We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (701)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveller rating
408
202
47
24
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
408
202
47
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews best westerns western hotels sitting area waffles spacious rooms nice hotel hot tub king room place to stay breakfast room very nice stay hot breakfast front desk staff sausage great room biscuits after a long day
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 701 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Traveling across country with my dog and found this hotel on AAA.com with 3 diamond ratings. To say that AAA was off the mark is an understatement.

When we entered the room, there were numerous flies buzzing around and a couple of unidentified bugs on the wall which we proceed to kill with their free newspaper we received during check-in.

They tried to cover up the smell of a pet being in the room with heavy deodorizer.

Upon taking a shower, we almost fell due to it being so slippery in the tub and it was a real hazard!

The rooms are VERY outdated and this hotel needs a major renovation.

Breakfast was the standard fare, and nothing worth writing about.

For a Best Western Plus, this was definitely not worth the 3 star rating or high cost, not to mention the $35 pet fee and the high room rate!!

This at it's absolute best is a 2 star.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank travelbug5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager17127, General Manager at Best Western Plus Butterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that your stay was not what you were looking for. I hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We had gone through a long drive, following an emotionally draining trip to help my son who is battling health issues. We were bringing his two pets home to live with us until, hopefully my son can get better. The hotel staff were very kind and helpful. The accommodations were clean, orderly, and comfortable. We enjoyed a pleasant, healthy breakfast before our morning departure.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager17127, General Manager at Best Western Plus Butterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

We appreciate your comments. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

I don't expect much from hotels along the interstate, but this one delighted us. From the moment we checked in (late at night, after a long drive) to the breakfast and departure. The staff was friendly and responsive, room was clean, large, and well appointed. Breakfast was very good with a better-than-average selection. We will do this trip again, and from now on, this will be our overnight stop.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CoSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager17127, General Manager at Best Western Plus Butterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for staying with us. Please stop and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

The basics you want—clean, trendy, upscale, customer friendly amenities, good food and hours, clean comfortable rooms. Safe. This is Hays,KS, if you blow by you will miss so much. It’s where the West was won and history is all around. Use this as home base and explore. Start with the Butterfield Inn name. Hays was on the old Butterfield Trail, a 1863 stage and fright rote to Denver. The fort and a major university on the south side of town and the Sternberg Museum are good starts—especially if Indiana Jones interested yo!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank patrickbH7643BO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager17127, General Manager at Best Western Plus Butterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We were worried about the lack of hotel choices in Hays, but the people were friendly and gracious and the room was clean except they had used too much room freshener!!! Way too much!

Other than that it was fine.

Ask for back side, it is quieter.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank J8494DQmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager17127, General Manager at Best Western Plus Butterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope that you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews