We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK place, you get the basics at a low price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Des Moines West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Des Moines West
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“OK place, you get the basics at a low price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here for 8 hours overnight with two kids on the way across the country via car. Can't beat the price, $45 plus tax. Things were clean and functional, and the lady at the front desk was nice. The only thing I missed was breakfast; and with a family of four that's usually worth $40 even with cold buffet, so frankly if I had a choice I'd rather spend $85 at a place that offers breakfast. If you only need coffee then this M6 is fine for sleeping. Beds, pillows, and bathrooms were all pretty good. The rooms are plain and have no frills.

Note, the rooms with 2 beds have "double" beds not queen. Sleeping 4 to a room is possible but it's a little tight with 2 people in each bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradleystat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    31
    23
    16
    12
See reviews for
32
18
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Missouri
Level Contributor
210 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Had to stay here one night coming back from Minnesota, we had a horrible ice and snow storm. I was pleasantly surprised, this hotel was clean, cheap, and close to lots of good eating places. I would stay here again and even stay a week or so if ever there is a reason to be in Des Moines for that long. Motel 6 are underrated sometimes, I have found as many to be very nice and clean for the money you pay, but then there were a few that were long overdue for a renovation.

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Though pretty small it was a spiffy clean room. Motel 6's policy of nicking you and extra $3 for wi-fi seems a little petty though... that makes them not my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeavyHex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have never stayed in a Motel 6 that has even been worth one star but we LOVE this place! Great neighborhood, incredibly kind staff, and clean, clean, clean. HIGHLY recommend this "just off the interstate" stop.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We enjoy staying here. Clean, quite, friendly. This is our second year staying here for state wrestling. We plan to stay next year or when we are in town.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slfreshour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
0.2 km away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
5.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Extended Stay America - Des Moin...
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#16 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#10 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Des Moines West? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Des Moines West

Property: Motel 6 Des Moines West
Address: 7655 Office Plaza Drive North, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,537 - ₹ 5,502
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Des Moines West 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Des Moines West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines
Motel 6 West Des Moines
Motel Six West Des Moines
West Des Moines Motel 6
West Des Moines Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing