We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place, perfectly located for visiting...”
other travellers have booked this property
Main living area with high vaulted ceiling
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living area with high vaulted ceiling
Anyone for tennis? You can join us for breakfast up at Thurnham Keep
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Main living area with high vaulted ceiling
Anyone for tennis?
You can join us for breakfast up at Thurnham Keep
Characterful, beamy pub that serves excellent food just a stone’s throw away
Where we are
Entrance gates at the bottom of Castle Hill - ruins of Thurnham Castle and the North Downs close by
Large space to just chill
Plenty of parking on private drive
Fully equipped kitchen
Antique king size bed with high quality mattress and bedding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thurnham, Maidstone, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Steve41An...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A wonderful place, perfectly located for visiting Kent”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The former stable is a delightful building, with all mod-con's, and a perfect level of decor (coupled, of course, with a very friendly welcome, and courteous service). It is situated in a truly beautiful part of the world, and within a minute's walk of a fabulous pub, and also sits upon the Pilgrim's Way walk, and is close to heritage, countryside and - if you should want - town and shopping areas too. Indeed, it is nigh-on perfect, although we were a tad surprised to find that it physically adjoins a non-associated house, and whilst the family within were quite lovely, we hadn't expected to share their parking area and their front garden, as this did make for slightly 'uncomfortable' times when sat out in the sun having a glass of wine, as we would have much preferred greater seclusion. That said, however, whilst it's a niggle, it is a minor niggle, and it doesn't detract from an otherwise wonderful stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you for your kind review. The Stable as mentioned is situated next to our Lodge House which is also rented and does share a drive which has ample room for parking for both. The garden by the Lodge is for their use but we have 7 acres of gardens, tennis court and swimming pool in the summer where guests can find seclusion and of course there is a private, sunny terrace outside the Stable with table and chairs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaMcQ
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed here with my daughter for 5 days. The Stables have been beautifully renovated to a very high standard. It was a lovely, comfortable and cosy space for the two of us. Our host Amanda was extremely friendly and welcoming and the property was equipped with just about everything we needed. It's set amongst some wonderful gardens and it was nice to have a wonder around. I would highly recommend this property.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBLondon1...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely country retreat!”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed here with my partner for two nights this summer, while visiting the area for a friend’s wedding. Thurnham Keep Stable provides a clean, contemporary living space, while still retaining the character of the house and grounds it is set in. We enjoyed walking around the beautiful gardens at Thurnham Keep – and the bed was the most comfortable we’ve ever stayed in! Perfect for a country weekend away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your review
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaraAlbe...
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vera D
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Ich danke Ihnen
Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing