We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow Wireless Internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in West Des Moines
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Slow Wireless Internet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel is very clean, the staff very friendly and attentive. The morning breakfast is extensive with a wide range of warm and cold offerings. Unfortunately, the physical plant, while visually appealing, is lacking. The most important to us was the painfully slow wireless internet service. The facility appears to have about nine different internal wireless networks, but both I tried were extremely slow, this on a weekend when only a few car were present in the parking lot. The connection was adequate for static websites, acceptable for email reading sites, but using a site with any dynamic content was extremely frustrating, including maps and low-res video from media sites, etc. Don't even think about watching streaming video like Netflix. Other signs of inattention were the installation sticker still affixed to the front side of the toilet tank and the fact that the door between rooms in our suite would not latch shut.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelvisGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie N, General Manager at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have recently upgraded our Internet Service to allow for faster connections and additional bandwidth. I have addressed your other comments with our Maintenance staff to assure they pay closer attention to detail. We appreciate your feedback so that we can make your next stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    49
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
45
37
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

A bit disappointing for a Staybridge hotel. I had a five (5) day stay here and found the room and building in general to be average at best. I've stayed at other Staybridges and have always enjoyed the lodging. Much less here. Noisy rooms - poor construction - floors and walls, you can hear yourself walking in the hall. The floor tiles in the bathroom were loose and moving as you stood on them, and the room appearred to be a general hotel room with a frig, counter, etc stuffed in to make it a long stay hotel. Also, cheap windows - i.e. lot's of highway noise. I will not be staying here again for what was charged and expected.

Room Tip: on backside of building away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlgMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Staybridge Suites West Des Moines, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear TrvlgMan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment.
I would like to happily let you know, In the very near future we will
be doing a remodel of the hotel. All tile in the bathroom floors will be replaced
as well as other areas of hotel. I hope you are able to stay with us again after our remodel and
let us know what you think.

Thanks again,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had all of our family members together for Christmas. We were all well pleased. There complimentary hot breakfast consisted either bacon or sausage and tater tots. In addition there was mixed fruit, bananas, apples and oranges. A waffle iron made great waffles.All eight of us including two young grandchildren were very well pleased with this breakfast. The front desk clerks were always friendly and always very helpful. We made the reservation because we wanted to take our Poodle along and as a result we got these additional benefits. There was also large HD TVs with one in the bedroom and one in the living room, which are grandchildren loved to watch their cartoons in either room. It is close to several great restaurants.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite and we could not hear noise in adjacent rooms or the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cletus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

The Hotel allowed me to check-in early for a starter. The Hotel Front Desk Clerk was speedy and knowledgeable as well as polite. The Lobby is decorated and provisioned quite well and was a pleasant surprise. The room was 1st rate. It was clean and comfortable with a gigantic work desk that was just 1st rate. The speed of the Internet connection was also 1st rate, a welcome change over many hotels that have lagging internet access. The Pool was clean and refreshing after a long drive. The Breakfast was way more than I was expecting and quite good! Even the LCD TV was capable of being moved from angle to angle and not restricted to a non-movable wall mount! The Hotel is quiet. The King Sized bed was more than comfortable enough. This Hotel is a good bargain, clean and comfortable, modern and well laid out.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mustangz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stopped here on our way home from Colorado. The room was big, with a king size bed, couch and kitchen. It was more than we needed for an overnight stay. Nice towels. They offered a very good free breakfast that included scrambled eggs, American fries, sausage, fresh fruit, coffee cake, pound cake and more. Breakfast didn't start unti 7:30 on the weekend, we wish it would've been earlier, but we're glad we stayed for it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagletraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
3.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines West
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
4.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#2 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.8 km away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Des Moines West
SpringHill Suites Des Moines Wes...
#13 of 22 in West Des Moines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites West Des Moines? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites West Des Moines

Property: Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Address: 6905 Lake Drive, West Des Moines, IA 50266-2522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Des Moines
#9 Business Hotel in West Des Moines
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,011 - ₹ 11,900
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites West Des Moines 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines Invites Guests to Rest Comfortably Ideally situated near I-80, Des Moines International Airport (DSM) and the Iowa Foundation for Medical Care, Staybridge Suites West Des Moines is an all-suite, upscale, extended stay hotel within close proximity to everything Des Moines has to offer. Long-term guests of our pet friendly Des Moines, Iowa hotel can enjoy all the comforts of home with easy access to shopping at Jordan Creek Town Center and live performances at the Des Moines Art Center. Special events at the Science Center of Iowa and Living History Farms are also less than ten miles away. Business travelers appreciate our extended stay West Des Moines accommodations near Hy-Line International, Wells Fargo and Briggs Corporation. In order to best meet the needs of our professional guests, over 950 sq. ft. of meeting space, a 24-hour business center and free, high-speed Internet access are provided on-site. During your stay, you can enjoy resting in one of our spacious suites with full-service kitchens, exercising in our well-equipped fitness center or relaxing in our indoor, swimming pool. You can start your day by visiting our complimentary breakfast buffet, and end your day by joining us for our community-oriented Social Monday - Wednesday. As you plan your next trip, check out our exceptional Des Moines, Iowa hotel rates and make your reservations with us today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines Hotel West Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing