We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Hotel Design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Emporia
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Emporia
Blue Springs, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor Hotel Design”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Decided to stay at the Fairfield Inn due to location, price, and pool for kids to play.
Pros: Staff was friendly, Rooms clean and comfortable
Cons: Could smell the strong odor of the pool even in our rooms on the 3rd floor. Did not make for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaNaTheSnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
14
10
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
McAlester, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed here when we were passing through Kansas and I wish we would have kept going to the next town! We did not have a reservation, and the other hotels in town were booked. The rooms were not very clean and very uncomfortable! I didn't even want my 3 year old sitting on the floor in the room. Most of the bedding went on the floor in a corner when we got there, which is something I don't normally do. I don't feel it was worth the price we paid. One other complaint we had was there was no trailor/truck parking. We were pulling a large U-Haul and had to park it in a restaurant parking lot behind the hotel. So my advice, if you plan on staying in Emporia, call ahead and try to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celiamarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Emporia hotels

Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

This hotel is definitely not worth the money. The desk clerk was rude at check in when I confirmed that the reservation was already paid for by Expedia. She said that it was and still needed the credit card for incidental charges. Upon check out, they charged the card for the room at an inflated rate. Thus, I was double billed for our stay. The staff has been very uncooperative in dealing with their mistake. The rooms were very outdated and not very clean. The heating/ac unit was very loud. Find another place in Emporia to stay or be prepared to pay double for a room that isn't worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kansas1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
212 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

This property is pretty basic with only a few slight upgrades and the mattress was hard and cheap - I always look under the mattress pad at what I'm sleeping on. There were missing shower curtain rings, we were given 1 small bar of soap but no other amenities like shampoo/conditioner/lotion bottles, there was no pen to write with and only a couple sheets of scratch paper in the room. Travelers expect those things in a major hotel chain room, even if they don't use any or all of them.

I asked at the front desk about the adjacent Montana Mike's Steakhouse and was told they offer a 10% discount if you show the hotel room key. We went there for dinner and were very pleased. My AAA rate of $89 was pretty high for this place, and the reason I stayed here was the #1 rating given by TripAdvisor members and because I had a $50 prepaid hotel card that Marriott issued and that I earned with points on my credit card. When I received my credit card statement, I discovered the front desk clerk had scanned my prepaid card wrong and instead of crediting $50 towards my balance due for the stay, I was charged. Now I'm disputing charges on my credit card - so I didn't have a great stay.

Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ksheff-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

I've stayed here twice within the last year. Both times, I had a good experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The only complaint i have is that the heating unit was loud and banged when i turned it on at about 4a.m.

This is a decent hotel that you can feel comfortable staying at. Staff is good. Breakfast room is WAY too small with only a few tables.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kansastraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Emporia hotels
0.1 km away
Emporia Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emporia Northwest
0.5 km away
Candlewood Suites Emporia
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Emporia
Comfort Inn Emporia
#5 of 15 in Emporia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Emporia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.2 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 15 in Emporia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.3 km away
Knights Inn Emporia
Knights Inn Emporia
#15 of 15 in Emporia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Emporia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Emporia

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Emporia
Address: 2930 Eaglecrest Dr, Emporia, KS 66801-6185 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Emporia)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kansas > Emporia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Emporia
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,864 - ₹ 9,280
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Emporia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Emporia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Emporia
Fairfield Emporia
Emporia Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing