We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
403
188
42
35
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
188
42
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub sticky toffee pudding birthday meal chalet style pork belly north downs beautiful countryside an umbrella lovely meal for sunday lunch booked a table main building cooked to perfection leeds castle maidstone area stayed here for one night dogs are allowed
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

We’ve een going here for years & it’s never a disappointment. The front is still a charming traditional British country pub & then out the back is the wonderful restaurant. The building has been extended over the years but it hasn’t lost that cosy feeling & you can eat in the beautiful garden when the weathers nice.
The menu is a great mix of traditional food, quality is always high & all at a reasonable price. They also have accommodation if you’re looking to stay the night. You really can’t beat this lovely pub in the middle of the beautiful Kent countryside.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SpencerV703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

We were there on a Tuesday evening for dinner. We ordered the day's special fish dinner and the food portions were quite small for the asking price. The service was very slow that night. Maybe we just hit it on a bad night or maybe they were understaffed.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We booked The Black Horse inn for two nights as it was close to the Kent Event Centre as we were going to a concert.

We simply cannot fault the place, what a beautiful, refreshing surprise.

Set in a lovely quiet rural village, the inn itself oozes 17th Centuary character. The most lovely friendly staff, and lovely warm welcome from Michelle at reception.

There is a special function suite available too.
The accomadation is beautiful. Lots of chalet style rooms with on suite bathrooms spotlessly clean and everything you need including ironing board, hairdryer, wall mounted fans, tea and coffee and ample on site parking.

The food available at the Black Horse Inn is simply delicious and fresh local produce. We had the ribeye and the pork belly.

The breakfast was the best I have ever had and cooked to order, and we stay in a lot of hotels around Europe.

Was lovely to meet John who we assume is the owner. A very lovely and charming gentleman.

A highly exceptional experience, ten out of ten. So much so that from now on, we will be spending some weekends away at the Black Horse Inn as we only live in Canterbury.

Thank you to all the staff x

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John and Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

It was my mums 92nd Birthday so we wanted to go somewhere a bit different. We rang to book for a Saturday afternoon and asked if we could have a seat outside. We were told these were on a 1st come 1st serve basis , so we booked a table inside to be sure we could get one.

When we arrived we checked out availability in the garden and were surprised to see a sign saying Why not book a table outside on s Saturday hmmmmm

We sat outside and were promptly provided with menus. We decided it was too hot outside so the young man checked and found a table inside. We then ordered our drinks and food - and waited. Our drinks were served promptly however, we waited over 35 minutes for our main dish( we didn’t order starters) However we all agreed this showed that is was all prepared freshly and it would be worth the wait and is was. The food was delicious , the pork belly was to die for.

Our dessert order was taken - again we waited over 30 minutes - we were not as happy as in our minds eye, dessert is normally prepared in advance so why such a delay However again these were delicious.

The pub is very quaint and the staff are friendly and helpful.

The bill came and it was higher than I would normally pay in a pub but the presentation and quality of the food was not “pub food “ so well worth every penny

We will definitely be back but will ensure we have more time to sit, relax and enjoy the whole experience

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TheCBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Really nice pub, have visited a few times over the years. The food is very good indeed, tried the Steak and Ale Pie which was delicious. Stayed overnight and the rooms are fine, nothing special but functional and clean.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MartinH641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews