay and found everything satisfactorily. We strive to provide many of the basic utensils and amenities but there are so many possibilities we inevitably will miss some things. Its always a good idea to call ahead and ask if there is something that you really can't do without on your stay. We hope that you will come again and return many times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

This is a wonderful resort, would have loved to stay longer! We spent two nights in cabin 17, one of the newer cabins, and it was excellent. AC units in the loft, living room and bedroom meant we were never hot. Nice couch and chair for watching tv. Cable and wifi worked great! We stayed Monday - Wednesday and while most of the cabins looked to be occupied, we never felt crowded and never really ran into too many people. We spent most of our time fishing from the shore and we were not disappointed! We caught around 30 fish in two days, mostly catfish - a few sunfish and couple of bass. We rented kayaks and a paddle board one afternoon and had so much fun! Never made it to the beach to swim but it looked like those swimming were having a good time also. I have two boys (16 and 12) and both are ready to go back! Staff was very nice and helpful. The only con for this place for us, is that it is about a 4.5 hour drive, but I'm sure we will be going back!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank motoxer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acornsresort, Front Office Manager at Acorns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Acorns Resort and Milford Lake are very happy that RomanticHusband and family enjoyed their stay with us. The fishing is great this time of year and even though the resort is generally full all summer there is a peaceful, "away from it all" feeling that you get from stepping back and relaxing for even a few days. If you are looking for a place to reconnect with family or friends or just some peace and quite, Acorns Resort is it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Wanted to let all thinking about coming to Acorn Resorts, that you won't be disappointed. The Cabins are Roomy, the people running the Resort are fun and easy to work with, and Lake atmosphere is great. Our kids were able to run around and they were not overwhelmed with a crowd of people! Just a nice relaxing getting away especially if you have a big family like ours!!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wadetalleymusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acornsresort, Front Office Manager at Acorns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

We are always happy to hear that our guests and their families, whatever the ages, enjoy spending quality family time at Acorns Resort. The fishing is great, the cabins are warm and comfortable the atmosphere is inviting and peaceful. What more could you want! We are glad you came and we truly mean it when we say "Come again".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

The pros outweigh the cons any day for the Acorns Resort. We stayed in Cabin 2, one of the small ones. My spouse, child, and myself. It was clean and cool upon arrival, pretty quiet. Decor was up to date and appliances worked fine. The ladder to the loft is pretty straight up and down so if you have young children you might need to help them each time. Our 7 yr old did fine. We rented a canoe one day and swam/fished others. Junction City is close so when it rained we ran there for ice cream to do something. It really is a nice place. We stayed 2 days during the week. We will probably rent again next year and get a bigger cabin to bring our entire family for a couple days. Cons: In the small cabin the AC is EXTREMELY LOUD! I mean you can't have a conversation at all and the TV has to be really really blaring to hear it. Not enjoyable. It works good tho. Our sheets although looked pretty clean I didn't look until I was going to bed late the first night. There were hairs on them which makes me uncomfortable but I just threw a blanket we brought down and slept. The bed was very comfortable. They could provide a few more items in cabin for kitchen. Pitcher, peeler, just little things. Tiny dishwasher, stove, & frig, just fyi but was fine for our family. Milford Lake is a very nice lake. I recommend it too. We stayed at a cabin at Kanopolis Lake before and it was less expensive and basically the same quality, perhaps a tad more kitchen things and the AC wasn't loud. If I book again I will just ask about the loudness of the AC and not get cabin 2. :)

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acornsresort, Front Office Manager at Acorns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Thank you for your input. At Acorns Resort, we value our guest's opinion on what would make their stays more enjoyable. We strive to improve every stay that and provide a quality stay at an affordable price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Our family of 7 adults had a gathering at cabin 6. Though it was known ahead of time that there were 5 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, we found that one bathroom was in one couple's bedroom, so the other was 'community'. We were surprised by a lack of ammenities: no bar soap is provided for showers, there was no pitcher for water or tea, no tissues, no pan or griddle really large to make pancakes, no coffee filters, and no cube trays to make ice (they sell ice, soap). The floor was quite dirty as shown by a paper towel we used to clean up a spill. Otherwise we enjoyed the cabin and surroundings and the AC worked great for our 90+ degree days.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Piper_Lind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acornsresort, Front Office Manager at Acorns Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2015

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay at Acorns Resort. We apologize for your inconveniences. With daily turnovers in such large cabins it is difficult, if not impossible, to keep items from being moved from one cabin to the next and getting them back to where they belong is always a challenge. We have addressed the issues with the housekeeping staff and will continue to strive to improve. Thank you for bringing these issue to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews